We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peabody Opera House

Peabody Opera House
1400 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103
314-499-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 150 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Awesome place to see a concert. I had never been in it before it was renovated so I don't know what it looked like previously, but it is very beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful concert venue recently rehabbed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's been a long wait since 1991, when this Opera House (then known as the Kiel Opera House) last hosted a public event.

The McKee brothers have, with a couple of others, done a fabulous job of renovating this venerable facility and it's hard to imagine its ever been better.

All the elaborate detail work has been restored, with quite a bit of it covered with fresh new gold leaf. Just about every seat was filled for the unofficial opening night last night, which featured Ken Burns and Lynn Novak presenting clips from their upcoming PBS documentary "Prohibition."

For most of those in attendance, the presentation probably took a backseat to the opportunity to check out St. Louis's latest gem. It most definitely didn't disappoint. The new seats, done in the old style, are comfortable, the Peabody Lounge, just off the left orchestra section, is beautiful. There were a few kinks in the service, as can be expected for the first night, but overall it was quite an event.

Don't miss an opportunity to see a show at the Peabody if you get a chance.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I did love this venue...I saw Norah Jones there. The staff is awesome and they move people to their seats quickly so you aren't standing outside freezing forever. Is very clean and everything shines even in the bathroom!

This concert hall is more appropriate for symphony or classical music. The ceilings are high and made to accent acoustics and amplify sound naturally. Is gorgeous inside but the stage is smaller too. It's more like the Fox really.

It's a really nice place I love what they did with it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoutsville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Took the train to Peabody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We saw Train in concert here and the accoustics and seating were great. Drinks are a bit pricy so be prepared. The setting is wonderful, the renovation spectacular! We also say Flashdance here in December, 2012 and once again pleasantly enjoyed the surroundings. It is a smaller venue so more personal and comfy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The new kid on the block in St. Louis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Attended Flashdance on Lady's Night. The ladies were partying hard I tell you and the Budweiser Kiel bar was hopping! The only theater I have ever visited that allowed us to take our drinks to our seats. The only real problems are the price of drinks (ouch!) and the fact Loge Boxes are limited to corporate supporters. Oh well, I guess they pay the bills so they deserve some perks.....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peabody Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Peabody Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peabody Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.