We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pear Tree Inn Union Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pear Tree Inn Union Station to your Saves list
Pear Tree Inn Union Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is generally one of my favorite places to stay. It is getting way too popular and so many people are staying there now they are unable to keep up with everyone's needs. The door on our room would not open. A maintenance person came and said "These are getting a bit tricky and you have to lift up and then push down on them now." The garage is always full and I have to park up in the over flow parking most of the time. The breakfast is always good but last time I was there they couldn't keep up. No fruit, 2 yogurts, no biscuits, I took the last spoonful of eggs, few sausages, no muffins, out of powdered sugar donuts.... They would try and refill as quickly as they could but the poor woman just couldn't keep up. Tables were dirty. Had to wait forever for an elevator. Family across the hall was very noisy and they were up until 2 AM.

The staff is always great here but I think they may need more help to keep up with their popularity.

Room Tip: Normally I try to stay away from the elevators but it made no difference this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevBaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Union Station, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Please accept our apology for your last visit. We try to ensure that our hotel is properly maintained, our amenities are readily available and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. During the day there are Managers and Supervisors on duty to assist our team and at night there is a Manager on call. We always invite our guests to contact the Manager on Duty or the front desk at any time day or night to discuss any concerns or resolve any issues. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Pear Tree, Union Station on a trip to See "Book of Mormon" at the Fox Theater. I booked at the last minute (2 hours earlier) to avoid an incoming snow storm. They were very accommodating about adding my last minute reservation to an existing one for the following night. It was a very convenient location for the theater and dinner at the Hard Rock before the show. I was able to use my free upgrade coupon from Facebook for a King Suite at the price of a regular room! Clean and comfortable with a good WIFI signal - It was just the place to wait out the snowstorm, while we relaxed in the hot tub :)

Loved the soda and popcorn in evening and breakfast was yummy - hot and cold choices. Very filling.

Room Tip: Check Facebook before booking for their periodic upgrade coupons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita,KS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our second year of staying at the Pear Tree for the Missouri Valley basketball tourney. They do an excellent job here! From the initial greeting to a great breakfast (such nice ladies taking care of us) to an easy check-out, everything works. There is a great mix of guests, all schools and having Sybergs there for after the game, it is a great place to stay. Thanks for everything you do!

Room Tip: Free parking in the garage is a most welcome amenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shocker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Pear Tree Inn was a wonderful welcome to St. Louis! Got there early on Saturday and were able to check in right away. The staff were very friendly and the room was super clean. Free gated parking, free evening snacks and drinks and an unbelievable free breakfast. This very picky traveler was impressed with the staff and accommodations of the Pear Tree Inn. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 9th floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie-Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights. We went to the Lady Gaga concert. The motel even had a shuttle bus that took us AND picked us up - $2 a ride - cannot beat that, plus we didn't have to hassle with getting a taxi. We were upgraded to a suite with no extra cost. Rooms very clean and staff very helpful. I even forgot my beloved pillow which they kept for me until I could come back and get it!

Room Tip: Going to a concert - take their shuttle bus. $2 a ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Pear Tree Inn Union Station because we were visiting St. Louis University. The location of this hotel is convenient to SLU, Forest Park (amazing cultural and park area), the sports stadiums and of course the Arch. The staff was super friendly to us - including front desk personnel and the housekeepers . There were lots of kids at the hotel who were quite noisy at times, running up and down the halls, but overall our stay was very nice and we would stay at this hotel again. Turned the thermostat fan on during the night to drown out the noise so we could sleep better and this worked great. Appreciated the huge parking lot, adult happy hour, free snacks/soda, computer area and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Pear Tree by Union Station is a good value for business or pleasure. Clean and tidy rooms, good breakfast and snacks. The entire staff is friendly and very interested in hearing how your stay is at their hotel. Their customer service can't be beat! Obviously, I am a repeat customer!,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn Union Station
Drury Inn Union Station
#17 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Union Station

Address: 2211 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#35 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#40 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn Union Station 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pear Tree Inn by Drury provides an outstanding balance of quality, amenities and value. Guests can enjoy a free hot breakfast daily, free evening beverages daily from 5:30-7 pm, free wireless Internet access in all rooms and throughout the hotel, free local calls and 60 minutes of free long distance calls. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Union Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Union Station Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing