We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin St. Louis to your Saves list
Westin St. Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paducah, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
“What a stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I would like to say this was the best stay at any hotel i have ever been to. I was greeted first by David with valet. I could write the whole review on them because it set the standard for the stay. We got our stuff they asked if they could help i was fine doing it myself but i should have them do it too much stuff for two people. My wife and I went in and checked in and we booked a standard king, well to our delight they said that we were booked for a junior suite, wow wait sorry WOW!!!! Didnt even need to ask for an upgrade because they went ahead and did it Really Awesome!!!! Went up to room and it could have been the Presidential Suite because it felt like it. We relaxed in the room and decided to eat at the restaurant in the hotel, Clark Street Grill, some of the best food I have eaten, if you go and is still on the menu, eat the scallops they dress them with a bacon and apple chutney my mouth is druelling because i want to have it again. Next day went out in the city it is right beside the metrorail station, first seemed shady but good security. Came back and wanted to go further around city so we went back to hotel to get our car. Valet service not just went to get the car but they RAN to get the car awesome service. Cant say enough cant wait to go again. Thank you so so so much for your awesome service Westin St. Louis

Room Tip: When booking let them know about an anniversary they may upgrade you llike they did for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Westin St. Louis to celebrate your anniversary! I will share your comments with David and the valet staff and thank them for their outstanding service. I'm glad we were able to accomodate an upgrade for your special ocassion. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    258
    57
    27
    14
See reviews for
210
307
67
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed over the first weekend of March using 2 Living Social vouchers, and I must say I would stay again without a discount.

The initial experience upon check-in made me feel like "oh great, another Living Social couple." They were polite, but not the its so great you're here greeting expected from a Westin. But after that, everything was outstanding.

The room was huge with a bathroom beyond belief. There was a seperate tub from the shower, and both were big enough for 2.

Our voucher included free drinks and apps, so we visited the bar both nights. Usually the portions at downtown hotels never seem to match the price, but that is not the case here. We couldn't finish what we ordered Friday night, so we adjusted accordingly for Saturday night; and both nights they were quite tasty.

We didnt get a chance to chat with Andy (Fri), but had a blast with Dawn and Esther on Saturday (along with the bar/restaurant mgr that night). They all made us feel very welcome and took excellent care of us.

This place has a Metro stop right outside the entrance, and the 3rd base entrance to Busch Stadium is across the street from the rail entrance. Great location!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the review and choosing Westin St. Louis for your recent stay! I will share your comments with Andy, Dawn and Esther and thank them for their personal and welcoming service! We stand ready for your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
268 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The problem with converting old factories & warehouses into hotels is that you'll have to compromise on something.
In the case of the Westin STL, the compromise comes with the design of the place....it's a maze!
If you're trying to get to the gym or staying in the adjoining part of the hotel, getting around is a bit of a mind bender.
After having been moved to a bigger room- as my first one smelled of a chemical floor cleaner (and a stunning vis a vis onto a wall), I had a pretty decent view and was quite content.
The usual amenities in the bathroom were nice (though sparse when compared to the Four Points I was coming from in NYC SoHo).

Internet connectivity didn't work very well (a question of access point density that's all) AND though the policy that the 11bucks a day was PER DEVICE was waived at checkout (iPhone, work pc and personal PC for 33 bucks a day?)- that policy needs to be reconsidered imho.

The gym was being renovated- though when completed I am sure it will be very nice.

Overall, the service was detail oriented and the team clearly focused on keeping the customer satisfied- which I can only salute.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the review! We sincerely appreciate your candid feedback and the opportunity to continually grow and enhance our guests' experience. The Westin St. Louis has a rich architectural background and history. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and and the service of our staff. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Westin St. Louis is one of the most unique and accommodating hotels I have visited. From the beginning there is a smiling face or two to greet you, help you park, and assist you with your check-in process. All the staff were extremely helpful. It does take a bit to find your room as the hotel winds around and some of the rooms are accessed across a breeze-way on one of the floors. Once in the room, the accommodations are exceptional. The bathroom is of spa quality and the bed is quite literally heavenly. One small downside I found was that there were no outlets next to the bed. Since my cell phone is my alarm clock, it was a little annoying to have to plug it in and leave it on the floor. One of the best features of this hotel is the Clark Street Grill housed on the lobby level. Every meal is exceptional and the servers are wonderful. In particular a server by the name of Rod Chamberlain provided friendly and attentive service at one of my breakfasts. Although I stayed in the winter, I can only imagine how wonderful it would be to stay there in the spring as the Cardinal's baseball stadium is literally across the street from the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for the review and recommedation! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff particularly friendly and helpful! I will share your comments with Rod and thank him for his personal service. The Westin St. Louis does offer unique rchitectural features throughout the hotel including a three-floor sky bridge connecting our two buildings. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As someone who works in hospitality, I am very particular about which hotels I stay with when I travel. Our stay at the Westin was nearly perfect. The room was in mint condition and spacious. With two young women using the bathroom, having a double sink with plenty of outlets was amazing. The shower head was luxurious and the towels were soft and cozy. The only issue we had was with parking. When we returned at 2am, the small upper lot was filled and we were unaware there was a lower lot. We stopped by the front desk and they directed us to the proper location for parking. However, the trek in the rain (twice) wasn't much fun. The hotel is at a great location- right by Busch Stadium- so we were fortunate enough to share in the celebration of Stan Musial's life the weekend we visited. The staff were great for us, especially Yvette on front desk. Thanks for an incredible stay, Westin!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and your candid feedback! Yvette is certainly one of our star performers and I will thank her for her service! I am delighted that our hotel and met your expectations! I appreciate your feedback regarding the parking and allowing us the opportunity to continue to improve our service! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was very satisfied with my stay at the Westin. The staff was very friendly and easy to work with. It has a great location and the hotel was absolutely amazing. The room and bathroom were huge and very clean! The beds were also very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in downtown St. Louis. I know I will definitely be back to stay at the Westin again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives to personalize every stay and exceed each expectation. I look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I travel to downtown StLouis I cross my fingers that this property has rooms available.

The staff is always more than helpful, from the valet parking team, the front desk staff, the bar and restaurant staff, and housekeeping.

The rooms here are huge, the wireless internet is speedy, and you can get here via the metro train system from the airport for under 5 bucks !

It's a few blocks from the main downtown area of StLouis, where there are some great dining spots, across the street from the Cardinals ballpark, and a short jaunt to the Arch.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty! We are conveniently located next to the MetroLink rail system as well as several dining and shopping options in the area. We are delighted that you choose Westin when your travels bring you to St. Louis and we stand ready for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch
#7 of 124 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 124 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.