We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pear Tree Inn Union Station

Save Saved
You added Pear Tree Inn Union Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn Union Station
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I needed to bring my mother up to STL for medical reasons; I chose the Pear Tree Inn Union Station because it's a Drury Inn hotel, plus it's close to the hospital.

Our room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the beds were nice and comfortable. There was sufficient room to hang up and store our clothing. We had a small coffee pot, which we didn't use. There was no microwave in the room; it was my understanding that these days, a microwave is standard. Our refrigerator was very small, stored in a cabinet and it was a bit of a challenge to stoop down and get in and out of the refrigerator. Thankfully the water bottles I had purchased were small and not too tall for storage; however after we went out for a meal, we had to shuffle quite a few things so that our leftovers would fit. We ended up throwing out a couple of items that wouldn't fit.

My only true complaint is about the parking. There is an underground parking garage with security codes to get in and out, which is nice. However, the parking garage is NOT attached to the hotel, so I would drop my mother off at the hotel door and then go park the car. After parking and locking up the car, I would then have to hike up the sidewalk to get back to the hotel.

Maybe this wouldn't bother me in the spring or fall but in the extremely cold January weather, it was not comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    152
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
113
90
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights just after Christmas, in the midst of a "snowstorm". We were excited to check-in in time for the evening snacks and drinks. We got down there with about 20 minutes to spare, and were met by a woman working the wine bar who clearly wanted nothing to do with that job. She barely spoke and had the biggest frown on her face.

The first night, we had to switch rooms because there was a rowdy bunch of children in the room next to ours and the walls were pretty paper-thin. I could easily make out what shows they were watching on TV.

So we moved down the hall. In the middle of the night, I started hearing a beeping that was only rectified when I turned on the air unit to drown it out. I later found out it was the ice machine all the way down the hall, beeping every 2 seconds for 8 hours. How that didn't wake up everyone on the floor, I'll never know.

Overall, decent place. The rooms were very clean, and breakfast was definitely nice. The evening snacks and drinks are a nice touch; they could just stand to be staffed by some friendlier people.

The location is fantastic. You can see downtown out the window, and it's only about a 4 minute drive down to the riverfront. It was a little confusing to get to, and my GPS got slightly mixed up, but once you learn the area a little, it's just fine.

Room Tip: Go at least the 4th floor. Anything else is too close to the ground and you end up with the roof ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Union Station, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are terribly sorry that you did not have the quiet and relaxing stay that you deserve. We always invite our guests to talk with the staff and/or Manger on Duty to rectify any issue particularly faulty equipment issues so that you may have a comfortable stay. Tip for any traveler trying to find Pear Tree Inn Union Station using GPS. The correct address is 2211 Market Street. DO NOT choose “North” Market Street or your GPS will not take you to our location. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pear Tree is operated by Drury I expected the same quality services. Like great snacks in the evening and even hard drinks.Beer & wine and chips.Not so, when i asked an employee at the front desk they said they were the step-child of drury

Room Tip: Another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Union Station, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for trying the Pear Tree Inn Union Station. The Pear Tree Inn brand is owned by Drury Hotels but it is a different brand than Drury Inns. With the different brand, The Pear Tree offers different amenities from Drury brand hotels, but you can always count on clean, comfortable rooms, good amenities and great service all at an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights during a recent visit to St. Louis. We had come up for a show at the Fox Theatre and found this hotel to be a very convenient location to the theatre and many other attractions. We enjoyed the complimentary evening snacks and beverages (beer, wine, and sodas). The hot breakfast buffet, also included free, was great. Each morning, there were multiple choices, from scrambled eggs and sausage patties to make-your-own waffles, as well as yogurt and fresh fruit. Even though the hotel building has been there for over 40 years, the entire facility was clean and well maintained. We especially appreciated the free, covered parking that protected the car from the weather.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The hotel and room were clean with free, secure parking. The hot breakfast in the morning was good. The location was good. We stayed here for the Gateway arch ans BB's jazz blues and soups. It was in easy reach of both. You can see the arch from the hotel although you need to drive there. There were lots of towels and good storage in the room and an iron and hairdryer . We particularly enjoyed the free drinks and popcorn in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed three days. You can't hardly beat the price. You get three complimentary drinks every night between 5:30 and 7:00 and a hot breakfast each morning. The staff (Alicia, Kevin and Teresa) are the greatest A +. The only complaint I would of had was the furniture, tv and carpeting in the room were in desperate need of replacement. We did find out that the whole hotel is going to be updated to all new carpeting, new flat screen TVs and all new beds. A major overall is going to take place. I did ask if the prices were going to go up and they told me they were going to try to keep the price around the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property while meeting with friends in St. Louis, and to see a Rams game. With the AAA discount, we paid $281.21 for three nights. Unlike most other hotels in downtown St. Louis, the parking is free in a secured garage. Unlike many hotels, there were numerous luggage carts to move luggage to our room. The young man that worked the front desk on the evening of 11/16/12 was quite helpful and very friendly. We had a room on the 9th floor and were pleased with the room (see pictures). The room had a refrigerator and a microwave (not common at Pear Tree Inns). As a comparison, we stayed at the Drury Inn across the street last year and we like this Pear Tree Inn from a value for the dollar aspect. We didn't eat any of the evening offerings, but the breakfast offering was quite nice for a Pear Tree Inn. I did find the discussion of personal problems by the breakfast staff to be undesirable. All of us have our things to deal with - but there is no need to speak about it loudly enough for the guests to hear all about it.

We experienced a few minor problems. One, there was a vibration that caused a sound in the HVAC unit. I put a shor on the unit to stop the noise each night. I reported this at the end of our stay. After our first night, the cleaning service did not clean the room the next day. This resulted in no tip left for the maid service. Finally, our room was near the elevators and near the scenic view of the Arch - this resulted in numerous early loud conversations that woke us earlier than we would have liked. I reported the hall noise by other guests on an online survey. The manager called to speak with me, but since I wasn't at home, he left a message. I appreciate the attempt to follow-up.

There is a sports bar and restaurant attached to the hotel called Syberg's. We ate a meal there and I recommend it. I'll post a separate review of Syberg's. Several bar& grills, as well as Union Station are within two blocks of the hotel.

A few hiccups, but overall, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east end are near the elevators and near a full window view of the Arch. This results i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pear Tree Inn Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Union Station

Address: 2211 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#30 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#35 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pear Tree Inn Union Station 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few blocks from the wonderful shops and restaurants of Union Station, this historic renovation puts you right in the heart of St. Louis. Walk to the Scott Trade Center, Busch stadium, the Citygarden or any number of attractions in the area. Pear Tree Inn offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free breakfast. We serve free continental breakfast, which includes pastries, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Enjoy a refreshing drink to end your day with free drinks from 5:30 to 7 pm. Pear Tree Inn also offers free wireless Internet and free long distance calls ensuring you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Union Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Union Station Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pear Tree Inn Union Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.