We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing B & B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Center Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Center Inn to your Saves list
Grand Center Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3716 Grandel Square, Saint Louis, MO 63108 (Grand Center / Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Palos Hills, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing B & B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband & I just returned from an amazing weekend in St. Louis. We arrived at The Grand Center Inn on Thursday night and were greeted by both the proprietors, Renato & Eric. We checked in and were shown to our room, The Powell, which was beautifully decorated, spacious and immaculate. Our bed was the most comfortable I had ever slept in. The Inn itself is a beautifully restored mansion in a great location. After a spectacular breakfast, we took a lovely walk around the theater district. As our room had its own deck, we took advantage of the great weather by continuing to soak in the sun. The breakfast on Saturday was again very delicious and we were sorry that we only were staying for two nights. Only 4 1/2 hours from our suburban Chicago home, we will definitely return for weekend getaways to St. Louis.....and will only stay at the Grand Center Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Powell - had a private deck. Also on the 1st floor, so I didn't have to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
66
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This review was a long time in the making but I am going to make it short and sweet. Traveled to the Lou for the Cardinals World Series games back this summer. Was a little hesitant about staying at an Inn, but all of the hotels near the stadium were booked. After a little research I came across Grand Center Inn and grabbed the last room that was available. Did not know what to expect, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. It just felt like a little quaint hotel and not a fussy BnB. So, the next time I am in Saint Louis I will make sure to look them up again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed recently for a long weekend in the Fox Suite. The innkeeper was there to greet us promptly for check-in, and he was very friendly. The suite was very spacious, clean, well-maintained, and comfortable. There is plenty of storage in a large armoire for hanging clothes and a full-size dresser. The breakfasts were delicious (not included in the regular rate) and prompt. There are small tables set up in the front room for breakfast,, so you eat individually when you come down. It's not like many B&B's where you wait for everyone to get there and breakfast is served together. Generally, it is a different breakfast everyday. We had a repeat because there was a request from another guest. The location is perfect. It is just around the corner from the Fox and the Powell, and a short drive to other St. Louis attractions. We felt very safe coming and going late at night from the inn.

Room Tip: Two things to know about the Fox Suite: 1) It is on the second floor right as you come around the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. This inn is a restored mansion of the Victorian era (late 1800s), formerly one of several along the block, but all the others have been destroyed. Thankfully, this mansion still stands. Beautiful, lofty ceilings, hardwood floors, layout of floor plan -- and all well-appointed by the owners. Breakfast is optional, but well worthwhile. The inn's location is walking distance from the arts center (symphony, Broadway-style shows, African American performing arts center, the Pulitzer Foundation, the Contemporary Art museum). We're very glad to have discovered this accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors. The stairways are long, so consider the 2nd floor if climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I decided on a short getaway in the city for our 17th anniversary, so we picked up tickets for some live music at Jazz at the Bistro and booked a night at the Grand Center Inn.

Our host greeted us at the door and was very friendly and hospitable. We had reserved the Sheldon suite, so we were a bit surprised when he mentioned that we would be staying the in Contemporary suite. We're pretty laid back so we just let it ride without mentioning the Sheldon since the rooms are more or less comparable from a value perspective. However, if we had booked the Fox suite or something more expensive, I'm sure we would have spoken up.

The Inn itself is a beautiful old place in the Grand Center section of St. Louis (just behind the Fox Theatre). Parking was free and close and the area was not at all sketchy - we had no concerns about walking the quarter mile over to the Bistro and back for our dinner and the concert.

The Contemporary Suite was clean, neat and comfortable. We enjoyed the clawfoot tub in the bathroom as well as the nice couch and comfy chair/ottoman combo. I might recommend that they replace the mattress and/or frame on the bed as it sagged a bit in the middle, and we found ourselves rolling into each other in the center all night.

Folks who don't enjoy climbing stairs will want to book something other than the Contemporary Suite as it is on the third floor. Wasn't a bother for us, but worth mentioning.

We did not order breakfast at the Inn so I can't comment on that. Instead we went downtown and had breakfast at Rooster (my favorite STL breakfast). Check it out if you do not get breakfast at the Inn.

All in all it was a positive experience, and I'm sure we'll visit the Grand Center Inn again in the future.

Room Tip: If you do want breakfast, be sure to choose that option on the website when booking your room. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma WA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A historical mansion beautifully restored and tastefully decorated in grand style. We enjoyed our near-week in the spacious Fox Suite. Very comfortable bed, linens, and quality bath products. Our charming host Renato prepared delicious plated breakfasts – always something different – and he was very welcoming and helpful in providing information about St. Louis and the area. The Inn is within walking distance to all the great theaters in the area and very central to the sights of St. Louis. So much to see at Forest Park, the site of the 1904 World’s Fair. The Art Museum (free!) has one of the best collections in the country. We also loved the Botanical Garden which is further south. How can you explore 87 acres? It’s quite manageable, but they also have a little tram. One more tip: The Four Seasons hotel lounge deck on the 8th floor offers a great view of the city and the Arch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was very impressed with my stay at Grand Center Inn. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Sheldon and our friends were in the Contemporary. Both rooms were very nicely decorated and spacious. Our room was a bit cool, but the bed was warm and comfy. Our bathroom was huge and the shower was very nice. I was impressed with the details- real kleenex in the bathroom and rainbath in the shower, a hair dryer that dried my hair quickly. The bedding was very nice- soft sheets, down comforter, and fluffy pillows. I don't usually get these touches in some of the larger chain hotels. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Center Inn

Address: 3716 Grandel Square, Saint Louis, MO 63108
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Center Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Center Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.