We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogart's Smokehouse

Bogart's Smokehouse
1627 S 9th Street, (Soulard area), Saint Louis, MO 63104 (Soulard)
+1 314-621-3107
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2,590 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Soulard
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of the best BBQ joints in the country, according to many reviewers/rating services. Skip will bet you $1 his are the best ribs you'll have ever tasted. There are many dollar bills tacked to the wall at Bogart's. Personally, I prefer the prime rib and/or the pastrami. At Bogart's it's all about the meat. The flavors are unlike anything I've ever had before. They have sauces but why bother when the meat is SO good? And whatever you do, don't leave without trying the beans. They bake under the brisket which drips right into them (not a dish for vegetarians, but vegetarians tend not to frequent BBQ joints). Amazing. Music is great, servers are terrific. Be prepared for a line out the door (and, on nice days, around the block), but it's worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    96
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“YUMMY, YUM, YUMMMM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I cannot get enough of this BBQ Spot. This is a regular hang out for my lunch crew. I have almost sampled everything they have to offer on their menu and not one complaint! My favorites are the brisket and burnt ends. You cannot go wrong by stopping in at this restaurant and feasting!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Rib Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were in St. Louis for the weekend, and stumbled on this gem in the Soulard area on a Saturday about 11a. There was a line out the door, which tells you something. We walked by and decided it was too crowded, when a guy shows up with paper towels and a basket of drum sticks and wings. They were feeding everyone in line.

He had me at drum sticks.

Needless to say, we got in line, and 15 minutes later, an empty table appears. We sit down, they bring us our lunch, and it was the best smoked pulled pork I've ever had.

It wasn't rated #1 by Zagat for nothin'

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievable great BBQ. You must stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Heard about this place, and had to run down from Chicago to St. Louis to pick up a piece of equipment for work... stopped here for lunch. This place is Awesome. i have been to Memphis at some of the best (wrote some personal reviews for tripadvisor). This place is now my favorite. Walked in (busy) got up to order. Told the guy "We've heard about you... set us up). he said no problem. Had the Full Rack, one of us with a size of their Thin slice prime rib and onions, the other with their Pastrami.... and bbq beans and potato salad... Ate outside in November! (Crazy warm in St. Louis for the day). What can I say.... Ribs were perfect... their rub without even adding sauce was fantastic. Meaty, perfect balance of lean/smoke/meaty. This sides of meat were PERFECT. Beans... most excellent, potato salad... average. This place is VERY VERY small.. walk up service (no table service), and it was able to handle so many people because of the nice weather and picnic tables outside. STOP HERE. EAT HERE. most likely CARRY OUT HERE. ... No cheap.... premium price of you ask me but 100% worth it. 2 full slab lunches with drinks, sampling of the meat sides, potato salad, and beans... $60. Other warning: No booze... just soft drinks. Side note: After eating, brought some home for the reverse trip for the wife.... Stopped by a great Irish bar just 1 block west for a beer. The bartender tried to steal the to go bag. Walked in, sat at the bar. She said "Bogarts", I said yes, she grabbed it and put it behind the bar.... LOL.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Bogarts Bodacious BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Is Bogarts the best Q in the Lou? Many think so. The ribs are perfection and you MUST get the beans as a side. The chicken is good, but after all its chicken. The pulled pork is great and get the pork rinds to add some crunch. You will have to stand in line to order, especially during peak lunch hour but its worth it. Great job, Bogey!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogart's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Bogart's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogart's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.