We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Music in a Magnificent Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Symphony Orchestra

St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
718 N. Grand Blvd., Powell Symphony Hall, Saint Louis, MO (Grand Center / Midtown)
314-533-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 150 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Symphonies
Attraction Details
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Marvelous Music in a Magnificent Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The St. Louis Symphony Orchestra continues to reach new levels of performance. Last night they offered Beethoven's 4th Piano Concerto and Brahm's 2nd Symphony. Robertson's personality and talent on the podium commands attention as he holds the orchestra in the palm of his hand (the one without the baton). And Radu Lupu, the pianist from Romania is absolutely amazing. I don't remember anyone ever playing that concerto so effortlessly. During intermission I stood in the balcony and marveled at the beautiful lobby. An evening at Powell with the SLSO is a must-do event in St. Louis.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It will rock your world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I went on a lark and sooo enjoyed the musicians and music. Live symphony music is very engaging and relaxing. Don't miss this world class Symphony when in St. Louis.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been there thrice and I have loved it everytime! The acoustics are great and the place is grand but not flashy unlike the fox..if I had more money I would go more often.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you have a chance to hear this World Class Orchestra, dont hesitate. They have been around since 1880 and the quality and tradition is still there every week! Dress up, get some dinner, go to the concert, have a dessert and a glass of wine in the intermission...Make a great evening for yourself and someone you love! You might as well be in Paris :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Real symphony in a small market city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Is the the Berlin Philharmonic? No, but you will enjoy your night at Powell hall and it won't empty your wallet. Not a bad sat in the house and there are many good restaurants nearby to enjoy a pre show meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;