We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to say, a few caveats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch to your Saves list
Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interesting place to say, a few caveats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Overall our stay was nice (me and husband, one night, leisure trip). We knew up front that there'd be a charge for parking, however we didn't know up front that the parking garage is TWO BLOCKS away. And it was pouring rain (hard, sideways rain from Hurricane Isaac) so we were soaked to the bone by the time we got back over to the hotel. It was irritating we had to pay an extra $14 for this 'amenity'...

Otherwise, our stay was fine. The lobby is odd but kind of interesting (a diorama type thing of Lewis & Clark and Sacagawea seemed really out of place). The 'kickstart' dinner food started at 5:30. We came in at 6:11 and it was nearly all gone (and not being replenished). There were hot dogs - all gone when we got there, just some buns lying around - pasta with marinara, which was fine, meatballs which were hard from sitting out, and baked potatoes which were too hard (uncooked) to eat. Free soda and, if you wanted (we did not) up to three free cocktails. The line for cocktails was really long. So if we go again, we'll get there right at 5:30 - or earlier - or plan not to have anything.

The room was clean and very large. Microwave and refrigerator were a nice touch. There is a nice restaurant attached to the hotel (Angelo's) - we ordered dessert to go and the cannoli and volcano cake were both delicious. Very convenient. Only complaint about the room itself is, the sink only had warm or hot water, no cold. Kind of gross for brushing teeth. The bed wasn't really firm but it was adequate. We did not have a view of the arch but we hadn't planned to spend much time gazing at it so we hadn't requested one.

Breakfast in the morning was upscale-typical - oatmeal and toppings, bagels, eggs, sausage (which was super greasy), potatoes, cheese, salsa, etc - along with juice or coffee/tea/cocoa. It was definitely adequate. We made sure to arrive right when it opened! So there was plenty of food.

Overall this was an interesting place to stay. We didn't visit the pool or workout area so I can't comment on them. My biggest peeve is the parking and my biggest praise is the location - literally walking distance to the arch in one direction, the baseball stadium in the other direction. But arrive early for meals, and plan ahead if walking 2 blocks to/from your vehicle is going to be an issue for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. It is through input such as yours that we have the opportunity to review, evaluate and improve our processes and service.

In the case of our parking, we are limited by the configuration and historic nature of the complex. We have adequate parking places within the building for most of the dates of operation. However, on our highest occupancy dates, we utilize the overflow lot adjacent to the hotel. We encourage our guests to unload when checking into the hotel and before parking at the off-site garage to minimize inconvenience, but understand that it's not as easy as on-site parking, and sometimes may be difficult due to traffic volume, and in this case, weather. In future, should you require assistance in loading/unloading or an escort to the garage, please make our front desk guest service agents aware of your needs. We will gladly provide any assistance needed. In addition, you may include "prefer Plaza parking" as a request on any reservation. That is not, however, a guarantee, but a request. We do try hard to satisfy requests whenever possible.

With regard to an issue with the water supply in your guest room, please contact us immediately at any time that any service does not meet your expectation. We have maintenance at this hotel from 6:00 am until 11:00 pm most days, and always want to correct a situation right away, so that our guests go away with pleasant memories!

Thanks for staying at Drury Plaza and please come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    306
    57
    16
    5
See reviews for
443
276
52
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Definitely the nicest and best value hotel we stayed at during our 10 city vacation. Location to Arch and ballfield cant be beat. rooms large and well maintained. Beds very comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. Happy Hour excellent. Breakfast the best we had during our vacation! Internet service excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I had a hard time deciding between this hotel and the Hyatt, which I didn't realize is next door. I ended up going with this hotel because it has a pool and I knew that would make my children very happy (which it did). If it was an adults-only trip, I would definitely have picked the Hyatt. It would have been nice to have someone help with the luggage, to have lots of restaurants, room service, a nicer room. That being said, this hotel does have much going for it. The location is great ( though many hotels in St. Louis share a similar location, such as the Hyatt, Hilton, and Westin). The rooms are fine. The windows are small (half size), but we did get a partial view of the Arch which was nice (we requested this). The decor throughout the hotel is very dark, which I find a little bit depressing. The free food us both a blessing and a curse. While it's nice to have, it ruined my children's appetites. They didn't want to go out to dinner after that! I didn't think the breakfast food was very good, but the evening snacks were fine. The pool and hot tub were nice. The first night we were there a group was having a party, bringing down beer and everything! The second night was less crowded, which was nice. Except for a very annoying, totally clueless guy at check-in, the staff here are incredibly friendly. As for parking, you have to drive up a very long hill in the garage, which is kind of weird, but I loved the fact that our car was right outside the elevator on floor 3. So incredibly convenient! As for location, you can walk to many (though not all) of the major St. Louis attractions. The ballpark and Arch are so closeby! There is no taxi stand at the hotel but the Hyatt next door has one. This hotel has a stand for horse and carriage rides! (kind of funny since the hotel was clearly designed with the average pre-teen in mind!). Overall, a fine hotel. It sort of bothered me that I could have gotten the Hyatt with breakfast for the same price , but this hotel made my children happy so it was worth it. Next time I will definitely be tempted to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in July and it was our first stay at a Drury hotel but it will not be our last. Service and amenities were high end with a mid level price. The free breakfast was way beyond standard "Continental" and "Kick Back" happy hour provided more than enough food and libation to skip dinner and a night out if you were so inclined. The level of customer service was illustrated by my request for a poster displayed in the elevators promoting The Lantern Festival ending August 19. The desk staff provided contact information for the main office their Director of Marketing promised that a copy of the poster would be sent to me when the promotion ended.
In today's mail I received the poster in perfect condition as promised at no charge. This hotel goes above and beyond.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of The Arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed there last year and are returning this year in September. The rooms are a comfortable size, with microwave and refrig for your use, but really unnecessary with their free evening throwdown and breakfast. Very clean and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Didn't like paying to park, but considering the room price with ammmenities it was very fair. They could avoid complaints by just increasing the room rates to cover parking cost and still be a very reasonable rate.
My only complaint is that I only get to St Louis once a year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed midweek with my husband and three children under 10 on our trip to the midwest. Hotel is in a great location. Close to the ballpark, the Arch and the Old Courthouse. Pod had to be removed from our Tahoe to clear the parking garage. Staff was helpful in removing and storing pod. Parking garage is tight for large vehicles but has in/out priviledges. Hotel offers complimentary breakfast (pancakes, sausage, eggs, toast, yougurt) and happy hour (free drinks-max three and appetizers). Kids enjoyed the free popcorn and fountain drinks. Has an indoor pool and two hot tubs. Pool is only 4 feet, 6 inches in depth. Stayed in a suite with a pull out couch and a separate room with two double beds. Bathroom had sink outside room. Only thing that I can complain about is that we could hear the elevator in our room late at night. Free Wi-Fi. Great for a family our size. Hotel has lots to offer for the money.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view of the arch and as far away from the elevator as possible. Pool and fitnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is 2 blocks from Busch Stadium and 2 blocks from the arch. A little on the pricey side, but you definitely get what you pay for. We got a 2 room suite and we were very pleased with the accomodations. The rooms were spacious enough. The front desk staff was courteous. The breakfast was good. One thing I was extrememly impressed with was how the cleaning staff made eye contact and spoke to use each morning, while in the hallways and simply passing them by. The crew that bussed our tabled in the morning would come by as soon as we were done eating. Housekeeping staff would speak as we walked by. They only forgot to change our towels once, but given all the +++++'s , that is a small thing. Really the service is what impressed me here. Very positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch

Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we say “by the arch”, we mean it. This hotel is around the corner from the arch and only a few blocks from Busch Stadium, the Washington Avenue loft district and more. Drury Plaza Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Odigeo so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.