We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Room, Bit Outdated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Louis City Center Hotel to your Saves list
St. Louis City Center Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly Sheraton City Center) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monticello, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Huge Room, Bit Outdated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here last June (2012). Our room was a huge suite, probably the largest room I have ever stayed in. It was a bit outdated as far as decor goes, but it was clean and had everything we needed at a great price. The beds were so comfortable and we had coffee in the room. The outside of the building was just beautiful how they painted it. The staff was great. The location was wonderful. We took the bus (the bus depot is right across the street) to the arch and then walked back. We found a wonderful surprise on the walk back - it was a park that had lots of cool light shows and art work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Meeshell89,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel for your recent visit. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Here at the Sheraton St. Louis, we believe that Feedback is a gift. It is valued conscientious Guests such as yourself, that take the time to provide feedback required to continue to improve our products and services.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and we hope that we have earned your loyalty and future business.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    222
    138
    87
    59
See reviews for
208
151
34
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Louis MO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent 1 night and received an easy early check in thanks to Maggie. Very pleasant staff...from parking attendant to check in. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Yes.. a "little" dated but not so much that it would stop me from staying here again. The location is outstaning within walking distance to Scott Trade....The Peabody and even Union Station. There are added fees for internet and parking but reasonable. Shop around all the sites to get the best deal. I got a great deal right from the hotels website. Ohh...the bed and pillows so comfortabale. Had a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of our guest’s feedback. We are thrilled to hear that our associates were able to take such good care of you. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper mattress which is available for purchase at sheraton.com, or you can of course always come back and enjoy one on your next trip to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked what I thought would be a nice room and got a spacious suite. Very clean and comfortable and the staff were wonderful. When the air conditioner went out, we got immediate attention and were moved to another suite within half hour. The downtown location was excellent as there was a lot going on at the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of our guest feedback. We were thrilled to hear that you were plesantly surprised with your stay. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to connecting with you on your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked a three night stay in St. Louis for a getaway with my girlfriend who is going to school in a nearby town. To say that we were greeted with open arms would be an understatement. The staff were wonderful during our entire visit. The room was spotless, and the bed made fresh each afternoon. The pillows were spectacular, and the mattress was great too. With the economy taking its toll on St. Louis, the staffing levels seemed to be cut back, but the folks that were there working made up for it. A giant thank you to the front desk staff, the bartender, and the housekeeping group for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back in a few weeks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that our team was able to make your stay a memorable one! We look forward to connecting with you and your girlfriend upon your next journey to St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is not right down but the suites are large and beds comfortable. The hotel furniture and decor are getting shabby and need updating. Coffee in the room and flat panel TV but with few non pay channels. Well lit rooms with desk and lots of room in the sitting area with a master bed but much tighter in the suites with two queen beds.
The food in the bar not so great, my son's blue cheese bacon burger came without the bacon but came quickly at 11:00pm. The burger was very dry and over cooked but my Cobb salad was awesome.
We paid $99 excluding taxes for the room which I felt was fair value.
Right by the metro and trolley to downtown so easy to get to the action.
Small fridge and sink in the room.
Pool only opened at 9:00 am and closed at about 10:00pm so we were unable to see or use it.
Maybe like a cheap Embassy Suites?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of our guest feedback as it is a way for us to improve our service. We are aware that some of our facilities are in need of updating. We hope to overcome some of these opportunities with the service that our team provides. Providing a consistently great product is important to our Chef and we hope that you give us an opportunity to deliver you a great meal in the future. We look forward to connecting with you and your family upon your next trip to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans La
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Quite pleasant stay. Club level accommodations with a "suite" upgrade. Friendly helpful staff. No problem with the valet service, the car was always there waiting regardless of the time of day. Only gripe would be that the club lounge was usually empty of water and snacks, and a little thin on the breakfast selections. The building itself was a old St. Louis warehouse, so the exterior pictures everyone sees are that of a quite amazing painted facade..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are please to hear that our hotel and our team were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Club Lounge we have taken steps to ensure that the Lounge is more adquately stocked. We look forward to connecting with you upon your next trip to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Sizeable, clean rooms. Very comfortable. Our windows face the inside of the building which is a little strange. Nice pool and whirlpool (like sitting in a washing machine!). The main thing is the staff have been brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. We are even more thrilled that our team was able to take great care of you and make this a good experience. We look forward to connecting with you upon your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Address: 400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.