We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 North 7th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Work Hard - Save Big!
Ranked #14 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersGold level
Murphysboro, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Spent the weekend at Embassy Suites. For the money you cannot beat the free made to order breakfast and the happy hour from 5:30 to 7:30 with some appetizers. Rooms were nice and clean, service good, and exceptionally friendly staff. They were all so helpful. There was a lot going on with the Rams and Viking game and the hotel was totally prepared. My only complaint is the $27 a day parking fee. But they were very nice about not charging us any additional for late parking till after the game. They gave you a heads up about getting your car after the game and what the plan was, to allow additional 30 minutes for valet parking. It is just one block from the stadium, metrolink, and numerous eating places. Rooms have 2 flat screens with a door for the bedroom. Microwave, fridge,sink. Bathroom had a nice shower, but know tub which I always want. Had a king size bed and a pullout couch. Elevators ran great, no waiting forever which considering the number of guest that were there.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is where the happy hour, breakfast and restaurant are located, so if you don't wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello katsulvan,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown! We thank you for selecting our hotel and appreciate your feedback.

One of your comments referenced your desire to have a tub in your bathroom. We though you may be interested to know that all of our suites with a King size bed do have the glass shower that you experienced but our suites containing Two Queen beds to have a traditional shower & tub.

For your next visit, you may request a suite with 2 Queen beds and you will have the tub you prefer!

Again, thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,

Wade Thompson, Director of Sales & Marketing
Phone: 314-678-2903
Email: wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    150
    42
    16
    9
See reviews for
203
62
10
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Loved our 5 day stay here! We were in town for a Rams game, and the location right next to the stadium can't be beat! It's also across the road from the Metrolink station, which is a great way to get around St.Louis!
Rooms are huge, comfortable, and spacious, with 12' ceilings. Furnishings are modern, and the bed was extremely comfortable! Our friends had the room next door to ours and they noticed that their coffee & bathroom supplies were not always restocked, but always plenty of towels, etc.
The complimentary breakfast is the best we've ever experienced. Cooked to order omelettes, many hot and cold selections...anything you can think of! It was always well-stocked and always fresh, even over a busy weekend. Also included was the managers reception daily from 5:30-7:30pm with free beverages and snacks.
Staff was friendly and helpful including offering us suggestions of places to dine. When our travel plans take us back to St.Louis, we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Our room was right by the elevator, and we didn't hear any noise at all. We stayed in room 353...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Il
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a wonderful renovation of a department store I knew as a child. Almost next door to the convention center. Valet parking was $27 per night. WiFi was an added charge unless you were a gold or platinum Hilton Honors member. Rooms have 2 flat screen TVs,12 ft. ceilings and are spacious and quiet. The hair dryer was missing. Three calls to the front desk over more than 30 minutes (housekeeping phone was always busy) finally resulted in a replacement dryer. We noted that a potato chip on hall floor by our room which was there on Friday was still there on Sunday. The happy hour could not have been better. It is on the 4th floor in a large room, also the breakfast area, with plenty of nibbles and an amazing variety of beverages. The biggest disappointment was Saturday's breakfast. We arrived about an hour before the scheduled close time of 10:30am. Potato pan empty, no yogurt and the two fruit bowls were empty and finally removed (not replaced). Cereal was spilled all over the cereal serving area and was not cleaned up while we were there. The 100% orange juice is very watery. Omelet line was very long with one person making them. Many uncleaned tables with staff seemingly unconcerned. No sign of supervision. Sunday morning was very different. The area was clean with no "empties". The omelet line was still rather long, with still only one person serving, but now preparing four orders at a time. Tables were promptly bussed. A supervisor was present.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wow! I truly enjoyed my experience here! The staff is friendly, the breakfast is scrumptious, and the rooms are amazing! I can't believe how incredibly quiet the rooms are. The rooms are spacious and exteremely clean! Good job with the renovation. It's hard to believe this was once the building my family I had enjoyed so many enjoyable shopping experiences. Again, Great job! Great Value!

Normally, I stay with family when in town, but I'm sorry to say, "Mom, if you reading this, I have a new home when in St. Louis!"

Johnny Danrich III
Oklahoma City Convention and Visitors Bureau

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel itself recently opened (about a year ago I believe) and its interior shows this. The lobby was a little small but it was open enough and the staff were friendly even when arriving at close to midnight. Once we tried to check in though, they told us there was a computer glitch and they are moving us to the Ramada. This was very disappointing considering we booked nearly a year in advance. They finally admitted they were still holding a room for a group that hadn't arrived. They did give the room to us along with complimentary valet and Wifi after about 20 minutes of back and forth discussion.

The rooms themselves continued with the lobby's new modern styling. Our rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy. The door between the sitting room and bedroom as well as the television in each room were fantastic considering we had people sleeping in both rooms. The only complaint with the room was the windows seemed very thin. Street noise was a problem during the night so make sure to get a room that is not on the main road.

Breakfast was good with the omelets prepared in front of you as you wait. Helen was funny and always kept the line moving! Someone grabbed mine by mistake and walked away and she made sure to remake mine quickly.

The pool room and fitness area were modern and clean, but the pool was only 3ft deep which seemed a little strange.

The valet did a good job and were pretty quick. Only had to wait a few minutes in the lobby for our car. The head valet told a couple who was waiting that there have been issues between communication with the front desk and the valet. He explained to a couple waiting that the front desk radios numbers to the valet without checking for a response so sometimes, they don't hear the number and delay car retrieval. Also, we left on a Sunday morning at about 9am and they had one guy retrieving cars which caused a longer wait than usual but we felt sorry only one person was on duty during this time.

If you are going to an event at the conference center or the stadium, this hotel is in a perfect location. It is close to restaurants while being only two or three blocks from the stadium.

Overall, this hotel was beautiful and worth the price. The beds are comfy, the rooms are clean, and the location is perfect. The noisy rooms and the few glitches experienced bumped the ranking down from 5 to 4 stars

Room Tip: Choose a high level and one away from the main street to ensure a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First class lodgings. From the first moment we were greeted by the valet's at the door to the our exiting to the cab to the airport the experience was 1st class. Beautiful suite with high ceilings, they must have been 15' or even higher. Two flat screen tv's in the suite. All the staff were friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the free happy hour with a nice variety of snacks to go with our drinks. When we got up in the morning we had their complimentary breakfast, not a continental breakfast, but a full breakfast with made to order omelets. Could go on and on. Highly recommend this hotel. Almost forgot the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, fantastic.

Room Tip: Not sure which one to pick, but we were on the 3rd floor room 314.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a baseball trip in St. Louis in September and was not disappointed! Staff was very friendly, the suites are very nicely appointed, and the breakfast was excellent! The walk to Busch Stadium was very easy, as was the walk to other downtown attractions. Another good thing about this property is that it is within one block of the MetroLink Convention Center Station, which is a great transit option from the airport! The Embassy Suites St. Louis will be at the top of my list if I return to St. Louis!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown

Address: 610 North 7th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Louis – Downtown hotel in Missouri is conveniently located in the historic Laurel Building in the heart of downtown St. Louis across the street from America's Convention Center and the Edward Jones Dome - home to the NFL's St. Louis Rams. With easy access from I-70, I-64, I-44 and I-55, our Embassy Suites hotel is the centerpiece of the exciting new Mercantile Exchange District currently under development. Lambert St. Louis International Airport is only 14 miles away and the MetroLink light rail systems Convention Center station is less than a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.