We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Still Has Glitches to Work Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 North 7th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Work Hard - Save Big!
Ranked #12 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Still Has Glitches to Work Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel itself recently opened (about a year ago I believe) and its interior shows this. The lobby was a little small but it was open enough and the staff were friendly even when arriving at close to midnight. Once we tried to check in though, they told us there was a computer glitch and they are moving us to the Ramada. This was very disappointing considering we booked nearly a year in advance. They finally admitted they were still holding a room for a group that hadn't arrived. They did give the room to us along with complimentary valet and Wifi after about 20 minutes of back and forth discussion.

The rooms themselves continued with the lobby's new modern styling. Our rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy. The door between the sitting room and bedroom as well as the television in each room were fantastic considering we had people sleeping in both rooms. The only complaint with the room was the windows seemed very thin. Street noise was a problem during the night so make sure to get a room that is not on the main road.

Breakfast was good with the omelets prepared in front of you as you wait. Helen was funny and always kept the line moving! Someone grabbed mine by mistake and walked away and she made sure to remake mine quickly.

The pool room and fitness area were modern and clean, but the pool was only 3ft deep which seemed a little strange.

The valet did a good job and were pretty quick. Only had to wait a few minutes in the lobby for our car. The head valet told a couple who was waiting that there have been issues between communication with the front desk and the valet. He explained to a couple waiting that the front desk radios numbers to the valet without checking for a response so sometimes, they don't hear the number and delay car retrieval. Also, we left on a Sunday morning at about 9am and they had one guy retrieving cars which caused a longer wait than usual but we felt sorry only one person was on duty during this time.

If you are going to an event at the conference center or the stadium, this hotel is in a perfect location. It is close to restaurants while being only two or three blocks from the stadium.

Overall, this hotel was beautiful and worth the price. The beds are comfy, the rooms are clean, and the location is perfect. The noisy rooms and the few glitches experienced bumped the ranking down from 5 to 4 stars

Room Tip: Choose a high level and one away from the main street to ensure a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    139
    38
    14
    9
See reviews for
188
59
10
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First class lodgings. From the first moment we were greeted by the valet's at the door to the our exiting to the cab to the airport the experience was 1st class. Beautiful suite with high ceilings, they must have been 15' or even higher. Two flat screen tv's in the suite. All the staff were friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the free happy hour with a nice variety of snacks to go with our drinks. When we got up in the morning we had their complimentary breakfast, not a continental breakfast, but a full breakfast with made to order omelets. Could go on and on. Highly recommend this hotel. Almost forgot the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, fantastic.

Room Tip: Not sure which one to pick, but we were on the 3rd floor room 314.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a baseball trip in St. Louis in September and was not disappointed! Staff was very friendly, the suites are very nicely appointed, and the breakfast was excellent! The walk to Busch Stadium was very easy, as was the walk to other downtown attractions. Another good thing about this property is that it is within one block of the MetroLink Convention Center Station, which is a great transit option from the airport! The Embassy Suites St. Louis will be at the top of my list if I return to St. Louis!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Embassy Suites October 28, 2012, and the employees were very helpful and knew the area well. We arrived in time for the manager's reception, and Robert was a great bartender, despite what the candle ladies wrote about him (you know who you are!). Robert knew the area well and filled us in about the Loop, so hopefully we can staty longer next time and visit that also. The hotel is a beautiful renovated department store, and the rooms were very nice with high ceilings. The only downfall was not being able to order breakfast after 9:00 am and had to go somewhere else, and althoug we missed the free breakfast, we should have been able to order off a breakfst menu until 10:30. Valet parking is worth the money, and when we left a phone in the car, the parking attendant gladly went to get it for us.

Room Tip: There is a little noise from the downtown area, and you could hear the train, but I am used to that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was in St. Louis for pleasure and stayed here for 2 nights, Thursday and Friday. The room was very spacious and the staff was very nice and helpful. They were very helpful with getting a cab when we needed one. I liked layout of the hotel, the breakfast area was on a different floor then the main floor. Most hotels have it near an exit area which makes it cold in the winter and busy with outgoing traffic and the dinning area was very spacious. Their workout room is very modern with multiple cardio machines, weight machine, free weights, stabily ball and weight balls. The pool looked nice I just didn't use it. All areas were very clean. Breakfast was not so good. The eggs must have been from powder or something they did not seem mixed enough. The pancakes had no flavor and were hard. The muffins were hard. The orange juice was watering and coffee in your room is better then the resturant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Gypsyronin,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is the valuable input from guests like you that allow us to continuously improve the services we provide.

We appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased you enjoyed our facilities. It appears however that your breakfast experience was less than desirable and we take your comments to heart. Although many of our guests have been quick to compliment our complimentary breakfast, we apologize that this was not a highlight for your stay. We have shared your comments internally with our entire team and will strive to ensure our future guests will continue to enjoy freshly prepared breakfast each day.

Again, thank you for allowing us to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travel plans include St. Louis.

Best regards,

Wade Thompson, Director of Sales & Marketing
Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown
Phone:(314) 678-2903
Email: Wade.Thompson@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Embassy Suites for a business meeting. I was very please with the spacious rooms and the customer service. I enjoyed being close to activities downtown. The breakfast and lounge area was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a very stylish Embassy Suites, the most stylish we have stayed in. It occupies 4 floors of an old department store building downtown and has been furnished in a pleasingly modern and light style. Reception was smart, friendly and helpful. Our room, a corner suite, was light, spacious and well furnished. It has the usual sink/microwave/refrigerator - but (as now with all Embassy Suites) no cutlery, no crockery, no kitchen towels, no corkscrew/bottle opener (though one was supplied on request), so this seems to be for show not useful. The coffee maker made dreadful coffee (much worse than the old coffee makers in ES) and mugs have been replaced with paper cups.
The "Atrium" bar/breakfast/restaurant is a double height area and buzzing during the management reception, but afterwards, as a restaurant and bar it was soulless, despite good service. And the restaurant food was dull. Happily there are lots of nearby places to eat.
Breakfast: the usual complimentary breakfast, but during the week it finishes serving at 9.00am, not well suited to people like us on a leisure break. And coffee service also finished at 9.00am.
I guess Embassy Suites is firmly positioned during the week for business travellers.

Room Tip: As always in Embassy Suites, the corner suites are best and worth a bit more money because they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown

Address: 610 North 7th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Louis – Downtown hotel in Missouri is conveniently located in the historic Laurel Building in the heart of downtown St. Louis across the street from America's Convention Center and the Edward Jones Dome - home to the NFL's St. Louis Rams. With easy access from I-70, I-64, I-44 and I-55, our Embassy Suites hotel is the centerpiece of the exciting new Mercantile Exchange District currently under development. Lambert St. Louis International Airport is only 14 miles away and the MetroLink light rail systems Convention Center station is less than a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.