We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wireless -- it's 2011!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #60 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
menlo park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No wireless -- it's 2011!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I cannot believe an alleged business hotel would not provide wireless in its rooms.
Bush league.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    358
    181
    83
    42
See reviews for
134
161
43
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Spent a few days there at a conference. Hotel itself was fine and elevators handled the crowds easily. I enjoyed the location and was interesting to watch the Cards fans filtering back after a game at nearby park. Layout of the meeting rooms was a bit confusing. Had people scrambling.

Room was fine, bed was great. One bad memory: I left my new $85 Mac laptop AC adapter plugged into wall under the desk. Called hotel the same evening after I returned home. Lost-and-found guy promised to check and call back. He didn't. I called again next day. New person promised to find it -- no problem, he said. He'll call back. He didn't. At least someone could call and say "Not there." By then, adapter was probably sitting in a pawn shop.

Didn't eat in hotel. Did find a really good, busy upscale grocery and deli about three blocks away. Be sure to ask for directions. Great place to grab lunch.

Strongly advise against trying the attractive cafes with outdoor tables that you'll see nearby and along the boulevards. Ate at two. Service at both was terrible, not only slow but self-serving. Food was nothing special. Waiter brusquely scolded us at one place for not telling him that we sat down at one of his overlooked tables. Sorry, mister. Your host sat us there. Then a homeless guy shuffled up and tried to scare us into giving him money. This was about 9 at night.

Life must be rough in downtown St. Louis.

Room Tip: Ask about walking distance from elevator to your room, if that matters to you. Some rooms are a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I have stayed at this property 4 times over 3 years. Each time, the porters, front desk staff and concierge staff have been very pleasant and helpful. It's also right across the street from America's Center, so it's very convenient for meetings and functions. That might be where the "pluses" end.

The rooms are average size, but you can tell it's in need of a refresh. Wallpaper is peeling in places, and everything in the room is just a little less than new, crisp and clean. Not dirty, just not quite what you would hope from a Renaissance. This has been consistent with each of the rooms I have stayed in.

The restaurant is horrendous. The food is really bad (literally received cold soup and a frozen piece of cheesecake), and the service staff leaves a LOT to be desired during non-buffet meals. What was to be a quick working lunch turned into a 2-hour ordeal because our server forgot to put in our order, got our order wrong when it was sent to the kitchen, and then disappeared for an hour after our entrees arrived. That said, there are some really great restaurants right outside of the hotel on Washington (Mosaic and the Over/Under, especially)...so at least you're not in a food desert.

Finally, the conference and meeting facilities within the hotel (not America's Center) are actually quite nice and convenient. However, the acoustics and sound are huge issues if there are 2 different functions going on in the ballrooms. An awards ceremony was turned into a dance club courtesy of some college function in the neighboring ballroom.

In all, I won't avoid this hotel, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Suites Tower are a little nicer, and have a lot of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I travel to St. Louis a lot and every time I come now I stay only at this hotel. I would not stay anywhere else. This hotel is a large 20 story full service hotel. It has a resturant, bar, and for those who are Marriott Reward members with status it has a lounge. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. This hotel is what you are looking for when you want a full service hotel. The Grand sits pretty much right in the center of downtown and within walking distance of most downtown venuse. I rearly use my car when I get to this hotel unless I need to get out of the downtown area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor facing out to the city for the views. Try not to get a room where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I attended a conference in this hotel in late November - early December. The staff is extremely pleasant, especially the bellhop and porters outside. The rooms are exceptionally small, especially given the high nightly rate. The bathroom shower curtain flailed wildly during every shower, and stuck to whomever was showering which was very disturbing given that I am certain it is not regularly cleaned. The only way to avoid this was to put the liner outside the shower, which caused a huge mess. The toilet ran constantly and the bathtub drain was broken. The latter two items were noticed by housekeeping and promptly fixed by maintenance. The convention rooms were adequate. The final night was an awards banquet with 1100 in attendance, and several professionals being honored. There was also a keynote speaker. The hotel booked a college holiday formal in the room next door, and their music was exceptionally loud. The music overpowered the speakers in our room, so most of the attendees were unable to hear the awards or the keynote. It was disrespectful to the somber note of the evening, and unfortunately nothing was done to remedy the situation. There is NO free wifi on the premises. The in-hotel food was tasty, but exceptionally slow. A colleague and I waited over 45 minutes for salad after we ordered. Overall, it is only average.

Room Tip: higher floors have an express elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, SD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was my first trip to St. Louis and this hotel was a great place to stay! It is right across the street from the America's Center Convention center and centrally located to the subway system and many wonderful restaurants. The front desk staff at the hotel were very friendly and our room was clean and updated. We were on the same floor as the hospitality room and were pleasantly surprised by the great breakfast to start the day and the appetizers and desserts in the evening. The staff in this room were very friendly and kept the food and drinks well stocked and the room and tables were very clean and comfortable! If you are attending a conference in St. Louis, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The only negative is there is no shopping in the downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hotel is well located in downtown St. Louis right by the convention center. I think I was in the older part of the hotel which did not have upgraded TVs and things like that, but the room was quite comfortable and the bed excellent (even for my bad back). The room was clean, and there was plenty of counter space in the bathroom. There are a number of restaurants in the hotel and I ate at the one in the lower level several times. Food was good and priced reasonably. There is a Starbuck's in the building which makes getting a light breakfast easy. I did not like that the hotel seems to like to pipe in music everywhere on the main levels and elevators, and while they at least pick decent music, it is rather louder than it should be. I also will point out that there is a cost for internet access in the rooms, and while this also includes free calls nationally, it is also a rip off since I carry a mobile and don't need that. It would really nice if this brand hotel, and its sister brands, would provide free internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Address: 800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 918
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel Saint Louis
Renaissance St. Louis Grand And Suites
Renaissance Saint Louis
Saint Louis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.