We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel with a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch to your Saves list
Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Parkville, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great family hotel with a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed all week on business at the Hyatt Regency across the street, but moved to the Drury Inn for economy for a weekend event to celebrate my mom's 80th birthday. I booked three rooms for a great value.

This is definitely a family hotel with large crowds. The hospitality area can be a little overwelming during the free breakfast and happy hour. My mom's birthday just so happen to coincide with the Justin Bieber concert, so we were overrun with 8-10 year old girls and their mom's attending the concert, but it was still OK.

I liked the rooms at the Drury better than the Hyatt across the street at twice the price. Everything went very well at the hotel. Very friendly staff. The parking garage is a little tight, but its an old restored building, so they did the best they could with the numerous concrete pillars.

Located across the street from the arch and three blocks from Busch stadium and walking distance to the casino and many great restaurants. For the money, best location in St. Louis. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an arch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    292
    54
    15
    5
See reviews for
411
263
49
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I must admit that I did not pay for the room (on business travel). This hotel is just fine. I certainly would NOT say that it is the nicest hotel in St. Louis.

Pros: It is in a great location and it is clean. It is quiet and the free perks (free snacks and breakfast) do help. The rates also do seem to be relatively on the cheap side, and the wi-fi is very fast.

Cons: Customer Service is iffy. I'm not sure if the front desk is understaffed but they just left alot to be desired. And, the entire hotel reminds me of my Grandma's house. Its just old and kind of dreary. The decor seems to be right out of the 1980s. And, the Lewis and Clark mosaic (while culturally significant) seems like it should be the centerpiece at a high school.

Besides some shaky customer service, there are no real cons. The hotel is just old and dated. Thus, I can't give it more than 3 stars, and in no way can this be a top 5 or 10 hotel in St. Louis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Drury Plaza Hotel - Downtown St. Louis on TripAdvisor! It is through input such as yours that we have the opportunity to review, evaluate and improve our processes and services.

We recognize that the historic aspect of our hotel may not suit those with a more spare or modern preference. Our décor is in the style, materials and colors of the grand hotels of the early twentieth century, which corresponds with the construction date in 1919 of the International Fur Exchange Building, one of the three in our complex listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. The Lewis and Clark diorama installation, "Scenes of Visionary Enchantment," has been awarded special site status on the historic Lewis and Clark Trail by the National Parks Service. We're very proud of our connection to and the support of the history of St. Louis, the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers, and the westward expansion of North America.

We want to always exceed our guests' expectation. During any stay, please contact our guest services supervisor or manager on duty immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation. We have managers in the hotel from 6:00 am until 8:00-10:00 pm daily, who would be glad to talk with you and respond to any concerns. While we do not expect our guests to do our jobs, we do appreciate a head's up and want to correct situations while our guests are present, so that may go away with a positive and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this property for one night while visiting for a girls weekend in STL. The hotel itself is in moments walking distance to the arch and conveniently located near many restaurants and stores in the archfront area. I have visited many times, but always opted to stay away from the busy, crowded average tourist hotels, but boy was I glad we took a chance on the Drury. After sitting in three hours of traffic due to what turned out to be a massive crowd entering the city for a Bieber concert, we were ready to get to our hotel and relax. They have a drop area where guests can check-in and unload luggage before going to park their vehicles at the lot located kiddy corner from the hotel. We were impressed by the nice decor of the lobby and greeted immediately by front desk staff. Check-in went in smooth and we headed up to our room on the 5th floor. The nice touch is that our rooms were connected and close but far enough from the elevator that noise was not an issue. When we entered our rooms, we were blown away by the size of the rooms, the cleanliness of both the room and bath and how nicely decorated it was. The only minor improvement relates to the towels, because guests never want to feel dirty and we had a bath mat and two towels with ragged ends and they should be discarded instead of recycled. We woke up and enjoyed the nice free breakfast offered to guests and what an amenity this is, especially for a family that may be traveling with several children or as a large group. The park lot attendant had a nasty attitude and he was clearly having a bad day at 7am, but I don't blame the hotel for this-rather stadium park garage. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and have already told several family members this is the new go to spot when visiting. Kudos!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Traveled there for the St Louis Rock N Roll Marathon. Location is wonderful. We were able to walk to the expo and the starting line. My family was able to see we off (running) and then go back for breakfast (that is free w/ the hotel) and then meet me back for the finish line. We went to Mass, which is literally right across the street, in the "old" cathedral. We also were right across the street from the ARCH. It was closer from our hotel than if we drove and parked. The hotel is nice and very clean. Not too much to say about the staff. There wasn't much dealing w/ them expect for check-in. When we did our 'booked" room wasn't ready so they said that we instead would give us a "Jacuzzi room" or something nicer. However when got to the room. It was just as week booked. So was disappointed in that. We had our hopes up but was let down. It did have an amazing view of the Arch though! This was our 2nd stay at this hotel due to the location and b/c of the free amenities. We did have to pay to park which was $18 for our one night (parking was in the building).

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have stayed here for both business and weekend get-away with my wife. The rooms are clean, up-to-date, marble floors and counters in bath area. Staff is freindly and accomodating. If you can secure an arch-view room on a higher floor, the view is as good as it gets in St. Louis. 2 minute walk to the arch. Easy walk to Lacledes Landing, the ballpark, football stadium, and Union Station. The only negative is the parking fee... $16, ouch! I think this is a new addition. Be sure to include this when comparison shopping room prices.

Room Tip: arch-view corner rooms are the best, quiet and view is fantastic. parking fees are steep, $16!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed at another Drury Plaza Hotel in TN and they are pretty much the same. If you want to save money and go to a nice hotel, this is a good one. It's near all the major attractions in St. Louis: the Arch, casino, stadium, Fox Theatre, the bridge to Illinois, Sweetie Pies, Horse and Carriage Rides, restaurants and bars, etc.). Although you get three free drinks, I don't care for the free food.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on our road trip across US. Great location, not far from the Arch and 10 min walk to the football stadium ( our first game, watching the Rams v Cardinals).
Great lobby area, efficient check in staff. Room was bit on the dark side but clean and adequate.
Free drinks and 'snacks' (hot dogs etc).in the evening. Brits would call it tea!
Charge for the secure parking , but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we say “by the arch”, we mean it. This hotel is around the corner from the arch and only a few blocks from Busch Stadium, the Washington Avenue loft district and more. Drury Plaza Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.