We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cheshire to your Saves list
The Cheshire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Clayton Road, Saint Louis, MO 63117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Retreat Package
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Marion, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was our first stay in St Louis for pleasure and I'd probably look for a room here again. Each of the rooms is named for an author and you receive a bookmark with the author's name on it upon check-in. The European styling gave it an interesting appearance both outside and in. We were within 15 minutes of downtown (The Arch) and Grant's Farm.

The biggest plus was its proximity to Forest Park (larger than Central Park in New York). Trails for bikers and runners (we used bikes from the hotel to bike around the park), plus a museum (free on Friday nights), a zoo (free admission), golf course, theatre, and probably more.

We were also within walking distance to a great old-fashioned movie theater and very short drives to restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thanks for the great comments...and for mentioning our central location.
We are minutes from The Arch and Grant's Farm.

Everyone loves our "house" bikes for touring Central Park.

Sincerely,
Harry Lunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    136
    53
    32
    19
See reviews for
155
164
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

Over $150 a night for a disgusting room with cigarette burns everywhere, microscopic television, cardboard quality bed, and stale coffee and donuts for the "continental breakfast". This is all after nearly killing ourselves finding the hotel and dealing with construction everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear readers...

Our hotel was closed in February, when this guest claims to have stayed here.

We are non smoking hotel.
The Cheshire features LG 32" and/or larger (in the suites) televisions.
We feature Serta Presidential Double Euro-top beds, which are some of the finest beds available in the country.

Additionally, if there is any humor in this...(and there isn't)...
The Cheshire doesn't serve donuts since we reopened.

Please have this response removed, as we were not open from the last week of December, 2010 until August 5th, 2011.

Sincerely,
Harry Lunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were in town to give a concert for the St Louis guitar society and decided to stay at the Cheshire. The atmosphere is phenomenal. They have a great bar/restaurant with live music that is right on the main floor and is so good people from outside the hotel come to it on weekends. The staff is incredibly friendly and supportive. MATT AND BILLY particularly stood out for their awesomeness. Not only did they let us play a little mini classical concert in the lobby, they even listened to us run through some pieces to prepare for the concert.

In addition, the rooms are first rate, the hotel is spotlessly clean, and it's centrally located from everything in St Louis. Heck, even the other guests of the hotel were really nice. Add to that a delicious free breakfast and a view of the arch from some of the rooms and this place can't be beat.

A++++

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thanks for the awesome response and for giving a shout out to my team members.

Thanks for the impromptu concert btw...you are always welcome to entertain our guests.

Best,
Harry Lunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel provides a comfortable and exciting atmosphere. The rooms are clean and accomodating, and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is in an area close to tourist spots. The only issue we had was limited weekend parking, as we had to park on the strret.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thanks for the great comments...
Enjoy the weekend, and thanks to those who have and do serve.
FYI...we have a special for anyone in the service this weekend.

Kind regards,
Harry Lunt - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This site provides you the traveler with the eyes and ears (if not all the senses) of ones who passed along the path before you. Be wary, however, and read closely as, for example, sometimes the review might be written by a former disgruntled employee or even someone who has not traveled for years. (Recently I read a review where the writer marveled at the shower rod that curved; such has been the norm for many years!)

A general cautionary note at the outset: upon entering the room you should always perform certain tasks less you later come upon some unpleasant issue. The following may not be an exhaustive list, but I will do my best to touch all the bases.

A. Always check the bed for bedbugs. The methodology is readily available on the internet. In fact, there are websites that related bed bug reports in the hotel industry. Check that out.
B Always wipe down the room: use about two alcohol wipes, commonly sold in pharmacy departments of stores like Target, Wal-Mart, Walgreen’s, to wipe the television remote, telephone, handles of doors, sinks, tubs and so forth. I am sure you learned by now what lurks in hotel and other like facilities in the way of nasty, nasty things. I do not need to go into detail!
C. In a like vein, always remove the comforter or like item on the bed. Again, travel gurus on NBC and CBS spoke of all sorts of nasty things resting on the surface of this room item.
D. Always check the stopper in the sink and tub. Do they function properly? Risk of loss of a contact lens or other item hangs in the balance.
E. Does the tub drain properly?
F. Does the HVAC/thermostat unit operate properly?
G. Do all the light fixtures work properly (including bulbs that actually light)?
H. Does the drape closing and opening system function properly?
I. Does the television work, and are the channels that interest you available with clear sound and picture?
J. Does the toilet seat wobble?
K. Does the toilet flush properly?
L. Is hot water readily available at the sink, shower/tub?
M. Does the shower head work properly?
N. Do you have a “Do Not Disturb” sign?
O. Are there ample hangers in the closet?
P. If you will have the need, are a hairdryer, ironing board and iron, and safe readily available?
Q. Find the nearest fire exit and count the doors or other recognizable features from your room to that door. You may have to negotiate your way to the exit in the event of a fire where smoke or darkness inhibits your vision.
R. Follow the route you would take from the fire exit to outside.
S. If you find yourself in a multi-winged facility, or in case you just want to be 100% secure, check the doors leading outside. Do they securely lock so that a non-guest cannot enter the facility? (In a multi-winged facility, you may find yourself in a wing or section of the facility far from the front desk. In this context there are likely numerous exits from the building/facility. You should always check the one or two nearest your room for the security factor of the door being locked to prevent access of non-guests. You might want to check them all. You decide. Females traveling alone are especially vulnerable and this is of up most importance.)
T. Is the bed’s firmness to your liking and the same with the pillows?
U. If your room is anywhere near the trash containers, it would be prudent to inquire when refuse pickup occurs. (Nothing like hearing the truck and the inherent loud banging at 5:30 a.m.!)
V. If you don’t already, travel with your own night light for the bathroom and a flashlight for your bedside table. The night light offers you a safe lighting for traipsing about at night without benefit of lamp or ceiling light, or should the power go out or you want instant light without fumbling for the lamp’s switch or a light switch on the wall. DO NOT FORGET to take the night light from the socket as you pack your toothbrush!
W. If your intention is to reuse the bath towel(s), always run a piece of toilet paper or tissue along the top horizontal surface of the shower rod as it is often a place where the maid service does not clean and you may discover a very gray to black stain on the paper or tissue instead of your towel.

Many of the above relate to items in the room that the maid did not attend to. It has long been one of my top complaints that management does not train the maid staff properly! If the maid staff checked the working order of items in the room, I would think that most of the issues related to such would be cured. Since such training is not done or not followed, you, the guest, must assume the duties. (In the recent past I have found phones that did not work, buttons on phones that did not work {one touch button for Front Desk}, lamps without bulbs or lamps with burnt out bulbs!)

Trust me, I have done or not done to my own dismay all or nearly all of these tasks. Again, trust me; it is much harder to find out later than learn immediately upon checking in.

Finally, tips in general for you fellow-travelers:

1. Most B&BS and many hotels do not have elevators. Plan ahead and pack your clothing in separate plastic bags. Label them MON, TUES, WED, THUR and so on. Then carry in a carry-on or two with your CPAP, shaving kit, night clothes, and in the separate bag, your clean clothes for the next day. You can easily stash several days’ worth of clothes in a large suitcase that always stays in the trunk of the car! No more back strains hauling a huge suitcase in and out of your facility.
2. Regarding the above multiple listing of room duties, obviously time may be an issue. It will take you about 20 to 30 minutes to execute the steps. IF YOU ARE PRESSED FOR TIME UPON CHECKING IN the list of absolute requirements will be A., B., C., Q.,T., U. and V. The balance of the list above can be dealt with later, or not at all by your choosing. (Note: some of the items listed are not duties inherent upon first entering your room, and you may easily take care of them in advance.)


The Cheshire in the Clayton area is reasonably close to downtown, the airport, the art museum and Forest Park where you will find the zoo. It is an older very quaint facility. There were several pluses found in our recent visit and several minuses. First the general pluses.

The room had a pillow-top and we found it exceedingly comfortable. The television had a large screen and many channels of interest were available. The continental breakfast began at 6 a.m. and we found that inviting, being early risers. The breakfast was generally limited to cold items. The coffee was strong which was nice. Several very good loose tea options were available. We tried two of the choices and they both were very tasty. We will see about securing more of this tea on the internet! There were multiple yogurt options and this was appreciated. Not everyone, including one of us, likes strawberry! Negative note: there was a severe lack of options in the jam/preserves department. One had to love Concord grape to survive dressing a muffin, toast etc.

Several muffin options existed and two were tried. Both were delicious. The cereal choices were two. One was a basic granola. One of us loved it and the other one of us thought it merely okay. The second choice was a kids-type cereal and not of our choice. Hard-boiled eggs were available, but not tried. The fruit offered was pineapple, cantaloupe and grapes etc. Other items of starch were offered.

The staff was most friendly.

Perhaps the best of the Inn was the workout room. There were 7 to 8 different Matrix machines available, including multiple treadmills. The room was open 24 hours, which made if extremely convenient. The Matrix treadmills offered visual runs in Utah, the Rockies, the Alps and about ten other locales. This was very fun! However, the cool-down phase on the treadmills retuned you to the first run of the visual and it was impossible to speed ahead. For example, on the Utah run, the second time we used it we could not jump ahead to Arches National Park. We had to traipse through Zion, Bryce and Capitol Reef all over again. Another negative re use of the treadmills, if we wanted to watch television on the tiny screen, we were out of luck. Furthermore, all the treadmills faced a wall. The two televisions were behind and to the side of the treadmills.

Another great feature of the room was the Matrix weight station. There were probably 24 different positions for exercising the arms, legs, back and chest. Utterly delightful!

If you so choose, inquire about the availability of the bicycles, and ask if they work properly prior to check in.

USAToday was provided. As a frequent traveler, it became as ubiquitous to my morning breakfast as coffee!

Minuses: Our bad—we failed to check the stoppers in the tub and sink upon immediately entering the room. When we discovered their improper functioning later, it was too late to re-pack and move. We showered and used a hand towel to prevent loss of contacts in the sink!

The bathroom had no fan and that is always a minus!

There was no blanket in the room and the down comforter made it too hot and the sheet was not warm enough. (See below for interface with this related to the use of the heat/AC in the room.)

A very annoying feature in the bathroom is the automatic motion sensing light system. There are switches on the walls in the rooms, yet that offers two options: off in 5 minutes without motion and never off! If you are like us, a two a.m. visit to the bathroom is not out of the question, and to suddenly be blasted with all the bathroom lights is not at all attractive! We solved the problem with a wet washcloth and some unscrewing of the bulbs at bedtime!

Obviously, the facility needs to retrofit the rooms with motion lights that have ON, OFF and MOTION ACTIVATED options.

The workout room on the second day lacked clean towels and the trash cans were not emptied from the previous day. This was, especially the lack of clean towels, annoying.

Another super annoying feature of the room was the HVAC system. The fan had but one speed. It was HIGH and so loud to be most disconcerting. We inquired about this at the front desk right after check-in, and were informed that we were correct, there is but one speed. Truly awful! And this led us to rely on the down comforter or a mere sheet for sleeping as we were not inclined to tolerate the loud blasting fan of the HVAC system while sleeping in the room. Obviously, the facility needs to retrofit the thermostat to provide multiple speeds on the fan or, alternatively, some superior quality ear plugs!

Finally there was an exit door on the southwest corner of the building that would not EVEN CLOSE let along lock. This allows easy entry of the elements—heat, snow, rain—and is a security issue of the highest magnitude.

Upon conversations with front desk staff, including Billy and Matt, the deficiencies of the tub and sink stoppers in the specific room were mentioned, and the matter of the exit door that did not lock nor close was discussed. We pointed out that the Inn was but one rape or robbery away from a major lawsuit.

Based on the quantity and quality of the above items, I must give a poor rating to the Cheshire. I view this as a challenge to the Cheshire management to rectify the negative items and a cautionary notification to those considering lodging here.

If attention to the above negative matters is provided and remedial efforts employed, and the positive items maintained, this inn will be a very pleasant and safe facility to visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry L, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
I just wanted to reach out as we have made recent changes since your posting.
We just turned and quartered our Serta Double Euro-top "Presidential" beds, and of course we check our bedding.
We actually offer alcohol wipes in both the business center and in the coffee nook.
Our HVAC are being replaced with quieter units.
Breakfast now includes "hot" items, such as oatmeal, waffles along with sliced turkey and European cheese..
We have multiple jam/preserves options as well.
We have added a "scale" and "clock" to the health center.
We have added an extra blanket and pillow to each guest room closet.
We are in the process of "scripting" the light sensors in each guest room and ensuring that the timer goes off in 5 minutes. We are also exploring other options relating to this.
Our exit door has been ordered and will be replaced with the next week or two.
We have added additional security cameras, and have all doors properly secured.
Kind regards,
Harry Lunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but it was a very pleasant stay. We liked the themed room. It wasn't any more expensive than other hotels in the area. It was very clean with very comfy beds. The staff was helpful and courteous. The continental breakfast had delicious pastries and fresh fruit (not just cereal and apples). We will totally stay at The Cheshire again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marciw, Guest Relations Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us at The Cheshire! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had the pleasure of interacting with our amazing staff here. They do always try to go above and beyond to make our guests feel at home. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did and we are excited for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Cheshire has been recently renovated and what a fantastic job. Everything is bright and beautiful. It still has that old rustic feel to it and yet a feel of the new. The staff really made you feel that they wanted you there and that it was their home that they were opening up to you. The room was fantastic and all the rooms are named after famous authors and poets which just one of those things that puts it a notch above other places with just a room number. It was one of the best experiences that I have had in many motel stays. The bathroom was bright, clean and welcoming. I have never seen such a wonderful shower. The room itself was very welcoming the moment we opened the door. The Fox and Hound Tavern was very nice, the drinks were good and fair priced and the food was limited in selection, but very good. Their restaurant is still under renovation. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: When making reservations on line, they have actual pictures of the room. You get what you see. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marciw, Public Relations Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us at The Cheshire! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our staff and are happy to see they were able to meet all of your needs during your stay. We want to thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey to let us know how we did. We certainly hope you will keep us in mind for your next trip to the St. Louis area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Road, Saint Louis, MO 63117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#12 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#38 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.