We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 North 7th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Connect
Ranked #15 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for our son's graduation from one of the local universities, because all other properties were booked up. It was pricey ($199 / night), but there was a lot going on in the city, including baseball games, commencements, conventions, etc.
The building is a former department store, such that everything is super-sized. It's a nice combination of old architecture and new interiors.

The positives:
Albeit pricey valet parking, the crew that works the front door / valet parking were SUPERB. Always the same guys who recognize you; always friendly; kept our car out when we went up to our rooms for a short stint; helped with bags, luggage, loading / unloading. They were 5-star.
Huge rooms, hallways, high ceilings.
Clean and new interiors and furniture; comfortable beds and pullout sofa in LR.
Comfortable central air and heat.
Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries.
Close to the ballpark and restaurants (e.g., Pie just across the street, Starbucks around the corner, food trucks down the street)
Awesome made-to-order breakfasts.
All the perks you expect of an Embassy Suites, done very well.

The drawbacks (there weren't many):
Evening "free" reception was really lousy; cheap beer and liquor; bad snacks. We only went once - don't waste your time there with so many amazing bars and happy hours in the city to experience.
Had to beg for more shampoo and soap. I think they just forgot to give us more when they cleaned the room.

Green Features: It is a LEED certified building and all non-smoking.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    200
    49
    19
    10
See reviews for
256
87
14
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel during an extended field trip with my son's school to the Gateway Arch and City Museum. The location was great, blocks from the Gateway Arch and plenty of eating establishments. The property itself was very nice, very elegant, not like I would expect from an Embassy Suites. Our room, which was a king suite, was large and very comfortable for five people. The included breakfast was on point, though the eggs were scrambled a bit softer than my taste and the home fries (diced potatoes) were seasonless. Still, the options were enough that one could overlook those issues and choose something else, or even doctor them up.
My only complaint is that the front desk staff was less than friendly. In fact, they appeared to have an air of uppity-ness (is that even a word?) to them. We had just walked from the Gateway Arch which was probably 6-7 blocks away so maybe we appeared a little windblown or maybe we reeked of outdoors but even still a bright smile and a friendly greeing isn't too much to ask, I don't think. Especially since we paid full market price, not Priceline or Hotwire prices, but hotel website prices. I will say that they were very fast in delivering additional towels to our room though. Overall, I would return because our stay overshadowed the less than friendly front desk staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear D_Hurd1913,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your review of the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown.

We are so pleased to read your wonderful comments on our hotel. We are proud of our facility and its convenience to so many St. Louis attractions. I actually just visited the City Museum last weekend with some friends who were visiting from out of town! Such a fun place!

We are also pleased that you enjoyed our services, such as the cooked-to-order breakfast!

However, we are truly sorry that you were not greeted with the hospitable warmth that Embassy Suites is known for and that we are often complimented on at our hotel. I can assure you your experience is not the norm but no guest should be left to feel unwelcomed. We have shared your comments with our Team Members as it's important for all of our staff to understand how important a warm welcome is to our guests.

Thank you again for providing your feedback that can allow us to better serve our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Embassy Suites, with a smile, on your next visit to St. Louis.

Best regards,

Wade Thompson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Phone: 314-678-2903
Email: wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I definitely recommend this hotel. I recevied a room on the third floor. My ceilings were super high and the room had modern decor. As is the norm with Embassy Suites, all the rooms are suites (Mine had 2 TVs/fridge/microwave/sink/sofa bed) and you have free breakfast and drinks/appetizers in the evening. Though I didn't use them, the gym and pool were clean and with new equipment in the gym. My two complaints / tips: there is only one elevator bank, and the hallways are connected in a square shape. Ask for a room close to the elevator. There is no self-parking associated with the hotel and the garage they refer you to is cash only. So get cash if you're going to park there. All in all, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, took 35 minutes from the airport on the Metrolink. Curtis greeted us and allowed us to check in early which was a HUGE plus, very helpful with directions and places to eat. I am a gold member with Hilton and have almost 400,000 points and stay at Embassy Suites quite a bit. Robert, the bartender at the Manager's Reception was absolutely wonderful. The negative was I went to visit Busch Stadium with a buddy and although the room was clean, it was NEVER made up in a 2 night stay. VERY disappointing. No fresh towels, not a bed made etc... Otherwise I would stay at this hotel again, great location....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've stayed at several Embassy Suites and this location was about average. The room was nice and the cleaning staff were adequate, although they would not leave coffee in the room and seemed to think two towels were sufficient for four guests.

The only complaint was the noise level on the downtown streets. We were on the third floor and apparently near a fire station which we heard about every hour all during the night as trucks left on calls. So loud the windows rattled as they went by. The only other problem was insufficient seating for breakfast. Guests had to clean off tables themselves, which we did both mornings, before we could sit down to enjoy breakfast.

That is the only reason I give the average rating-otherwise, Embassy Suites is a fantastic chain and this visit will definitely not deter us from choosing other locations in the future.

Room Tip: request an interior room or a very high floor, get as far away from the street as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear MS_Vaquero,

Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your experience.

We are sorry you experienced such a significant amount of street noise during your stay. We do not have a fire station in close proximity to our hotel but it appears there was a lot of activity on the streets of St. Louis that night during which required emergency vehicles. We apologize that this activity prevented you from getting your rest. With our location in the heart of downtown's entertainment district, the benefits of close proximity to dining, attractions and night life can sometimes also come with activity on the streets late at night.

We sincerely apologize as well for the lack of coffee and appropriate number of towels in your suites. Please know that our standard is to replenish the in-suite coffee daily and to provide the appropriate amount of towels for our guests. We are also sorry that you enjoyed our cooked-to-order breakfast at an obviously very busy time. Rest assured, our staff is there to clear and clean our tables during breakfast but during peak times the breakfast room can be very congested and they may take a few minutes to get to each table after it is vacated.

We constantly strive to improve the experience for our guests. Your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may learn from your experience to make it an even better experience for our future guests. We appreciate your loyalty and enjoyment of the Embassy Suites brand and hope to welcome you back to our hotel should your travels bring you to St. Louis in the future.

Best regards,

Wade Thompson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Phone: 314-678-2903
Email: wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really nice hotel. Great, fast check in. Valets were all over it. super fast. Love the great breakfasts and complementary happy hour in this historic, impressive property. The rooms are really nicely styled, with ceilings that must have been 25-30 feet high. All the comforts of home. Nice walk in shower instead of tub, loved that. Convenient to everything down town including the Cardinal's stadium. Would definitely stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had two separate corner suites and both were huge. The bedrooms in each suite were at least 20x20, maybe even larger. The bathroom for each suite was not connected to the bedroom as it was shared with the living area but this was not a problem since no one was sleeping on the sleeper sofa in the living area. Rooms were clean and felt very homey. Staff at the hotel were wonderful and very helpful. The valet staff were also very nice and helpful. The breakfast each morning was a bonus as one day we had inlets and the next day we ate from the buffet. The managers reception each evening was nice as well as a drink before going out each night was appreciated. Don't forget to tip the bartender and breakfast staff as they are working hard to provide these free services. The location was also nice as Busch stadium and the arch are a short walk away. The Metro is also located across the street as is a movie theatre.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear cpariddler,

Thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown for your recent visit to St. Louis, and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious suites as well as the amenities we provide, such as cooked-to-order breakfast and our evening Manager's Reception. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff, who we believe really make the difference.

It sounds like you also enjoyed many of the downtown St. Louis attractions available within a short proximity, as well as the MetroLink Light Rail system to get around the city.

We thank you again for selecting the Embassy Suites and look forward to welcoming you back when St. Louis is in your travel plans.

Best regards,

Wade Thompson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Phone: 314-678-2903
Email: wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown

Address: 610 North 7th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Louis – Downtown hotel in Missouri is conveniently located in the historic Laurel Building in the heart of downtown St. Louis across the street from America's Convention Center and the Edward Jones Dome - home to the NFL's St. Louis Rams. With easy access from I-70, I-64, I-44 and I-55, our Embassy Suites hotel is the centerpiece of the exciting new Mercantile Exchange District currently under development. Lambert St. Louis International Airport is only 14 miles away and the MetroLink light rail systems Convention Center station is less than a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.