We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin St. Louis to your Saves list
Westin St. Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this Westin! The interior design of the lobby and rooms is unique and very comfortable. We used the gym and had the yummy buffet breakfast on Sunday which had exceptional omlettes. You will feel pampered but it isn't fussy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    197
    48
    24
    8
See reviews for
154
236
59
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The property was lovely, our room was very comfortable.
The quality of the staff was what made our stay at The Westin in St. Louis most memorable.
From the greeting that we received upon arrival to the front desk, to food and beverage and to our departure, we were made to feel very special.
While all of the staff were pleasant and attentive, two were exceptional.
A special thank you from both of us to Ben Leonard and Gary Cason for making our stay that much more enjoyable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for a conference that coincided with several huge conferences and the U2 concert, which was held in Busch Stadium next door. Downtown St. Louis was fully booked and bursting at the seams. Despite that, the Westin's check in and check out literally took less than 1 minute. It is so nice to arrive at our hotel, hot, tired, and not have to stand around to check in.
Our room was lovely, functional, and utterly quiet. (Even during the U2 concert.) Couldn't have asked for anything more. When we booked our room, there was an option to add breakfast to the room charge for far less than you will pay if you eat in the hotel restaurant, or any other nearby option. I would suggest you check it out. The breakfast option entitles you to the Ultimate Breakfast, a hot/cold buffet, plus grill options. We were glad we took advantage of it.
The Westin, although across downtown from the convention center area, is only a 10 minute walk from it, and was something we did numerous times, even though the taxi fare is only $6-7.
Families with kids who might want to use a pool for them should look elsewhere, as they do not have one.
Joe Buck's, a hamburger, bbq joint, is 1 block away, and has surprisingly good food, with good service.
There does not seem to be a shuttle to the airport, which would have been nice, as the taxi fare to downtown is around $35.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Westin St. Louis is a phenomenal hotel. I am an area resident and after much searching chose the Westin for my wedding weekend stay.

Pros:

First off the check-in was quick and painless. I gave the receptionist my name and ID and had my keys in less than a minute. I couldn't believe it was so fast. I actually stood there waiting for something else to do for a few seconds, even after the receptionist told me I was done and could go to my room. Staff was very courteous throughout the stay.

The rooms are very spacious, with high ceilings. There is plenty of lighting in the room and the decor is very tastefully done. My wife was very pleased with my room selection. The bed and comforter were amazingly comfortable. This was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept it. The mattress was very soft, as were the sheets. The curtains are also capable of blocking out 99% of the sunlight during the daytime, helping us to sleep longer.

The bathrooms are AMAZING. Very spacious. I love the separate bath and shower. The shower tile is very well done. Showers have dual heads, which made for great showers. I turned one onto the massage setting and left the other normal. There was one robe in the room, though it wasn't as soft as I would have liked so I did not wear it.

Cons:

There were not too many cons of staying in the Westin. The only one being the high parking costs. Self-parking was $17 per night, I think. Valet is more. There are a few parking meters just out front, but not many - maybe 9 or 10 spaces.

Also the view from our room was not great. Even though the Cardinals stadium is nearby, my view was a parking garage. Not exciting, but not that big of a deal.

All-in-all, I enjoyed my stay at the Westin very much. Would stay there again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

When you go out of town for a big event, U2 concert, things are on a schedule. The last thing you want is to be sitting at the bar in the clothes you traveled in while waiting for the room that you should be in already. I don't care that the hotel was full last night, nor do I care that people have been waiting for a room since ten this morning. Really I do not want anything besides here is your room sir. I was given the option of showering in the gym, what is my option for sleep, sprawled out on a luggage cart? I have stayed here before with no problems but I also wasn't on a schedule then. My advice is if you really, really want a room when they tell you it will be ready get ready for a nice gym shower and a heavenly luggage cart.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We have stayed many times in St. Louis for ballgames. This hotel blows the rest out of the water. My son and I stayed for a July 4th ballgame. Room was big, tall ceilings, and had a view of the ballpark. Bathroom was huge. Service was excellent. Breakfast buffet was well-stocked. The hotel has a nice gym with a dedicated weightlifting room. The staff was very well trained and outgoing. Kudos to management of this hotel, I would not stay anywhere else in St. Louis. Oh yeah, free internet service.

Room Tip: Double Queen with stadium view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

As a long term business traveler I tend to stay with a popular competitor so when my favorite hotel was fully booked I stayed here by default and was pleasantly surprised byt what I found. The business suites are well appointed and if you have to work in your room you have plenty of room to spread out. My room came with a nice living area. The bathroom had a huge walk-in shower and a spa tub. If you have the luxury of taking a break and the local team is in town the Cardinals stadium is right across the street. The hotel restaurant was great and my package deal came with the breakfast buffet which included lots of healthy choices. The restaurant staff really look out for you and the service was excellent. The fitness center is the best I have ever come across in my business travels with plenty of cardio equipment so you don't have to wait for the equipment. It's a bit out of the way from Downtown relative to other hotels, but its worth the extra walk to get there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.