We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for The Gateway Arch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Fourth Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #79 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location for The Gateway Arch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice professional setting, competent polite staff. Good bar area downstairs and a good looking restaurant upstairs on the second floor that my friends mistakenly went to for the complementary breakfast! (that was on the 25th floor i believe) They thought it was really good until they got the bill! The room we had was a good size with two doubles and a double sofa bed, very clean too. We had a bit of an obscured view of the Gateway Arch as we were situated on the South of the building but it was still nice to be able to see the landmark from our room as this was one of the attractions we came to see. The Hotel room we got was around $250 i think for the one night, average for the area we stayed as we asked around first, parking was adjacent to the hotel and free on validation at the front desk.
We ate in the downstairs bar area on the night and the food was good,we had spaghetti and meatballs / chicken quesadillas average prices around $12-15 and as it is in america large portions for your money! I was drinking Bottled Guinness at about $6.50 a bottle (I paid around the same all over america)

Room Tip: Possibly try for an east side windowed room for a view of the Gateway Arch and Mississippi river to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown and for taking the time out of your busy day to share your experiences with our property and team.
The team will be so pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of the hotel's amenities and able to relax in a comfortable setting.
We hope to see you again during your next trip to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    255
    184
    138
    124
See reviews for
203
217
46
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victor, Iowa, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We liked the location, the views, and the employees at the Crowne Plaza. Otherwise, the hotel does need extensive renovating. Our room was very small for a king. We had about 2 feet to walk pass between the end of the bed and the dresser. Room 2704. The bathroom was quite tiny. We stayed two nights. The first night was $180 on a Saturday and the second was free with our Priority Award points. We probably paid too much for, what should be considered, a three star hotel. We did feel secure and appreciated at this hotel and may return.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view and received a room with a view of both the Arch and the Stadium. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown during your recent trip to St Louis.
The entire team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed the service they provided you with.
I am sorry, however, that your room accommodations were not spacious enough for you during your stay. The hotel was once an apartment building and our guestrooms vary in size and shape because of this.
We do hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I met a college buddy at the “Gateway to the West” for a comedy concert to ring in the New Year. I was surprised to get a downtown hotel room at a decent rate for New Year’s Eve. The rooms are in good condition and quite large! There were two queen comfy beds with spacious balcony, a nice-sized bathroom and work area. There was a huge flat screen television with ample cable stations. The room had a microwave and mini-fridge that served the purpose. Housekeeping was thorough and room supplies were plentiful.

During the New Year’s festivities, the hotel provided complimentary appetizers and drink specials in the lobby/bar area for the holiday. The staff members were cordial and very helpful. The guests, for the most part, were fairly quiet and calm considering the time of year.

Although the room was not upgraded with granite and fancy fixtures, I was pleased with the appearance and size of the room, friendly staff and the price was most certainly pleasing to my pocket. The Crowne Plaza in downtown St. Louis is not a 4- or 5-star hotel nor does it tout itself as such. What it does offer is clean, spacious accommodations with welcoming employees who provide a sense of safety, security and an appreciation of guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our property and for letting us be a part of your holiday memories.
We hope you choose to celebrate with us again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

First stay at a Crowne Plaza, we usually stay at 4 star + properties but the price and location were fine for our firSt trip to St Louis.
Parking: they charge for self park, $10.00 per night. The garage is pretty old and leaks water from the roof (it's not raining) and is pretty old and ghetto.
Lobby & Service: The MOD checked us in and was very nice and helpful with area resturaunts, the lobby is nice and clean.
Room: it appears to have been referbished within the past 5 years but it was cheap and poorly done. The tub is blue and the finish is wearing off, the paint is yellow, the wall coverings are tan and the white tile is poorly refinished bright white with with putty patches throughout.
The mattress and box springs squeak something fearce, the old windows don't block the street noise and worst of all the A/C was not keeping us cool through the night. I would hate to try sleeping in the summer months.
The hallway on the 21st floor is unvacuumed and stained and the room doors are chipped and dirty, it's not very nice to see this condition when you have just checked in and going to your room after an exhausting day of travel.
I would not stay here again in the future, pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your recent stay.
I have shared your comments with our management team. The concerns you have with the condition of the 21st floor of the hotel will be addressed immediately.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your interactions with our team and do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Reading TA reviews had me very worried about staying here. We had booked it through Priceline for $65.
Sam, who checked us in, was great! Very professional. We asked for, and got, a king-sized bed with a fridge. From our room, we could see the ball park--at least what the capitol building did not block. From the balcony, there was a clear view of the Arch. We were on the 18th floor, and did not actually spend time on the balcony. It didn't feel quite safe.
As others have said, the AC does not work well at allll. Nights were cool and leaving the sliding door to the balcony open solved that problem.
There was only one chair, which was a bummer.
The room was quite clean, the bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was not THAT small, and the elevators were quick to respond.
And, it is within walking distance to Busch Stadium and several good restaurants.
We took elevator up from lobby and investigated the rooftop patio. Oh my. They have much to clean up! I am guessing that, at one time, it may have been a place for wedding receptiions, etc? Not any more...it was quite dumpy. However, we weren't sleeping out there, so we could overlook it.
Would we have been as pleased if we had spent $75/night (plus taxes)? nooooo
But, at $65, it was a good deal.
Our last night we spent some time in the lobby bar. $2.00 drafts. That worked.

Room Tip: Get Sam and ask for what you want. ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our team and property. Your feedback is very valuable to our team as it helps us to improve upon our product and services.
Your comments will be posted in an area where all of our team members can read about the exceptional service Sam provided you at check in.
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in downtown St. Louis Missouri from September 28th through the 30th for a staff team building weekend. The weekend it's self was great...the hotel on the other hand needs some big changes in their housekeeping and maintenance department before the hotel falls completely apart. Front desk management on the other hand was superior and they did their best to help us but some things just can't be fixed in the short time we were there. So, here I am to tell our story of our yucky stay at the Crowne Plaza.
Friday, September 28th: Our group arrived in St. Louis after a very long train ride at around 2pm. We quickly got our rental van and headed to the hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel (2:30ish) most of our staff were able to quickly check in but those of us who had asked for the balcony upgrade were told to leave our cell phone numbers and the would call us when the rooms were ready. Granted this is to be expected on a busy weekend and we were technically there before formal check in time (3pm). We received a call at about 4:30 to let us know our room was ready and quickly headed to our room.
Unfortunately, when we arrived in said room we knew immediately that the room had not been thoroughly cleaned by the housekeeping staff...there was a muffin wrapper and liner at the end of the bed (Yuck!). Now, something like this is apt to happen from time to time and we were ready to call the front desk so that they could send someone up to re-clean the room when we started noticing other things that just weren't right. On one side of the bed the carpet was slashed and mangled,there was another slash in front of the dresser/tv stand, there was a huge stain of I don't want to know on the carpet on the other side of the bed, the curtains were yellow with age and had some sort of liquid stains running down them, there were dented holes in the wall by the balcony door, when I sat my suitcase (small) on the bed the bed moved back & forth as though it might collapse any minute, and then while taking all of this in we realized..."Wow! It's reallllly hot in here", the air conditioner wasn't working even though it was on and turned to cool it was putting out hot air.
Immediately, we knew we could not stay in a room like this and returned to the front desk to ask for other arrangements. The manager was very nice and accommodating and immediately switched us to another room.
Little did we know that the new room would be what they considered to be one of their best suites. So, once again we went in search of our room. To our surprise when we opened the door to our new room we found a huge suite that included a wet bar area (booze not included), a conference table, a full sofa and 3 chairs area with tv, a bathroom in the main area, a bathroom in the bedroom, a huge bedroom with tv, and another wet bar off the bedroom area.
Unfortunately, one the awe wore off we once again found many inconsistencies. This room was supposed to be the cream of the crop for them but it seemed/felt like a bad road side hotel room to us. The main room it's self had 3 oddly sized closets and the bedroom area had another 4 odd closets...really strange. Once again we found gross stains on the carpet, stains on the curtains, and in this room the balcony door acted as if it might fall out of it's frame every time we shut it. At least the bathrooms, bed, and furniture looked clean and the air conditioner worked so we decided to deal with it for the 2 nights we were there...it's not like we could really move our whole group to a different hotel this late in the day with out a huge hassle.
Saturday, September 29th: We woke up early in the morning to head off for a team building activity with our staff. I decided, while eating my quick morning breakfast (granola & yogurt) I'd like to look at the arch in all it's glory...this is when I found when opening the curtains that the carpet in the main room wasn't even attached to the floor, it ended about an inch from the wall! Who the heck did they hire to put this in and who the heck okayed it in the end?!?! Someone needs a reality check for this mess up!
Due to the fact that we needed to leave in a bit of a hurry to our meeting and I had clothes and other stuff laid out on the bed we chose to put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door and not use housekeeping for the day. When we returned from the meeting though we found a plastic sack of bathroom towels on the floor out side of our room with a note from housekeeping saying these were the replacement towels that belonged to our room. Now, we stay in about 5 hotels in a year on average and there have been many times when we've put the do not disturb sign out for the day but we've never had them leave a bag of towels in the hallway...it all seemed very odd to us.
Sunday, September 30th: Today was check out day but we still had on more meeting to attend at 2pm and so we asked the front desk for a late check out...they were great and really nice about it. It was nice to be able to lounge around on a Sunday morning for a bit and not have to quickly pack and then have to find a place near our meeting to store our bags.
Final sum up:
The hotel lobby is nice and clean and the front desk staff was top notch.
The elevators were in need of a good cleaning and the one's that had windows that looked out to the sky view need the windows cleaned terribly...you could hardly see out of them because of the gunk.
The hallway's to the rooms...the carpet looked like it was replaced recently (nice and clean) the walls had a old yellowish tinge to them, and the lighting really needed some help.
The rooms...you've already heard our room problems but according to the rest of our staff...carpets need replaced, curtains need cleaning/replaced, updating and maintenance is a must!
I personally have enjoyed many Crowne Plaza Hotels but would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay.
I have shared your comments with the entire management team so that your concerns can be immediately addressed with our entire team. Our property is a bit older than some in the downtown St Louis area, however, it should be well maintained and clean.
I do hope you will reconsider staying at our property in the future. Thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at theCrown Plaza although it was short. It was close to the Arch. and the Courthouse Museum. My suite was nice & clean.I enjoyed the breakfast at the Union Grille in hotel.Staff was very helpful.Only thing was I did not get on the internet. I believe it was asking me to pay for service. No free wifi. I will stay there again if I return to St Louis.

Room Tip: Book a corner suite. They are Larger and 2 Walls were windows. You have a nice view of the city. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown for your lodging needs during your recent trip to St Louis.
I am terribly sorry to hear you had some difficulty in accessing our complimentary internet services. I hope this did not inconvenience you.
I am, however, pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to seeing you the next time you visit St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown

Address: 200 North Fourth Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown Hotel and Suites. Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, adjacent to the majestic Gateway Arch, the newly-renovated Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Downtown offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and top notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Exciting attractions which are within minutes of the Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Downtown include Busch Stadium home of the St. Louis Cardinals, Edward Jones Dome, America s Center Convention Center and the World-Famous Anheuser-Busch Brewery. Nearby entertainment districts include Laclede s Landing, Washington Avenue Loft District and Soulard neighborhood. We are also conveniently located near many Fortune 500 companies such as Accenture, Bank of America, Deloitte, Kraft, Anheuser Busch, Wachovia, Nestle, AT&T, IBM, and Peabody Energy to name a few. The Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown just completed a $6 million dollar renovation. Experience a night like no other in our brand new 'Sleep Advantage' seven layer bed amenity package and utilize our complimentary high-speed Internet in all guestrooms. Stay at the Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown and enjoy our breathtaking views of the arch, 24 hour fitness club, business center, sundries shop, and renovated guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.