We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly Hotels Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Louis City Center Hotel to your Saves list
St. Louis City Center Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly Sheraton City Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Pet Friendly Hotels Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My 2 kids and I booked a room for the 15th of March through the 17th. It is a much older hotel and the pictures do not do them justice. When I arrived at about 3:30 p.m. They only had one person checking everyone in. Check in time is 3:00 p.m. by the way. We got to the room and there were only towels for 2 people when the reservation said 3. We were exhausted from our trip and crashed that night. When I rolled over to the night stand in a.m. I was slapped in the face with this horrible smell of animal urine by my night stand. The carpet was soaked with animal urine. I told the housekeeper. She handed me a spray bottle to spray the carpet. Yes, she let me spray it myself. lol. Then I went downstairs before we left for our attractions for the day and I told the downstairs staff. They said they would shampoo the carpet immediately. We were out almost 9 hours. When we got back there was this carpet blower blowing the carpet. It smelled worse. I went back downstairs to let them know. She said we will fix it, that they were booked solid and could not move me ( i didnt ask for that) and they sent someone up who sprayed the carpet again. They offered me free apps at the lounge. But they had no problem charging me full price for the room I booked, while staying in a room with the carpet smelling like urine and the attendant at the front desk said she couldn't stay in there with it smelling like that but it was ok for me to do it and pay full price. WOW. Do not stay in pet friendly hotels if you do not have any pets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tikac44535,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites for your recent hotel visit. Here at the Sheraton, Good or Bad, we believe that feedback is a gift. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to provide feedback on your experience. It is valued, conscientious Guests, such as yourself, that provide us the feedback necessary to continue to improve our products and services.

We are a Pet Friendly Hotel and we have Standard Operating Procedures in place to house guests with pets. When notified of pet presence, we appropriately clean those rooms upon departure. Unfortunately there are times when pets are brought into our guestrooms without our knowledge. I want to assure you that your comments have been shared with our Leadership Team, and steps have been taken to ensure that similar situation does not re-occur. As we continue to strive to exceed all guests’ expectations and want every guest to have an exceptional stay; your feedback is imperative for us to better understand the needs and concerns of our guests. Thank you once more for the gift of your feedback.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to Total Customer Satisfaction. If there is anything we can do further please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    222
    137
    87
    59
See reviews for
207
151
34
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last year and it is favorite. We stay here for a Stay Cation. It is great for walking to the Blues Hockey Games, Taste of St. Louis and other attractions are close by. The staff is pleasant from all. Our rooms were not ready at 3:00 check in. We waited in the Lobby for about 25 minutes. The front desk apologized and we understood. Our room was worth the wait. Very nice.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel for your recent hotel visit. We truly appreciate you staying us; and appreciate the time you took share you experience after your departure. It is valued conscientious Guests such as yourself that provide us the feedback necessary to continue to improve our products and services. It was gratifying to read that you rated all areas as Excellent. Your feedback will be shared with the Team to reinforce the fruit of their efforts.

As we continue to strive to exceed all guests’ expectations and want every guest to have an exceptional stay; your feedback is imperative for us to better understand the needs and concerns of our guests. Thank you once more for the gift of your feedback.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and hope that we have earned your future business. If there is anything we can do further please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The whole hotel staff was very pleasant and courteous. They made excellent recommendations for dining. Loved the hot tub!! Shower pressure was to die for! Loved the Sheraton robe they provided. They provide alot of services for the price and location. Felt very safe in this hotel!! I will stay there again, if given the opportunity! Great Job Sheraton Staff!!!

Room Tip: Loved the view from my room!! North side, great view of the Scotts Trade Center and the Metro-link...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Cphtrxtech

We are glad to hear that our staff was polite and courteous during your visit with us. We strive to provide the best customer service in the St. Louis area. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the extra amenities that make Sheraton unique compared to other hotels. Come see us again soon, and we are certain we will provide the same comfortable guest rooms, safe environment, and courteous staff you expect from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Sheraton City Center! The rooms were very large and clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower pressure was awesome! The front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant. Hotel is only a block away from the scott trade center!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Laura M,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our large, clean guest rooms. Our housekeeping and engineering teams work very hard to make sure your experience in the guests rooms is perfect. We are also glad to hear that the Front Desk team took excellent care of you during your visit with us. We are looking forward to the next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in eary march and was very pleased. The staff was very friendly answering any questions that I had and every time I needed something they made it happen quickly. The rooms are large with extra furnishings to make your stay more comfy. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel itself seemed very quiet on the guest floors, it was easy to get a good night sleep. They have a super fitness room with lots of equipment and a view of the city while you work out. They also have a nice indoor pool. The location is great with the bus stop and the metro link right across the street and the Scott Trade Center about 500 yards down the street. The only negatives would be that there is no microwave in your room and I thought the bathrooms could use an updating, but the rooms were clean and there was a frig. You have to buy internet use in your room but it is free in the loby. Over all I would recomend this hotel and would easily choose to sty here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites for your recent hotel visit. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your experience after your departure. It is valued conscientious Guests such as yourself that provide us the feedback necessary to continue to improve our products and services.

It was gratifying to read that you rated all areas as Excellent. Your comments have been shared with our Team to reinforce the fruits of their efforts. As we continue to strive to exceed all guests’ expectations and want every guest to have an exceptional stay; your feedback is imperative for us to better understand the needs and concerns of our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and hope that we have earned your loyalty and future business. If there is anything we can do further please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a real ince room. Very large, clean and located very well. I wouldn't say this was high end. Was just like the title says.. Clean, quiet and couldn't ask for more. Would stay again no questions asked.

Room Tip: Room 811 was very quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Tranedan,

We glad that you like room 811 and the you will visit with us the next time you are in the area. We assure you that your experience will be just as enjoyable. Thank you for such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Made a spontaneous trip to St. Louis, didn't get in til 2:00 am. The people were all very nice, and assisted with the surprise I was trying to pull off. Thought the room price was a little high, but the room was clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Ridinggirlinlakeo,

We are so happy to hear your surprise went well. Our staff is always willing to do everything they can to take care of our guests. We do hope to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis for the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Address: 400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.