We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lacking atmosphere, pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's Trattoria

Roberto's Trattoria
145 Concord Plaza, Saint Louis, MO 63128
+1 314-842-9998
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,361 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Roberto's Trattoria is rated among the best restaurants in St. Louis. Roberto's will take you on a culinary trip to Southern Italy where you will enjoy classic, traditional Italian cuisine right here is St. Louis. It's the best Italian restaurant in the metro area for fine dining. Roberto's Trattoria is the perfect answer for travelers looking for the best place to dine in St. Louis.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, lacking atmosphere, pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was expecting something much different when we picked Roberto's. This is a little Italian place in a strip shopping mall, next to a 24 hour fitness in a 'not so great' part of town. By no means does it disqualify it from being a 'nice' restaurant but it isn't a place I would recommending taking clients or family to impress them. This is a place to go if you want great Italian food and no fuss with 'fancy' dinning etiquette. The tables are very close together and it was a little cramped. We went when the St. Louis baseball team was playing so there was a loud crowd in the bar. The service was good, but not overly good. I think I counted 4 or 5 different waiters who filled our water and some of them weren't very friendly. Our main waiter was nice and did his job just fine but didn't go above an beyond (which I kind of expect based on prices).

The food was great. Typical American Italian food with great flavor and large portions. It came quick from the kitchen. A good selection of wines, although the house Chianti was terrible. The prices were very high for Italian food. Paying these types of prices I expect a lot more from a restaurant. They're charging fine dinning prices for good food and nothing else that usually comes with fine dinning (atmosphere, exceptional service, etc.). Would go back, but not but won't be my first choice in a town full of American Italian establishments. Definitely not the 3rd best restaurant in St. Louis (#3 restaurant in St. Louis when writing this review October 2013).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    21
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The service is outstanding and the food was excellent. It's a bit pricey for regular visits for us, but if you want to treat yourself for a special occasion, this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the best Italian food in South County!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a groupon and due to my mother in laws illness it had expired by one day. Roberto graciously honored the full price of the groupon and we had an amazing dinner. There was so much food we had dinner the next night as well. There were people celebrating a 90th birthday and couple enjoying a romantic dinner. Both could exist in the warm atmosphere of Roberto's. We will be back. Loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Roberto's has the freshest and best food. I have never had a bad meal here. Service is always first rate and the meals are to die for. When I want to really celebrate with a good meal, Roberto's is the destination. It is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. It is not unreasonable for the quality of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevely, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Best place to eat in St. Louis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is my go to place for a delicious meal. Roberto greats you at the door and makes you feel special. The lobster bisque is to die for along with the scallops. This is a wonderful place to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Roberto's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.