We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Louis Westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. Louis

Save Saved
You added Westin St. Louis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin St. Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 122 hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“St. Louis Westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found this hotel to be an excellent choice. Convenient downtown location, across the street from the ball park, 6 blocks from the arena, across the street the metro link (we used from the airport to downtown-20 min, $2.00 ride). A nice short walk to the Arch. The food was great, service was great, staff was friendly. Would definately stay again. The room and bath were immaculate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review! I'm thrilled you found us to be an excellent choice! I've shared your comments with our associates and personally thanked them for offering attentive, friendly service. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    175
    35
    22
    6
See reviews for
133
202
54
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The circumstances of being “stuck” in St. Louis when Hurricane Sandy hit the northeast coast turned a three-night stay into a totally unexpected seven-nighter that began as a major inconvenience and ended as a relaxing impromptu and memorable mini vacation. The organization I work for had just concluded a three-day around-the-clock business meeting at the Westin St. Louis, and I was SO exhausted and ready to go home. At meetings’ end, I checked out and after an all-day wait in the airport, “Sandy” had plans for colleagues and I to stay put due to cancelled flights. This is where the Westin staff made our extended stay so pleasant. We were all promptly re-booked and able to check-in without delay and my preference for a low-floor close to street level and gym was accommodated immediately.

After re-checking in, the Clark Street Grill staff warmly welcomed our party for a late dinner. The ‘Grill’ was such a positive experience with regard to its menu and service which together set it apart from the competition. Dining healthy on the road – and having vegetarian-friendly choices – is important to me and I’ll start by saying the salads and fresh veggies there are Awesome! Room service is prompt, courteous and friendly, and the oatmeal (which is amazing!), fruit smoothies (made to order), and Starbucks were an awesome treat to look forward to each morning!

The old brick building is aesthetically beautiful with 1890s character, having been converted from the turn-of-the-century Cupples Station railroad complex. Guest rooms are quiet, comfortable and well-appointed for a business or vacation stay.

The hotel – located right next to Busch Stadium – is in a prime location for walking to lunch/dinner, seeing historic sites, shopping, and walking, running or biking along the Mississippi at the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial/Gateway Arch park.

Hotel gyms are usually an afterthought, but not at Westin Saint Louis! I was pleased to discover how complete the gym was with its expansive free-weight room to complement the adjoining aerobic/cardio/weight machine rooms. Have to say, I was completely in awe of the fact that the free-weight room had an “old school” t-bar rowing contraption that I haven’t seen in years…needless to say, I had to rib my gym at home for not having one of these gems!

I would highly recommend this hotel to other organizations for its comfortable and spacious meeting rooms, cordial and accessible information technology and hospitality staff and central U.S. location and proximity to the airport.

Lastly, a sincere thanks to the hotel and Clark Street Grill staff for the professional and personable, warm, homespun hospitality. Their attention to the small things and details of the day-to-day is where they excel to make this a 5-Star stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for submitting such a detailed review, filled with compliments! While I wish the circumstances surrounding your extended visit could have been different, I'm delighted you felt relaxed and at home. I have shared your comments with our associates and personally thanked them for providing such attentive service, especially during a stressful time for you. I appreciate your 5 star rating and recommendations! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location and the train to the airport is right next door.
The rooms have high ceilings and are nicely appointed. Great bed. It is near the baseball stadium and I was told that it gets noisy on game nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just steps away from many attractions, dining venues as well as sports venues. We look forward to hosting you again whenever your travels bring you back to St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love this hotel. It's my second visit (for work) and I'll have to say I looked forward to coming back. The staff is incredibly friendly plus the rooms are clean and spacious. I normally assume hotel food is going to be just okay, but the restaurant is pretty good (and healthy) - especially breakfast:). Thanks to Rod C. for the awesome service today - it's nice to feel taken care of when you have to travel for work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review! I have personally spoken with Rod to thank him for providing such attentive service. I've also shared your comments with our culinary staff in the Clark Street Grill. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this Hotel! We got married that day and they rolled out the red carpet for me and my Husband!!!! (On a Thursday!) from the bell boys who brought my cell phone to me when they found it in our car when they parked it to the bartender who paid for our drinks to the bell boy calling the restaurant we had reservations at that evening to let them know it was a special night (Ruth Chris's) ! We travel a lot and have never had such amazing service! Will definitely go back and encourage others to do the same!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you comments! We hope to part of your annual celebration for many years to come. I have personally thanked our staff for helping to make your wedding night so memorable. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It was a pleasure staying at The Westin the past weekend. From the moment we arrived until we left everyone on staff was pleasant, extremely helpful and always with a smile. The room was quite large with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in...heavenly. I must say that Dawn Graham, in the Clark Street Bar and Restaurant was amazing; she was bartender, waitress, the whole nine yards, and no matter how busy she was she went out of her way to accommodate all of our group.Thanks Dawn! I highly recommend The Westin, St. Louis!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation! I have personally shared your comments with our staff, and especially thanked Dawn for being so attentive to your group. We stand ready to welcome you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked this hotel to attend a convention that was held at the Edward Jones Dome in downtown. The walk to the dome was pleasant and only took about 18 minutes. A taxi ride to the dome was only 3 minutes and cost $10. Either way the location was very convenient for me.

We took the train from the airport which drops off at Stadium exit which is right across the street from the hotel. Very convenient and cost $4 per person and took about 30 minutes once on board. Wait time varies between trains so add on about 10 minutes.

The beds are listed as "heavenly beds" and I must say they were. The room was exceptionally clean and the beds very comfortable with crispy clean sheets. The room decor was pleasant and relaxing. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub and a large shower with double shower heads. We opted to skip housekeeping service during our two night stay and received a $5 voucher to use in the restaurant. I liked this option.

The restaurant was nicely decorated with a bar portion and a restaurant portion. The bar section is dimly lit for those who prefer lighting. The service was slow but the food was good. Breakfast buffet was very good but a bit expensive. I ordered an egg-white omelet with broccoli and cheddar that came with my buffet. It was excellent.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who enjoys the "little extras" and doesn't mind paying a "little extra" to have them.

Room Tip: From our room we could see the Arch. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! Our convenient location allows for walking to many venues and attractions in downtown St. Louis. I'm thrilled to know that you were left feeling renewed by our Heavenly beds! We do offer the Make a Green Choice program which is rewarding for our guests and the environment alike. I have spoken with our Restaurant manager who has addressed your comments concerning the speed of service with our associates. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin St. Louis Hotel
Westin St Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis
Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#10 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. Louis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.