We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #65 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Plano, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a good hotel and in a good location. Hotel is neat and clean. Everyone is very nice, and seem to be well put together. The one thing I would say is they need to educate their concierge staff much better. They are not knowledgeable at all on the restaurants well at all. We have stayed at this hotel for business several times. When we have asked what is good in the area they have had not ideas. One woman told us to go to hooters. REALLY? This last time we were there a bellhop was at least smart enough to go behind the desk and pull out a sheet that the hotel had prepared with the local restaurants. Interesting enough something we never go from the concierge before. The hotel bar area could truly improve their wine list. Now the staff in the bar area are great. We have had the same server when there every-time and she is a hoot. I would recommend this hotel to say. However, they just need to make some improvements.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    375
    205
    91
    46
See reviews for
141
170
44
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would never stay anywhere else in the St Louis area. This hotel has been fantastic. Everyone who works there is willing to go above and beyond to help you out. The staff in the concierge lounge is very friendly, and the location can't be beat. Walking distance to the cardinals games, bars, restaurants, etc.
Hotel is very clean. I have stayed here on 7 different occasions so far, and will continue coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for the ABA conference and the rooms and service were very good. No complaints. The staff could be a little better, but not bad. The location is close to all the sports arenas and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon ,NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. I was in town for the Joyce Meyer Women's Conference held at the Edward Jones Dome. It was very convienient, only three blocks away. The hotel was clean and bright. The hotel staff were very knowlegeable and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when my wife was in St. Louis for a conference so our trip was half business half pleasure.

The good
- Very central in downtown blocks away from the arch, the dome and Busch stadium
- Helpful concierge desk with coupons and stuff for local feasts
- Comfortable beds.

The bad…the service was terrible…
- Every single towel had stains and the sheets had stains from some sauce – what quality control do they have?
- Internet fees have become a real pet peeve so any hotel that still tries to charge $15 for Internet automatically gets 1-2 stars downgraded.
- We had requested a King room ahead of time but in the end they gave us double beds. It would have been nice if they were able to do something for us since we did not get our room of choice.
- We got a room on the inside ring facing a brick wall which is a terrible view and would have preferred a room with a city view.
- The hotel would not extend our checkout even an hour. I know they are not obliged but it would have been nice since our flights did not leave till much later in the day.

This hotel is not anything special and I would recommend staying at another hotel in the area until they improve their service.

Room Tip: Get a room with a city view and not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A group of girls and I went to see Joyce Meyer. If you're not familiar with her conferences they bring in nearly 30,000 people. This hotel was utterly packed. The patience and professionalism with which they handled that tremendous influx of people was incredible.

Our rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The staff was always courteous and informative. We had quiet and cleanliness the entire stay. The gym was wonderful, I was thrilled to have a Starbucks in the lobby and we were walking distance to the Convention Center as well as many great restaurants.

One tip - make the trip to Pappy's BBQ. SO WORTH IT! Grab a cab and head over. The line is long though if you want to eat inside. We actually phoned in our order and then ate under a tree in the park next to the restaurant! It was fantastic.

Thank you to a fantastic staff for making a beautiful hotel even more comfortable. I'd definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor in a corner. It was completely silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We checked in on a Saturday. Valet parking was not up to par. The valet area was chaotic both checking in and checking out. Otherwise all of the staff bell, front desk, etc were wonderful and professional. Our room was clean and comfortable. Aveda products and really comfy bed. I was impressed at how quiet it was even though the hotel was bustling. We loved staying downtown and we had a great city view from our room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Address: 800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 918
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Louis Grand And Suites
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel Saint Louis
Renaissance Saint Louis
Saint Louis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.