We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, EXCESSIVE pricing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie by Niche

Brasserie by Niche
4580 Laclede Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2104
314-454-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie by Niche is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,370 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Euclid
Sikeston, Missouri
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good food, EXCESSIVE pricing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The roasted chicken and beef bourguignon were prepared perfectly and deliciously. The Creme Brulee was awesome. The prices were over the top expensive. Nothing about the place made it worth the $175.51 bill. Salads are $8.25. Coffee $2.00. One glass of wine was $10.00. Creme Brulee was $8 for small serving. Delicious but I think pricing is excessive. We are from a small town and visiting relatives so maybe you are used to this in St. Louis.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
travelpro123
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“Delightfully French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Paris Rive-Gauche in St. Louis! What a wonderful restaurant. Our recent visit on a crowded Saturday night was entirely enjoyable. Our food from Moules Marinieres, oysters on the half-shell, wonderful pan fried whitefish called Skate and the Bistro Filet were all spectacularly good. Decoration is simple but tasteful. Valet parking is provided. Service was excellent and non-obnoxious yet fast and attentive. I wish there would be more restaurants of that caliber. We would be happy to pay the price. Reservations required.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Accidentally Stumbled into this Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We originally had reservations at the restaurant next to this brasserie. We walked in and out due to the loud noise. We had a fantastic lunch at Niche. The setting is similar to a small place you would visit in Paris, our waiter was so professional, knowledable, and accomodating. The atmosphere was so lovely, I cannot wait to go back for a weekend brunch, but will also try to go for a dinner. I had french toast that was not the typical french toast you order at breakfast places. These had a delicious lemon curd over the top. Another guest at waffles that were had cooked fresh apples over the top. We all loved our meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We went back and it was as good as ever. Their chicken special was extraordinary and others enjoyed their famous gnocchi dish. From beginning to end we always like going back to Brasserie. Our server was very helpful with the wine selections and the food came out hot and quickly, we love the setting and the atmosphere. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Try Again?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'm seeing all these great reviews and wondering what I missed. I didn't have anything there that wowed me or I couldn't make. The atmosphere is very comfortable and the service was very good. We tried the soup of the day and an appetizer before some sandwiches prior to good to show. It is a really good value for what you get so I'm willing to give this one another shot next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie by Niche also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie by Niche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie by Niche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.