We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mundane and weak exhibits;” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Missouri History Museum

Missouri History Museum
Lindell & DeBaliviere, Saint Louis, MO 63112-0040
314 746 4599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 330 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Missouri History Museum preserves St. Louis and Missouri history through exhibitions, programs, research, publications, archives and permanent collections. Visitors discover stories of Lewis & Clark and westward expansion, the 1904 World's Fair, the brewing industry, Lindbergh and aviation history, St. Louis' importance to the civil rights movement, and more. Long-term exhibitions include "Seeking St. Louis" and "1904 World's Fair: Looking Back at Looking Forward." Visit the Museum's website for information on special exhibitions.
St. Louis, MO USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mundane and weak exhibits;”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Occasional good traveling exhibits; semi-permanent exhibits are not well done, not particularly interesting; not of current interest; Missouri in the Civil War exhibit had a number of misspellings on the plaques and some incorrect information; Recent disclosure of huge funds wasted on the key administer coupled with local spending scandals

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    106
    29
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Republic, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tons of entertaining exhibits for the whole family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I visited the History Museum with my husband and our 2-year-old daughter. My husband and I loved the set-up and the availability of random facts (not just the same information that you will find in a high school social studies book!) I was very surprised at all the "hand-on" exhibits and it was more than enough to keep my toddler's attention. We didn't pay for any of the separate exhibits, but we felt there was more than enough to look at for free.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the More Interesting Places in the City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I love history... the more ancient the better, and this museum has enough exhibits to keep me interested for hours.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Civil War in St. Louis Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved this exhibit, it showed the role St. Louis played in the Civil War. On Tuesdays, St. Louis City and County residents can get free admission to the museum exhibits between 2 and 8 pm (I believe, unsure of exact times).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Islands, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't believe it's free.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great gift to tourists. All the museums are free in the city. The History museum is in Forest Park site of the World's Fair. Excellent museum. Be sure to eat at the Bixby Cafe..it was superb!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Missouri History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Missouri History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.