We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis

Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis
4431 Lindell Blvd, at Newstead Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108 (Central West End)
+1 314-373-8242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 319 things to do in Saint Louis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mother Church of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis, the superstructure of the Cathedral was built between 1907 and 1914. The Cathedral's 100th Anniversary is being celebrated in 2014. It is known for its' beautiful interior mosaics, which took nearly 80 years to create using more than 41 million pieces of glass tesserae. The Cathedral is known for having one of the largest mosaic collections in the Western Hemisphere.
Morris, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Beautiful place! Always so nice and peaceful. The gift shop is awesome and to get the full experience you should really take a tour. Well worth the time, and great for art/architecture/church buffs. Go for sure!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    133
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Living Word overhead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The basilica appeared Greek Orthodox to me initially, such was its opulence and stout exterior. But within, it was cool, peaceful, and I had just a hint of what it was like during song or service when I heard echoes of people far-off, though their voice reached me clearly without distortion.

I was in town running round just the high points of St. Louis and made a point of walking through this church. I found free parking on the street beside the church and with some judgement and appropriate aggressiveness you may be able to find parking out back. But I imagine during services or busy times that parking may be difficult, so I recommend going when it's quiet.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heavenly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

A must see!! No visit to St Louis would be complete without a tour of the Central West End, the magnificent estates there and a quiet stop inside of the Basilica!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I'm not Catholic but was invited to mass and was stunned at the beauty of the Cathedral. It is definitely a must see for someone of any faith.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Walking inside was like walking into one of the great cathedrals of Europe. Worthy of a papal visit by John Paul II. The mosaics were stunning! Definitely gave you an idea of the by-gone beauty of Constantinople's Hagia Sophia. Very interesting museum in basement tells history of church and mosaics.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.