We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Regular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin St. Louis to your Saves list
Westin St. Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Westin Regular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

As someone who regularly stays at a Westin, this one always does a great job. I stay here at least once a year when I drive up for a Blues game. The staff is always courteous and helpful, with a great concierge who can help with last minute dinner reservations (Thanks Mark). The rooms are always in order and clean.

  • Liked — It's close to just about everything that's a
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    235
    51
    27
    12
See reviews for
189
282
65
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

I picked the Westin as my hotel for a 4-night stay on Labor Day weekend. I was only able to book a 2-queen room online, so I wrote an email to the manager to try and get a king bed. He replied personnaly and arranged it for me. When we got there for our romantic getaway, they had it ready for us, and on a high floor just like I asked. The staff was very friendly, all of them! Even the parking attendant girl was super friendly.

The hotel is beautifully appointed and our room was really large: that bathroom itself was worth the price. Free Sartbucks coffe was a nice touch. The bed was comfy, but a bit hot. Maybe it was because of the feather bed underneath the sheet. Anyway, it was a better bed for "romance" than for sleeping, in our case. They charge $16 a day for WiFi Internet, a real racket. All luxury hotels should now understand that they should include free Internet in the rooms. I mean, even bargain hotels are starting to offer it for free. Get with the program, Starwoods.

The room service was delicous (if pricey) and the television and movie selection was good. Try the crab cakes or toasted raviolis! The TV was too old and set up too low, we kept having to push down the blankets to see the screen while watching in bed.

We went for a Cardinals game and the stadium is ridiculously close, it's a 3 minutes walk. The Arch is also very close and a must-see.

it was a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — the pricey Internet access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

I Recently stayed at the Westin while in town for a Cardinals baseball game. The Westin is located right next to the new stadium which made it very convenient. The staff was excellent and made our stay very memorable. The beds are very comfortable and each room has a great bathroom with a wonderful shower. The rooms were clean and quiet. The on premise restaurant/bar was especially nice. The staff was very friendly and very accomodating to our needs. The breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced for a hotel. I have stayed in many hotels in St. Louis and I have not found one that is any better.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed one night at the Westin St. Louis while attending a business meeting. The hotel is beautiful, modern and clean. Our King Deluxe room on the third floor was exceptional -- beautifully designed, gorgeous bathroom with glass shower and separate, large tub. Tons of marble and blonde wood everywhere. Extremely comfortable bed, as is typical for Westin. Also great location if you are doing business downtown or attending a Cardinals game. We did have two problems with the front desk, although neither caused significant inconvenience. First, when we arrived at 10 a.m. we had to wait for our room, which we expected. We were told it would probably only be an hour. The desk clerk asked for a cell phone number and said that they would call as soon as a room was available. I was already in my meeting, but after waiting more than two hours, my husband checked with the desk and our room was available but we were never called. No explanation as to why they didn't call. When we checked out, we realized that the hotel had failed to charge us for parking, so we asked them to check on that to see if it should be added to our bill. It took 20 minutes and much fumbling around and going back and forth to the back office before we were finally given a corrected invoice. In my opinion, if they had a problem with their invoicing system and couldn't resolve it in a few minutes, they should have comped our one night parking charge. Everything else in the hotel was outstanding and we would definitely return. They just need a little improvement at the front desk.

  • Liked — Beautiful, contemporary rooms and lobby
  • Disliked — Front desk service could use some improvement
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

I really like the look and location of this hotel. It is centrally located in downtown St Louis, right across from the Cardinals' ballpark. The rooms are very modern and well appointed. Tonight I got home from the ballgame I attended with my clients, was exhausted and really wanted a soak in the tub. I began to fill up the bathtub while I checked my email. I came back and noticed hair on the waterline of tub. Like someone had shaved their legs in the tub and the tub had not been cleaned. Then I decided I would not take a bath and would prefer a shower (they have a separate shower). So I turn on the water there and get a towel. The towels also have hair on them. Longer hair. And it's all over the shelves where the towels are kept and all over the towels. Dirty bathrooms are probably my number one pet peeve at hotels. Do you really want to think that someone was in that bathtub the night before you were? I prefer blissful ignorance. Hard to be blissfully ignorant when there is hair in the tub. I have stayed in several hotels in St Louis (and around the country) and have found that the dirty bathroom is pervasive. I don't know what can be done other than to complain to the hotel management, which I have done. Maybe the trip advisor audience can start a clean bathroom crusade!

  • Liked — location, style
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We needed a night out after having our first baby. So we decided to splurge and stayed at the Westin because of all the great reviews. To our surprise, the room was very clean, large, and modern. The heavenly bed was absolutely heavenly. The bathrooms were very spacious. We were extremely happy with our stay. We got the stadium view room. The only thing I did not like was the room service, for one, the prices were ridiculous for the amount of food you get plus they add $3 delivery charge and 20% gratuity. We paid $20 for a slice of apple pie. The Clark Street Grill was just ok, service was poor. We had trouble using our AAA code that we booked online, they didn't show we used it when we checked in. They did however, honor it, but it was sort of a hassle. Lastly, parking is $15 a night!!!! I was shocked by that. It was a nice getaway but something we wont do all the time. The staff is excellent, the rooms are excellent, and the hotel is excellent. All in all, it was worth it.

  • Liked — The rooms were very spacious and comfortable
  • Disliked — No cable tv or local channels, parking was $15 a night, and room service was way overpriced
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I like the Westin brand in general, but this hotel truly is top-notch. I rarely post reviews to TripAdvisor, which is sad because I find it so useful, but after my Westin experience, I promised myself I would. I enjoyed my entire experience at the Westin St. Louis. I was upgraded to a ballpark view room, which was fantastic. I even had a partial view of the St. Louis arch and the fireworks (from the Levy?) on Friday night. The room was very modern, clean, fresh, comfortable, and LARGE, as was the bathroom, which was just beautiful...the photos I've seen almost do it justice.

I wish I'd tried the grill downstairs (it looked like a great place) but chose to have room service instead. The service was great as well. The staff were polite and helpful without exception.

One thing I REALLY enjoyed was the proximity to the Metrolink station (just outside and around the corner...) While it doesn't go EVERYWHERE, it went nearly everyplace I needed to go. My employer reimburses for taxi expenses, but I preferred to take the Metro rail since it was so convenient and I didn't have to worry about getting out cash every time I wanted to go somewhere. (I purchased a 7-day pass for $19 at the airport on arrival, which was less than I would have paid for one taxi ride to the hotel. The train left me virtually on the "doorstep" of the Westin...Ballpark station) The Westin is is two stops from the convention center (I went to and from every day of my stay) and runs frequently. I also took the metrolink to and from the hotel from the airport because it was so convenient.

The only downside of my stay was that the Cards were on the road, so no baseball game :( On the other hand, the ballpark view room wouldn't have been available as a complimentary upgrade had they been in town!

My compliments to Westin management. You have a beautiful property in St. Louis and excellent staff to go with it.

  • Liked — Fresh, new hotel with great view (ballpark side)
  • Disliked — The area immediately surrounding the hotel seemed fairly deserted during the day
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.