We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden

City Garden
between 8th and 10th and chesnut and market, Saint Louis, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 150 Attractions in Saint Louis
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I went here after dinner the first night of our stay in STL because it was open late and on the walk back to the hotel.

It was very cool to do at night because a lot of the sculptures and trees had lights on them (it was Christmas time as well, so I'm not sure if they have that year round).

It didn't take very long to walk through. We probably spent about 20-25 minutes walking through it and taking pictures.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    93
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Best Place in St. Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a wonderful place to come and see beautiful sculpture and fantastic water features. It is well maintained, the people are friendly, it is clean, the plantings are excellent. It is always free and anyone can play on and touch any of the sculptures. That is a park policy. It can be very crowded on a hot summer day but that just mans many people are having a free good time. There really is almost no place like this in the rest of the country. I have visited Citygarden many times and loved it each time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty - but not visitor friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went there to take family pictures and the security is insane. They wouldn't let you near any of the sculptures. I don't think that it's particularly prudent to put things outside in a park you don't want kids playing on or people touching. Plus, the security guard was a total jerk too. He wasn't polite, and practically accused us of attempting to destroy private property because we stood next to a statue. They need a new security firm, and if there's a problem with touching the artwork, put in displays you expect to take out in a year, so it can be something fun for families to do.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

One of Downtown's newest attraction. it's great to go at night or in the day. the waterworks are a delight to see at night with all the different colors. Great place for the family, pets or a date.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice little park tucked into the middle of the city. I love the water fountains/attraction that the kids can plan in and run around in! We went at dusk one time and it was great becuas it also has some very cool light that come on. Its also FREE which is always great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Garden also viewed

 

Been to City Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.