We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place & Greater things to come!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pear Tree Inn Union Station

Save Saved
You added Pear Tree Inn Union Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn Union Station
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place & Greater things to come!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed three days. You can't hardly beat the price. You get three complimentary drinks every night between 5:30 and 7:00 and a hot breakfast each morning. The staff (Alicia, Kevin and Teresa) are the greatest A +. The only complaint I would of had was the furniture, tv and carpeting in the room were in desperate need of replacement. We did find out that the whole hotel is going to be updated to all new carpeting, new flat screen TVs and all new beds. A major overall is going to take place. I did ask if the prices were going to go up and they told me they were going to try to keep the price around the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    141
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
105
86
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property while meeting with friends in St. Louis, and to see a Rams game. With the AAA discount, we paid $281.21 for three nights. Unlike most other hotels in downtown St. Louis, the parking is free in a secured garage. Unlike many hotels, there were numerous luggage carts to move luggage to our room. The young man that worked the front desk on the evening of 11/16/12 was quite helpful and very friendly. We had a room on the 9th floor and were pleased with the room (see pictures). The room had a refrigerator and a microwave (not common at Pear Tree Inns). As a comparison, we stayed at the Drury Inn across the street last year and we like this Pear Tree Inn from a value for the dollar aspect. We didn't eat any of the evening offerings, but the breakfast offering was quite nice for a Pear Tree Inn. I did find the discussion of personal problems by the breakfast staff to be undesirable. All of us have our things to deal with - but there is no need to speak about it loudly enough for the guests to hear all about it.

We experienced a few minor problems. One, there was a vibration that caused a sound in the HVAC unit. I put a shor on the unit to stop the noise each night. I reported this at the end of our stay. After our first night, the cleaning service did not clean the room the next day. This resulted in no tip left for the maid service. Finally, our room was near the elevators and near the scenic view of the Arch - this resulted in numerous early loud conversations that woke us earlier than we would have liked. I reported the hall noise by other guests on an online survey. The manager called to speak with me, but since I wasn't at home, he left a message. I appreciate the attempt to follow-up.

There is a sports bar and restaurant attached to the hotel called Syberg's. We ate a meal there and I recommend it. I'll post a separate review of Syberg's. Several bar& grills, as well as Union Station are within two blocks of the hotel.

A few hiccups, but overall, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east end are near the elevators and near a full window view of the Arch. This results i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Jack, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Staff was awesome.Easy to check in/out.Printed directions for nearby places to eat and the arch.The extra s were very nice,pop,popcorn breakfast with biscuits and gravy,bagels,scrambled eggs and more even had free beer in the evening up to 3.Location was great near arch and downtown St.Louis . We only stayed 1 night for a concert we attended but would stay here if we go back to St.Louis Marilyn and Carolyn Ascencio

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Pear Tree Inn Union Station during a visit to SLU just prior to Thanksgiving. We booked through priceline but the front desk said we could also have booked a special (SLU) rate that is always offerred. The location was perfect as it was less than a 10 minute drive to the center of campus. The free parking in a hotel located in the city was a definite plus. Also appreciated was the comprehensive hot breakfast buffet and evening snacks and (three) drinks per night. We were on the 10th floor and while the hotel seemed to be busy, it was very quiet at night. The only issues that kept the hotel from being rated a 5/5 was that there were some signs of wear in our room and a faint musty smell. I have some allergy problems and felt as though I was coming down with a cold when I was in the room. Strangely enough, I always felt better as soon as I left the hotel. Still, I would probably stay there again due to the value and very pleasant, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms seem to be quieter in addition to offerring better views. Ask for a SLU rate when book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'm always hesistant on choosing a hotel for any trip so I always read reviews first. I read several good reviews on this hotel and I'm very glad we chose to stay at this one! I was very satisified with the staff, the hotel itself and all of the extras. We went on a Thursday and stayed until Sunday morning. Myself, my husband and our son who is 6 years old and our daughter who is 17 months old. It was just a family trip, we've never been to St. Louis before. My son loves popcorn and coke so that extra was definitely a bonus for all of us. We stayed in room 727 which has an excellent view of the arch right outside the room. It's at the end of the hallway. The free parking was definitely a plus considering you have to pay to park pretty much everywhere else in that city! It's not too far from the arch and the City Museum which were two reasons we went on this trip. The hot breakfast was very good and the pool area was very clean as was our room. We had a room with a king size bed and a couch bed so we didn't have lots of room to move around but it was sufficient for our needs. The pillows were very soft and fluffy so if you like a firm pillow, I'd recommend you bring your own! All of the staff members were very friendly. One thing I did not like very much was the fact that you had to go through the front lobby to get to the swimming pool. It wouldn't deter me from staying there again, but I just didn't care to walk through the lobby in my swimsuit:) It was a very quite place and I felt very safe. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, clean place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 727, great view of the arch and Union Station right outside the room! (its at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Price was great because it included parking. Breakfast was great - and you get three free drinks at night (along with popcorn, chips and pretzels). Room was great. Do not listen to people saying the Arch is within walking distance (it's a good 2 miles and the area right outside the hotel is not that great, especially at night). Now saying that, the hotel is gated and parking is gated as well. The closer you get to the arch the nicer the area. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock Il
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Ok place, decent deal on price otherwise I probably would be bashing the place. Staff was super, always dig a smile when checking in. Room was fair, nothing over the top. Again, at the price I paid it was cool, otherwise I wouldn't have been impressed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pear Tree Inn Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Union Station

Address: 2211 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#30 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#34 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pear Tree Inn Union Station 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few blocks from the wonderful shops and restaurants of Union Station, this historic renovation puts you right in the heart of St. Louis. Walk to the Scott Trade Center, Busch stadium, the Citygarden or any number of attractions in the area. Pear Tree Inn offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free breakfast. We serve free continental breakfast, which includes pastries, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Enjoy a refreshing drink to end your day with free drinks from 5:30 to 7 pm. Pear Tree Inn also offers free wireless Internet and free long distance calls ensuring you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Union Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Union Station Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pear Tree Inn Union Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.