We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. Louis

Save Saved
You added Westin St. Louis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin St. Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2006

We just got back from the Westin last weekend and are so glad that we stayed there! I like Westin\ hotels because of the Heavenly Bed but this hotel had even more to offer! The staff from the moment we arrived was fantastic by being extremely courteous and helpful. Our room was great and very spacious. The bathroom was huge with a separate tub and glass enclsoed shower with good water pressure, huge window, and long granite top sink with plenty of fluffy towels and bathrobe. The restaurant was also very good. We had breakfast and dinner there. It is also a great location, directly across the street from the new stadium and close to good downtown restaurants. We even had a view of the arch. If we ever need to go back to St. Louis, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    194
    46
    22
    8
See reviews for
153
228
58
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

Stayed here while in town for a conference. Agree that Alan the concierge was great, as were all the staff we encountered. Really nice hotel. Had a great corporate rate. A little noisy on the stadium side of the hotel (odd numbered room) since they are working around the clock to complete the stadium, but the view was great on that side. Loved it. Will be my first choice on future trips to St. Louis.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

We went to St. Louis for our one year anniversary and stayed at this Westin because of the reviews. The hotel is so beautiful. The rooms are really nice. We had the most amazing view of the new stadium being built and the arch. If you land at the airport, you can take the train/metra thing right to the hotel. I mean it stops at the hotel (underground of course so, you don't see it). The concierge (Alan) was absolutely amazing he gave us all the tips we needed and we really had an easy time because of him. They kept giving us maps of downtown with the areas circled of where we were going and how to get there. When the stadium opens this place is going to be so booked all the time because it is litterally across the street from the stadium. Bad points...Not that there is a lot, but there were a few. No vending machines anywhere (they want you to use that mini-bar and a soda out of it is $3.25 for a 12 ounce can). There isn't a huge amount of things to do in downtown (shopping wise). I would call ahead and see if you can rent a car out of the hotel (if you're flying) that way you can take the train to the hotel and not have to pay airport taxes on your car rental.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

We just spent the night at the Westin and had a great time. The bed and beding were heavenly (as advedrtised). Just a few things kept this visit from being extra ordinary. The Ergonomic chair had funky stains on it and the quality of the TV didn’t match up with the quality of the room (like wearing dress socks and running shoes, it just looks out of place). Beyond that, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location cant be beat. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

We stayed at the Westin Hotel in St. Louis for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed 2 nights, checking in on Wednesday, 3/1/06 and out on Friday, 3/3/06. THIS PLACE IS SUPERB!!! Beginning with Mary in Reservations and ending with Arthur a "Champion Concierge".

We went during the week and opted for a room on the club level which is WELL WORTH THE EXTRA COST OF THE ROOM. It pays for itself and the service is 2nd to none in the lounge that only club level guests have access to. The concierge staff were all excellent and went out of their way to provide us with information so we could plan our stay and activities to suit our personal preferences.

We got lost when we arrived in town and Arthur stayed on the phone with me guiding me through 4pm traffic to get us to the hotel and was waiting outside as we pulled up. Jim another conceirge provided us with "better" directions to the zoo so we could manuver around the construction. The Metrolink is just outside the hotel courtyard and runs to most of the city's popular areas at a minimal cost. We did not need our vehicle and will probably fly next time as we definately plan a return visit. We fell in love with this hotel and this city.

NOTABLE STAFF:
Mary - Reservations
Arthur - Concierge
Keith-Valet
Jim - Concierge
Helen(Heh-Leen) - Concierge/front desk
Deanna - Bartender Clark Street Bar & Grill
Esther - Hostess Clark Street Bar & Grill
Melissa - Wait person Clark Stree Bar & Grill

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2006

The Westin St. Louis is absolutely TOPS !

First, this hotel combines courtesy and efficiency: I called for a quiet room location, and it was assigned. Period. No need to change rooms for the requested location--the original room assigned was quiet, just as needed and requested.

Same with same room-service: delivery is within 30 minutues. Period. No slippage on timing-- and the food is good, especially the breakfasts, served, by the way, on nice moveable tables (rather than on the more awkward trays, used in many hotels). Plus the service staff is very pleasant and helpful.

"Heavenly" bed and bedding fit the description and Westin-copyright ! Excellent cotton sheets, both thin and thick version of down-filled coverlets, great range of feather pillows, and excellent matress.

Bathrooms are beautifully equipped--and with a very nice feature: the towels are folded and on shelves (not left handng, until one needs/wants to hang and dry a towel). Glas-enclosed, separate shower--and large tub.

And more: a roomy desk with (2!) comforatable chairs--and wireless internet service at a fee (ok, this one feature needs improvement to free wireless).

And oh yes, plenty of glasses--both wine glasses and water glasses, with coasters. Much appreciated !

The hallways and public areas are spacious and quiet. Even when the hotel was nearly totally booked, peace, quiet, and tranquility prevailed.

What a GREAT PLACE !

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth City, Missouri
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

My husband and two teenage daughters returned to stay here (our 6th stay) which was comped by the Westin due to the less than stellar experience we had during our summer stay. Even though the hotel was only a third full, we were given a room with the smallest bathroom (one vanity) that we had ever seen--is this what travelers booking on hotwire get? It is amazing to me that even though the hotel wanted to make it up to us, not even their deluxe standard or upgrade was given us as starwood preferred guests (we currently have 5,000 spg pts.) and like to patronize this chain when we travel. My recent stay at Weston-Essex House, NYC was extremely favorable. Overall, the location cannot be beat and the room service was very prompt and professional. Definitely, staying here off-season is preferrable to staying during the hectic summer months during the Cardinals season.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. Louis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.