We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms, ok staff, seemingly bad neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Louis to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Louis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104 (Lafayette Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Waynesville, Missouri
1 review
“nice rooms, ok staff, seemingly bad neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hotel was.. ok. I am priority club and was not greeted as such. Front desk staff was also.. ok. The rooms were very nice and spacious! the beds were comfy and the bathrooms were clean. There is a shady gas station next door so traveling with 2 young children was sort of scary. one plus is that it did have a pool and a very nice hot breakfast.
If you are looking for a hotel that is in a central location this place was good. close to the zoo, sculpture park, arch, ect... all in all the best way to describe this hotel was it was simply ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    47
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
36
21
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed there last week, good rooms, nice hotel but unprofessional front desk staff, we asked for CAB, they arranged a lousy cab driver, who actually ripped us off by charging more money then he should have charged. This is our second time Hotel called for this price gauging cab. when i complained to front desk, they said this is their recommended CAB and management wants only this guy to be called.

Good Housekeeping staff, nice rooms but very unprofessional front desk and worst manager. She was very unreceptive, even for constructive suggestions. This hotel even charges for FAX, and higher room rates on regular basis. I stayed here before and thought this time it will be better service. Our stay was worst ever in any HOLIDAY INN.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ask for directions for the Lafayette Fire House Grill restaurant located on Park Avenue. A great place for dinner or lunch with a special theme.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Hotel and staff were great. breakfast was wonderful, though the breakfast area did not have much seating. Show some age and a few smells in the hallway, but overall in good condition. Perfect for a night or 2 and easy access via 2 turns to get to downtown and all the attractions. Parking are is enclose by wrought iron fence- and that was welcome since the neighborhood looked like a drive-by could happen at anytime with run down buildings, closed supermarket, etc. However i woudl definitely stay here if your intention is to be a tourist all day and just come back to the hotel for rest and breakfast- don't plan to walk anywhere at night.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the suites shich has a living room are with a sleeper loveseat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel was awful. Lightening had struck the place the night before and they had no computer so they didn't have my reservation. However, we got checked in and went to our room and everything was fine until I went into the bathroom and it was not cleaned. Dirty towels on the floor, dirty footprint in the tub. So had to go down and get another room and went to it and it was a smoking room. I always request non-smoking. So we had to move again. By this time an hour had passed and I was not happy. We finally got a room that was right. The neighborhood of this hotel was kind of scary and there are no fast-food or places to eat nearby. You have to drive to go anyway. Not close to downtown at all. I was worried about my new car in the parking lot all night, so I didn't sleep well. I will not stay here agin. Holiday Inn needs to look at this hotel and get it up to their quality and standards and do something with the neighborhood. The only positive things about this hotel was that the free breakfast was great and it was well stocked!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Location good. Was given a non-smoking room on a smoking floor. When I got out of the elevator the smell was horrible. Room smelled worse. Desk clerk was very nasty about changing room but finally did. Other staff was very nice. No working phones in entire hotel. They said it was from a lightening strike 10 days before. I stay at HI Expresses for the well heated pool and hot tub. The pool was freezing and therefore unusable and the hot tub covered with a wooden floor and a table.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here while attending a coaching clinic in St. Louis. The check-in was quick and easy, and the room was clean. Had to leave a day early, and the clerk allowed me to check-out early without a fee or hassle. Overall, I enjoyed this hotel very much! The parking lot is also gated.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Louis

Address: 2625 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Louis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located at the doorstep of downtown St. Louis, approximately 3 miles, located off Highway 44 West. The entire hotel has just underwent a complete renovation of all 63 guest rooms, meeting room, breakfast room, lobby, and swimming pool . The St. Louis area is home to many exciting entertainment, cultural, and shopping attractions. The Downtown St. Louis Holiday Inn Express, mere minutes from the Gateway Arch, is situated amid the finest in the area. Downtown's favorites such as Union Station, Cathedral Basilica, Gateway Arch, Gateway Riverboat Cruises, Busch Stadium, Scott Trade Center, Edward D. Jones Dome, Fox Theatre, the President's Casino, and Laclede's Landing are 3 miles from our property. The hotel is also five miles from the St. Louis Zoo, Grants Farm, Anheuser Busch Brewery, and 20 miles from Six Flags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Holiday Inn St Louis
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.