We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peabody Opera House

Peabody Opera House
1400 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103
314-499-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 327 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I recently went to The Peabody to see The Rockettes. I had never been there before. It is a beautiful place and there is not a bad seat in the theater.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    26
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegant and made for music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a wonderful renovation of a classic opera house. The quality of the acts booked is excellent, and the acoustics are wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town and Country, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is so-so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went to an event there recently and though the service was good, the food was so mediocre. The main room was noisy. However the renovations were fabulous.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unparalleled abundance of gold filigree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Impeccable restoration of this gem in downtown St. Louis. It is fun just to look around, to look at the ceiling. I've been twice to shows - seats are comfy, and the surroundings are remininscent of La Belle Epoche.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSOURI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Peabody Opera House ..a lovely venue, a lovely afternoon show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you can spare one more outing this season the Peabody is worth the time and trouble. We went on a weekday afternoon and enjoyed the nod to past grandeur ( remember The Kiel?) as well as The Rockettes. Leave you jeans at home but a short walk to parking may be require good shoes! Wicked is coming! I would be in the pit for Chicago again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peabody Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Peabody Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peabody Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.