We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive spa experience
Ranked #4 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great Inn in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Napoleon's Retreat is a lovely home in the city in a fantastic location. Stacey was a lovely hostess, very friendly and provided great knowledge of the neighborhood. . And there is so much to do in Lafayette Square. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was a wonderful way to celebrate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your anniversary at Napoleon's Retreat! It was a pleasure having you as our guests, and we appreciate your kind words about our inn & neighborhood. We love sharing our city with visitors - there's so much to see & do in St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I recently had a very nice stay at Napoleon's Retreat on a recent visit to St. Louis. The B&B is conveniently located near downtown in the historic Lafayette Park area. There are many wonderfully restored/maintained homes in the neighborhood.

Napoleon's Retreat is warm, cozy, comfortable and nicely furnished. Our hostess Stacey welcomed us and prepared an excellent breakfast.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: I liked the 2nd floor room overlooking the street. The bathroom is small, but the room is very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! It was wonderful having you as our guests, and it was perfect that your daughter was able to join you for breakfast the next morning. We wish her much success with her artistic pursuits and hope we'll have a chance to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked this room and, contrary to the confirmation received, B&B billed me for full length of stay immediately upon booking, since "it was the holidays." My receipt, however, only reflected the deposit amount. Maybe this was an attempt to keep me from figuring out they'd already charged me for the entire bill before I'd even arrived?
Be warned, they do NOT offer full refunds unless you're more than 14 days out. Even then, they only refund your deposit (which is 50% of the entire bill.) If it's during a holiday, they will bill you for the entirety of your stay, regardless of the reason for cancellation. In our case, Amtrak terminated our train, leaving us no way to get to St. Louis. Stacy and Brian refused to offer me any refund unless the room was rebooked by another guest. Eventually they relented and offered me one night's free stay if I came back in January or February. The food may be good, and the inn cute, but be sure to check your bank account AND purchase traveler's insurance, just in case you keel over before you make it there. Like I mentioned, I never even laid eyes on the place, and they wanted to keep my $612.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It's unfortunate that this reviewer did not have a chance to enjoy the 500+ sq.ft. apartment with full kitchen, living room, queen bed, and Jacuzzi tub that she reserved for 4 nights for $612. One of the nights was FREE because we were running a special. Since the reservation was over the holidays and included a FREE night, we charged her the full amount at the time she placed the reservation and informed her in writing and via phone that it was non-refundable.

The reviewer initially booked her stay using our online system, which automatically charges a 50% deposit and sends an automated email that is the receipt for 50% of the cost of the reservation. The reviewer then called and asked that we extend her online reservation by 1 day, which we gave to her for FREE. We then sent a personal email with a receipt for the remaining 50% of her stay. Unfortunately, the reviewer seems to be a bit bewildered. No guest other than her has ever expressed confusion about how their stay is charged. We give our guests a FULL REFUND if they cancel at least 14 days in advance of their stay, or 30 days in advance for major holidays. We do not only refund 50%, as this addled reviewer has stated.

This reviewer canceled less than 18 hours before she was to arrive at our inn. Major hotels chains such as the Holiday Inn, Marriott, Drury, and Hampton Inn all have the same policy as our inn. Reservations made using an online special and prepaid in advance are non-refundable. It was wise that the reviewer purchased traveler's insurance and was fully reimbursed for her trip.

We offered to refund her for any nights we were able to rebook her room, which is outside of our policy. When it didn't rebook, we offered her a FREE night's stay. She emailed and said we were gracious and generous, and wished us a prosperous 2013. Unfortunately, she was motivated by avarice to write this slanderous review. Notably, the 1-star reviews submitted for Napoleon's Retreat are due to concerns over money, not disappointment in the experience of staying at our relaxing, award-winning historic inn. Should the reviewer decide to redeem the FREE night we offered, we're sure that our gourmet breakfasts and comforting B&B will soothe her restless spirit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We decided to treat ourselves to an "in-town" respite which was about equal in cost to a fine dining experience. However, our respite in tastefully decorated rooms appointed with period furniture/artwork and graced by a welcoming hostess proved to be far more restorative than the finest dining anywhere could have been. And better value to boot.

This was a "first" for us. I do not understand why it did not occur to us before. I highly recommend Napoleon's Retreat to out-of town visitors as well as to St. Louis residents. Napoleon's location in Lafayette Square is within blocks from a lovely park, interesting eateries in an antebellum historic section of St. Louis...a living treasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Manager at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your very thoughtful review. We loved having you as our guests and hope that you'll be able to escape to Napoleon's Retreat again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in St Louis Mo, let me tell you about Napoleon's Retreat. My husband and I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions and would not even think of staying anywhere else. Stacy is a gracious hostess who makes you feel welcome the moment you walk in. The rooms are beautiful and the food is excellent. I have stayed at more expensive places and not been treated half as well. My favorite room is the Lafayette. There are 5 windows 3 0f which that overlook Lafayette Street. The view is pleasant and relaxing on of itself. The bed is super comfy and the rates fantastic. If you are in the market for a great experience while in St Louis, please give Napoleon's Retreat a try. It is so worth it! : )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the glowing review! You are both such wonderful guests, and our entire household loves it when you visit us! We will be sure to have another loaf of banana bread ready for your next stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My partner and I pride ourselves on finding B&B s with historical architecture, Napoleon's Retreat did not disappoint us. The courtyard breakfast was fantastic. Stacy was so accommodating with our requested gluten free meals. We were provided with a superior dining guide to the area. Being from New Orleans we arrived a week after hurricane Isaac and received much needed pampering.
It is very obvious Stacy and her husband love running this bed and breakfast.


Carlos and Jim
Stayed September 2012

Room Tip: Charles De Gaulle room has its own entrance to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Quaint courtyard breakfast, good food, comfortable room. Wish there weren't so many stairs, that's part of having high ceilings, I guess. Stacey was very pleasant, we enjoyed our stay. She gave us good suggestions for dinner and was so accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your stay at Napoleon's Retreat. It was a pleasure meeting you earlier this summer. I agree that our long flights of stairs are quite a workout! If during a future stay you would prefer a room with fewer stairs, I would recommend our Charles de Gaulle Suite that has only 7 steps to climb. This room is adjoined to the back of our house and is entered via our private courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.