We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room ... No free Wifi!?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Washington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice room ... No free Wifi!?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was very nice, the was bed very comfortable, and the parking deck was close and easy to access.

But what year is it!? Why are we still paying for Wifi access in 2014? That is a ridiculous add-on cost that this hotel needs to reconsider immediately.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive O, Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Emiller86:

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel!

I am pleased that you enjoyed our guestroom and found our parking to be easily accessible.

Complimentary internet access is available in all of our public space areas. However, it is not complimentary in our guest rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.

Sincerely,


Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    358
    181
    83
    42
See reviews for
134
161
43
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Every year we do a trade show at this hotel. I find that the hotels are a tad smaller than most we stay at. Though, the beds are comfy and it is across the street from the convention center. That makes it very convenient. Room service is expensive though isn't it everywhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here for two days for a company conference. This historic hotel is completely restored to its original grandeur. It attached to the convention center. It was a little bit of a walk to the meetings through an underground tunnel. The meeting staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was really huge with high ceilings and very clean. My walk to the elevator was a country mile but other than that this was a great stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !!! They don't show room pics for a good reason.

I called them and they said the rooms had all been redone recently, that the rooms had large flat screens and free wifi. Based on that, I made the reservation. ROOMS ARE A TOTAL DUMP. Carpet is in bad shape, desk has warped wood from all the water damage, flatscreen TV is super small. Internet access costs each person $10-17 per day. Parking is another $18/day.

When you call them, good luck understanding them. This is an inner-city hotel with inner-city residents running it. It has the look at feel of the local bus station.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive O, Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Than you for posting this review and sharing your feedback on what appears to be a horrible experience at our hotel. We take all feedback seriously and I sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

I apologize if you felt our room product was outdated. We are looking forward to future renovations of all guest rooms which will include new amenities.

I would be remiss, however, if I did not mention that our hotel is not located in the inner city but is conveniently located downtown adjacent to the Convention Center and close to many of the fantastic sights and restaurants that St. Louis has to offer!

Thanks again for sharing your comments with us.

Sincerely,

Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I was very disapointed with my stay at this hotel. I was given poor information when I made reservations - which led to complications when I was trying to check in. The hotel did not apologize for the inconvience it placed on myself or my family. The hotel staff at the front was not friendly and when I asked for certain receipts for my business trip, I was given attitude and told that they could not accommodate my needs and were unwilling to listen to an explanation of what and why I needed what I did. The communication from the staff to the customer is awful -- there were multiple times that I was charged for unexpected items or the amount was different than what my receipt said or what I was told. I am upset that I paid the money I did for a very bad experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive O, Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Shannon L:

Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. We deeply regret that your experience at our hotel was not a pleasant one. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further as I would like to personally address the service failures that you encountered.

I can be reached directly at 314-621-9600, ext. 5832.

Sincerely,

Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was the host hotel for a convention I attended in April. So convenient to the Convention Center. Two minute walk, if that!

Starbucks in lobby major plus - and a real actual Starbucks, not a satellite stand.

Lobby and room were clean. Sleep was quiet until the tornado warming! (All was well!)

Fitness center was fine. On the small size for that size hotel, but still had no wait for a treadmill. Machines are lacking, but there are free weights in the adjacent "stretching room." There is also an indoor pool.

Had a late night snack in lobby bar which was comfortable and fun. Food served there til midnight. Staff was helpful and smiling all the time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive O, Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay! I am pleased that you found our hotel location to be convenient, staff friendly and the amenities to your liking.

We are looking forward to a future renovation that will include a rooms renovation and an upgraded workout facility. I certainly hope that you come back and visit us when the renovations are completed.

Thanks again for providing us your comments. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lovely hotel; however, some of the staff is adding small amounts onto your credit card when you eat in the restaurant !!! The amount that they put through was more than the amount of the original ticket with the tip. I called them and informed them about the problem, they said they would get back with me......that was a week ago, still no word. While the amount of overcharge was small and most people would not pick up on it......just think how many times they might be getting away with it in this busy hotel!!!!! Be careful, and be sure to leave no room for them to alter the ticket.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive O, Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay at our hotel and your dining experience in our restaurant! I am happy that you were satisfied with the decor of our hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the service failure that you encountered with the tip being added incorrectly to your credit card receipt. I understand that you spoke directly with our Director of Restaurants who has personally followed up on your concerns and processed the adjustment to your credit card.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. If you would like to contact me directly to share any additional concerns, I would be happy to speak with you. I can be reached directly at 314-621-9600, ext. 5832.

Sincerely,

Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Address: 800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 918
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel Saint Louis
Renaissance St. Louis Grand And Suites
Renaissance Saint Louis
Saint Louis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.