We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff, fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalita's Cantina

Rosalita's Cantina
1237 Washington Ave., Saint Louis, MO 63103
314-621-2700
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosalita's Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #374 of 2,546 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 13th
WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family & I took a mini vacation car ride from WI to St. Louis last Wednesday - Friday. We had been to another restaurant on Washington St. the night before and had a great experience as well, so we thought we would try it again. We had a 45 minute wait, because we got there just before happy hour was ending, but we had a drink while we waited and would have eaten outside if it wasn't so hot out those days. I think we all agree that it was worth the wait though. Our waitress was very friendly and asked if we had any questions on items, chips and salsa were brought out right away, service was quick and had a fun atmosphere too. If we ever get back that way, we would definitely stop again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    25
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner, more of a bar with a restaurant in back. Enjoyed the chips and salsa and really liked their guacamole.

Our dinners were a mixed bag. Burrito with barbacoa beef was huge and very good, beef enchiladas were average, street tacos were really good, and kids burrito was fair.

Be a good place to enjoy some margaritas with friends.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The Place for Good Mexican and Good Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The best Mexican in Metro St. Louis. Great atmosphere inside and out. Wonderful patio. Good service. Great food and drinks. It is on Washington Avenue downtown, which is the "happening" place to be. Easy parking. Safe. Fun. I had the chile rellenos and they were delicious. Now that Pueblo Soulis and Amigos have slipped, do your Mexican dining here. I rate 5 stars in the category of upscale Mexican dining.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very good. chips are worth a second trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed in St Louis one night, while on the way to grannies house (lol). At the hotel i was told you couldnt go wrong with anything on Washington street, they were def. Correct. Kinda wandered into Rosalitas and I'm glad i did. Though the servicing sizes were not what i am accustomed to the food was fresh, tasty and seasoned just right. The chips and salsa were the best i have had in a long time, lets say the chips were good enough that I am arranging my return trip to ensure i have time to stop for lunch. The service wasnt the besf, the waiter was polite and attentive but seemed tired and bored. I will def return more than once.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Made a second triip to Rosealita's om Washington Ave. Food, margaritas and servive all great. Include a nice patio area, inside it was a little louder than I prefer, but overall, worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalita's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Rosalita's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalita's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.