We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cheshire to your Saves list
The Cheshire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Clayton Road, Saint Louis, MO 63117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Retreat Experience
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unique Boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had visited the Fox & Hound several times when I was a student at Wash U many years ago, but had never stayed at the hotel. Came back for a visit to STL with family & chose the Cheshire for it's location to friends in Forest Park & Richmond Heights area & the fact that it has all the amenities of a national chain - with much more character. Complimentary wi-fi, breakfast, fitness center, pool, Tea Forte selections & good coffee all day - in addition to the Fox & Hound Tavern, a great little market Market and Basso's on-site. They had live music pool-side in the evening on Sat.

We loved the English literature themed rooms, great beds, flat screen TV, plenty of outlets for computers, phones & other electronics - but housekeeping service wasn't great - not awful - but not up to the rest of the service/hotel experience.

Room Tip: If you have a favorite English poet or author - they most likely will have a room with that authors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Crazybusymom,
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at The Cheshire. As you mentioned, we are centrally located in St. Louis and offer a wide array of amenities. We are pleased to hear that you got to take in some of the restaurants on site, as well as our complimentary Kaldi’s coffee and Tea Forte. I am sorry to hear of the housekeeping service you received but do appreciate your feedback. We are always striving to do better and trying to improve our customer service. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    141
    56
    34
    19
See reviews for
163
175
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went on vacation with my wife and 2 kids in July traveling from Alabama to Chicago. We stopped in St. Louis for the weekend on our way to Chicago. As it turns out, it ended up being the highlight of our vacation! I would like to personally praise the comedian-Benjamin at the desk, as he was VERY helpful and found us a place to eat each day. Great pizza recommendation Benjamin and thanks for helping us cheer up our daughter! The Hotel is right next to the Forest Park. Which is comparable to central park in NY, lots of things to do! Also, it is about 10 minutes away from a great local pizza place and an Italian neighborhood in The Hill. Our kids were crazy for the food and attractions. Busch Stadium which is the home of the Cardinals is 15 minutes away! We had a great time! This city really like baseball. On the hotel side things could have been better. But we had too much fun to dwell on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear JWandfam74,
Thank you for recently staying with us at The Cheshire! Guests continuously comment and thank Ben for his humor, tips around the area, and overall customer service and thank-you for mentioning them as well. Our central location and fact that Forest Park is across the street, has been ideal for families, and we are so pleased you got to take in the sights. We hope you got to enjoy a game at Busch Stadium and look forward to seeing you in the near future. We thank you once again and wish you and your family all the best.
Sincerely,
Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was my first time to stay in a Cheshire, and I found it to be most delightful. I do have a physical disability and found the height of the toilet to be low. However, all ADA bars around toilet and in tub were just great. I must praise the following employees: Lydia, who made sure that our room was cleaned just when and as we wanted it to be! Jarrell who parked my car with courteous care, and was so kind in helping me in & out of my car. At the front desk, Sara, Annie and Billy were extremely helpful, cheerful, and courteous at all times! They made me feel like they knew me as they greeted me each time I returned, and answered my many questions with patience. What the rooms lacked just a tiny bit in quality (bathroom fixture fell off during my stay), the warm, wonderful staff made up for! I will stay at this hotel again and I highly recommend it now to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Anjie2013,
Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay at The Cheshire! It appears you had a lot of team member interaction and we are elated to hear about it. We take great pride that everyone here is always trying to make your stay the best it possibly can be. The Cheshire is truly a unique place: from the English décor and charm, wonderful location, and incredibly friendly staff, The Cheshire is a gem! We hope that you come back with your family and friends soon. Thank you for your comments and we wish you nothing but the best.
Sincerely
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I'm from London, so it's great to be able to lift a pint at a pub and get a proper cup of tea without taking a $2,000+ trip back home. The Cheshire got it pretty close to perfect. Nice décor and great staff. We had a minor problem with the room upon check-in, but the front desk manager, Bill Kelly, took care of the problem immediately. We don't expect to never have a problem during our travels, it's how the management takes care of a problem that counts and they did an A+ job. Thanks to Billy, Sara, and Annie at the front desk and Charlos, at the Fox and Hounds Pub, we had a very enjoyable weekend spent with family. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Doug W
Thank you so much for your kind words upon your recent stay at The Cheshire! Coming from a person who is from London, we very much appreciate your thoughts and we are happy to know that we impressed you. In addition, problems do come up but thank you for letting us know that everyone here acted quickly and efficiently. All of our team members take a great joy in making sure each guests’ stay is the best it can be. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Full disclosure, I am English and this is an English themed hotel, so as an Englishman, I had a cynical caution before walking through the door, but I was to be pleasantly surprised!!

The Cheshire is unapologetic about it's "Englishness", but did not feel cheesy to me and the rooms, and food were excellent.

Each room is named for a writer and the proprietors stay nicely within the theme. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms are spacious, functional and clean and I found the ambiance to be very relaxing.

This is a hotel that i would certainly be very happy to stay at again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Mark N,
Thank you for recently staying with us at The Cheshire. Seeing as you are an Englishman, after your comments, let us say that we are glad we surprised you. We take great pride in being charming without, as you mentioned, being cheesy. The rooms have all undergone renovations and are happy to hear you enjoyed them. We hope you come to visit us in the near future and thank you so much for your kind words.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I traveled to St. Louis for a follow up visit at Barnes Jewish Hospital. We do this every few years, and have tried out different hotels. This one was on a list provided to us by a Barnes Jewish Hospital Patient Concierge. We wanted a hotel very close to the hospital and to Forest Park, and this one is. When we called, the representative on the phone "sold" us on staying there, as she mentioned it was recently renovated. Upon our arrival, a very nice valet helped us with our bags and our car. He had an unusual name, so I can't remember it (or I would write it down for kudos!).

When we were at the pool, my husband ordered drinks from Tim B. As we talked, we found out that Tim is from Saginaw, Michigan, which is very close to my home town. Tim was very helpful and fun to talk with. He also served us later in the Fox & Hound restaurant.

We also had a nice dinner the first night at the restaurant across the parking lot, and were greeted by the manager (we think). The restaurant has a very nice atmosphere and the food was good (it was a little tricky to understand how the menu worked, however). The next evening we were going to eat at the other restaurant beneath it, but it is closed on Sundays.

Our room was clean and adequate in size. Bathroom was a little small. Watch out for the bed posts! We had to put something around them to keep from hurting our feet/knees.

Thank you to Billy and Ben at the front desk, as they were also helpful.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and appreciated that they had parking under the building.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear MyView2013,
Thank you for your kind words upon your recent visit to The Cheshire! Many people have found the convenient location to the hospital, Forest Park, Washington University, as well as numerous St Louis landmarks, as ideal for their trips in to town. The Restaurant has been getting glowing reviews since it opened and we are so pleased you got to see it for yourself. Finally, thank you for mentioning all the staff members. Everyone here takes a great pride in doing what we can to make sure every guest is having a perfect stay. We hope that we see you in the near future and thank you for taking the time to let others know how your stay was.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family, consisting of mom, dad, 10 year old, 12 year old, and 2 small dogs, really loved our stay at the Cheshire. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We liked being close to Forrest Park, the Loop, the zoo, all the major highways, and downtown. The continental breakfast was great for our needs, and I loved having hot tea available at all hours! The pool was nice, the grounds were lovely, and I really enjoyed the English country inn feeling of the hotel. The hotel was very pet friendly, though there was only a little patch of green space on site. We walked our dogs on the sidewalk in front of the hotel, though, and got along great. I would have liked a fridge in the room and a sink outside of the bathroom, but overall we were very happy and would come back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear fanoflizzy
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with everyone on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that your family was able to take advantage of our convenient location and wonderful amenities. In addition, we love to hear that you enjoyed the English charm that is The Cheshire. From our rooms being named after British poets, playwrights, or authors, our 24 hour coffee and tea service or the general décor, people often comment how much they enjoy all of it. We hope that your family will come back to visit us soon and wish you all the best.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Road, Saint Louis, MO 63117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#41 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.