We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This BBQ is Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bogart's Smokehouse

Bogart's Smokehouse
1627 S 9th Street, (Soulard area), Saint Louis, MO 63104 (Soulard)
+1 314-621-3107
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,386 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Soulard
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This BBQ is Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Alright I'll keep it simple. My only gripe with this restaurant is that they do not have a liquor license, therefore there is no beer or whiskey to be had with the best tasting BBQ I have ever had. The service is casual cafeteria style, you order at a counter and then they bring you your food. The staff is friendly and helpful. I will definitely go here again the next time I'm in St. Louis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    124
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Smoked Meats In the Soulard "Hood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I just had a chance to sample this food at a business luncheon in Down Town St Louis. In regard to the catering the price was in line, the food arrived on time, no surprises and was nicely set-up by Lorrean. The pulled pork& brisket were just great, very nice creamy cold slaw & baked beans. I'll seek them out and see what else they have to offer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I don't typically go gaga over BBQ, but my brother insisted I try Bogart's and it was AMAZING!! It was my first time in St. Louis and I wanted to experience as much good BBQ as I could, so we decided to try the other top-rated restaurant as well... Pappy's. We found out that it's owned by the same people, so the food is very similar (and just as good). I would definitely recommend the burnt ends pork sandwich! Just make sure to get there early as they run out of food quickly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
230 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ, Great Joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are looking for great barbecue, add this place to the short list. Bogarts easily makes the top Q places in the metro St. Louis area. Nothing fancy, my kind of "joint." Very reasonable price. We had turkey, ribs, pork. All were delightful. The place easily fills up, so get there early.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Ever & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had lunch at Bogart's today while in town to celebrate my birthday. The first impression is of the quaint but colorful building the restaurant is housed in. The second is the smiling faces that welcome you to their "Place". Third is the extremely nice guy that we place our order with. Fourth was the "Best Freakin BBQ Ever. The sides are even good too. My wife isn't a fan of most potato salad, but she really liked theirs. She also really liked their pineapple based sauce. You'd be hard pressed to find a better restaurant anywhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogart's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Bogart's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogart's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.