We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were looking for a boutique hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheshire

Save Saved
You added The Cheshire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cheshire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Clayton Road, Saint Louis, MO 63117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Retreat Package
Ranked #22 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
Fayetteville, AR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“We were looking for a boutique hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here on a recent girl's weekend and loved the place. When searching for a hotel, we were looking for something that was "non-chain". After I made the reservations, I realized this was a pet friendly hotel and was a little concerned. However, we found the rooms to be very clean, beds had nice linens, and it was definitely a hotel with personality. We loved sitting by the fires in the lobby and in the Fox and Hound lounge. Breakfast was delicious with fresh warm croissants and fresh fruits served on real plates with real flatware. No waffle presses or paper plates here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Carmen1981,

Thank you sharing your experience at The Cheshire! Like a lot of the hotels here in St. Louis, we are a pet friendly hotel but cleanliness still remain one of our top priorities to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

In addition, The Cheshire offers a unique experience in lodging as well as dining. You can find our cozy fireplaces all over the property including in one of our most popular Novelty Suites.

We hope we can hear back from you again,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    124
    46
    26
    15
See reviews for
133
147
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed one night recently, on business, and forgot my itouch (loaded with personal info) in the bed table dock. Called later that day and was simply told they would keep an eye on the lost and found. Did not offer to check the room or housekeeping, so I kept checking back for the next couple days and was told the same thing each time. Finally when I asked to speak with the Manager (Tony D) I was connected to his voice mail, left a message, no call back. Called again, sent to voice mail, still no call back. I really don't get it. I don't expect the hotel to be responsible for my mistake but really, there has been absolutely no effort to locate the item or attempt to communicate with me.
Make sure you double check your room when checking out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
barbart,

We really do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. Please contact the hotel directly at 314-647-7300 and ask for our Assistant General Manager, Mike Rodgers for immediate assistance.

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this property and was very pleased by the stay. They are a themed (not like one of "those" hotels) but old English Inn. Bad weather forced me to stay there and I enjoyed their large lobby with fireplace and friendly staff. The room was very clean and well appointed. Each room is themed after an English poet/author. They give you a book mark with your poet/author on it.

The room I stayed in had stained glass surround on the window, a very modern dresser, coffee was celebrity branded along with complimentary chocolate and bottled water. The room had a chaise lounge chair with a side table great for watching television or reading (which I believe was the point).

Great little morning continental breakfast area, but it was replenished by the desk staff and would run out of things (may have been due to the snow day keeping staff away?).

Overall a funny place that I enjoyed. Nice little features and also a very small bar/lounge that had live music (for a nice touch). I did not try the restaurant next door and also did not like paying for parking (though it was in a garage under the hotel and seamed safer than the surface lot. A small issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Steve,

What a great feedback! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at The Cheshire. With the renovation of the property in 2011, our goal was to keep the old English charm and yet add the modern comfort that we all enjoy. We are very happy you've enjoyed each bit of it.

We hope to see you again under different circumstances especially on a sunny day.

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Missouri, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here recently while a relative was in a nearby hospital. The rooms are fantastic but the bathrooms are on the smaller size. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was welcoming. The parking garage is a bit different and kind of scary for a woman by herself. The breakfast is not your typical continental fare but was good. I prefer more traditional breakfast items instead of cheese and sandwich stuff and spinach crepes. The location is very near many hospitals and of course, the St. Louis Zoo. I think the price during the winter and during the week is still a little high even for this area and I eventually moved to a less expensive hotel but it didn't have the luxury that The Cheshire provides.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. With the grand opening of The Market, The Cheshire has more options for dining on property including breakfast, lunch, and a market place for produce. With this, guests will be given even more choices on dining options.

We understand what you've experienced in our 2 level underground garage, but we assure you the safety of our guests and employees are always a priority.

We certainly hope to see and hear from you again.

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was really nice and recommended activities including using the bikes they have there for guest to use. We went to a nearby Deli, got sandwiches and rode to the park. The rooms were large but the bathroom was small. The lobby bar was quiant. We sat on the couches by the fire with drinks and even though the kitchen was closed when we got in a bit late, the front desk ordered a pizza for us from a nearby place. Breakfast was better than expected. Thought they would have cereal and danish only but they had fresh baked/ cooked items that were different everyday. Good coffee and juice/ drinks you could take with you on your way out to your activities. It's on a busy street and can be a little loud if staying on the street side. It wasn't close to the business districts, but I didn't mind being away from the "jobsite" and was willing to drive for a hotel that wasnt a generic chain. Loved it, will recommend.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
ValandBrian,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! During the winter season, our lobby and Fox & Hounds Tavern is the place to be with our warm and cozy log-burning fireplace. Ideally, the warmer months are more scenic (as things are greener at Forest Park) for the adventure you can have with the bikes but we are certainly glad you managed to enjoy the trip!

We'll be looking forward to your return,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel! With all the charm of an English Inn, this hotel has cozy rooms, dreamy beds, a great pub and a warm fireplace to enjoy a glass of wine and conversation. My husband and I stayed here 30 years ago and found that recent remodeling maintained the authentic old English decor. Minor concerns were that the bathroom floor was very cold and the bathroom light is turned on by motion sensor, so a middle of the night bathroom trip lights up the room.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Etlimerick,

Thank you for returning to The Cheshire after so many years! We are really happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay. As noted, the property was renovated in 2011 and we've tried our best to keep the original charm the hotel kept throughout these years.

Our staff will be happy to accommodate you accordingly as the motion light detector is a feature not everyone is a fan of.

We hope it won't take so long for us to see you again!

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I simply adore the cheshire. I love the look of it, I love its history and I love how amazing the staff treats each and every guest. Last fall, I had an occasion to stay in the Jane Austin room. I found everything in the room to be perfect. The furnishings, the bedding, they were all special. I cant wait to go back again.

As a person that manages property, I must give props to an organization that is doing such a fantastic job.

Room Tip: In the summertime, if you plan on using the pool, ask for a poolside room. The pool is special. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Romaname,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We've really enjoyed your feedback of our property as you may have known, The Cheshire has underwent renovation in 2011 and from there we've kept the vintage experience along with the modern day touches that you've managed to enjoy. Since your last stay in fall, our property has expanded with new restaurants, a market, and even a cigar lounge!

Thank you again and we are definitely looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Road, Saint Louis, MO 63117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#22 Casino Hotel in Saint Louis
#22 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.