We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
houston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Service is Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel two times for our school field trip and they are awesome! The rooms are very nice, quiet, and well equipped. I have a very large group and the staff never fails to treat each and everyone of us with respect and great service, even the students! The only failing of the hotel is their Starbucks which seems to run on no service and rude employees. However since the hotel does not staff the Starbucks, there is nothing they can do about it. I highly recommend this place for the location and service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    356
    176
    81
    41
See reviews for
132
159
42
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeburg, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms excellent service and close to food and fun downtown. Stayed here for Mardi gras and was a great place to crash after the party. Hotel was more expensive than I thought was right but way safer than taking the risk of driving back home. Did not get the breakfast, $18 dollars for a buffet was too expensive for my budget.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The lobby is great, very pretty. The service was good upon check in. The service in the restaurant was horrible. The bed, really comfortable, loved the bed. The rooms were very "classic" luxery, not modern. Good amount of counter space. Great view of Washington Avenue. Room service was fast, even though the food was only okay. Room service prices seemed a touch steep. Mini fridge in the room was quite large and that was convenient. Great amount of closet space. Good location to stay if it is your first time in St. Louis.

Room Tip: 10th floor had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the St. Louis Renaissance recently for a business conference, and the staff was very friendly and professional. The rooms were also nice. In fact, nothing about the property was negative.

But we ended up being charged in error about a month after our stay, and after contacting the hotel accounting department, as well as Marriott corporate in Omaha, and they promised that somebody would get back to me to resolve the error. I never heard from anybody. I am currently disputing the transaction with our bank.

I haven't had any trouble with Marriott in the past, but this time really put a bad taste in my mouth!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday while attending a motorsports event at the Edward Jones Dome. The location is great, walking distance to the dome even in the cold weather. The rooms were small but comfortable, very nice bathrooms. The beds were comfortable, we slept great. The pool was awfully small and completely crowded with kids due to the event going on, but the gym was very well equipped. I believe that parking is $14/day but one of the guests we were with had Mariott rewards so they gave us all free parking which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good points: Great location for a ballgame and the Gateway Arch. Staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Comfortable bed. The lobby is grand and spacious. Good fitness center with pool and spa area. Good selection for buffet breakfast.......Not so good points: The hallways and rooms need a makeover.Rooms are small and couldn't quite figure out the decor. No WIFI in rooms!! This is a biggie...we couldn't be on our respective computers at the same time. There is a $14.95 charge per day for hardwire. A lot of people are complaining...but it's clearly stated on the web site. If you are a member of the Marriott Rewards program,however, it's free. All in all, we would stay there if we go for a ballgame.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Then off too Grand Central Station and over to the Arch. But to say that the St.Louis Subway's are worth the rides just for the trip around the city. It's route's are color coded to follow the routes, and the thing's you would like to visit while with your stay. The Rennissance Hotel Staff of Workes made the stay such a better week-end for my wife and i. Thanks-Jesse Lyles

Room Tip: Plan on staying at least three full days and leave on the fourth if one must ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Address: 800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 918
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Louis Grand And Suites
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel Saint Louis
Renaissance Saint Louis
Saint Louis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.