We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chase Park Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chase Park Plaza to your Saves list
Chase Park Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 - 232 N. Kings Highway Blvd., Saint Louis, MO 63108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Springfield, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our recent trip to St. Louis included a much needed respite at the Chase Park Plaza Hotel. This stay not only met but exceeded our expectations. Let me just say, the staff here from the valet to the concierge were incredible kind and helpful. The property is immense, grand and lovely. But it's the people that give the special touch and make you feel comfortable among the grandeur.
We arrived early in the night and had no trouble getting to the front desk. We were cordially met and welcomed to the property.
While we were gone to St. Louis our son was attending a Boy Scout Winter Camp in Tennessee. The camp needed some medical forms. The staff without batting an eye took it upon themselves to fax the needed forms to TN for us. What a relief!
The rooms were inviting and the bed was very comfortable. The room was everything we could have needed. There was so much life in the hotel that it just made you smile. There was a wedding going on, there was a great band getting down in the bar. We saw a movie at the cinema located inside the hotel - what an experience!
The history, the fun, the comfort, the opportunities, the attractions, the beauty, and the staff make this hotel and unique and rewarding place to stay.
Thank you Chase Park Plaza for a unforgettable time. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
What can we possibly say? Your review truly reminds us why we love what we do, thank you! We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations so completely from the hospitable service of our associates all the way to the amazing amenities and events taking place here. The Chase Park Plaza is indeed full of life and we love to share all of the amazing events that take place here. Our on-site cinema is a favorite with so many of our guests and we are glad you enjoyed it as well your well-appointed and comfortable guest room. We do hope you will visit us soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    184
    85
    60
    34
See reviews for
141
189
31
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

What a landmark and stately hotel overlooking Forest Park. Upgraded to room 492 - a huge corner deluxe room in the original hotel. 6 huge windows framing Forest Park. Divine. Housekeeping needs to vacuum public hallways daily, as well as clean all the room doors - they are dirty and scuffed. Our room was incredibly dusty - the bathroom vanity, the doors and picture frames, and the doors were stained with yet again, fingerprints and dried food/dirt. Found an empty Tropicana juice behind television cabinet in middle of room. Had to ask maid to vacuum our room as we were there 5 days tis Christmas and it really needed it. They need better training. Still love the hotel though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your point of view. We are delighted you enjoy the charm of our historic property as well as the views from our windows. However, it is with great regret that we learn of any issues you encountered in your guest room. We take all reviews very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with our management team so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention regarding housekeeping. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can fully impress you at every level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff was super nice however, the hotel is old and the furniture tired and unattractive. We could hear the people next door and the windows are so old that the bathroom was absolutely freezing. Love the location but would not stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We can't help but feel disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations in every way. Our guests’ ultimate comfort is of utmost importance and we always urge everyone to let us know what we can do to make their stay a more enjoyable experience. It is truly regrettable that we were unable to do so for you while you were here or if you were not fully impressed with what we offer. Thank you for your candid feedback. We hope that you will consider another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckneyville IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our 20th Anniversary! I have always wanted to due to its history! It is a nice place but not the nicest we have stayed at! But would return! The bathroom seemed a little dirty but it was clean!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Happy 20th Anniversary. We couldn't be more pleased that you had such a great experience celebrating your momentous occasion at The Chase Park Plaza, thank you for sharing your story. Our hotel is indeed filled with some amazing history and we are so glad your stay was a memorable one. We hope you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Although I am familiar with this hotel, I had never spent the night. A situation presented itself which allowed an overnight stay and it could not have been better. Booked through Expedia, we were in a suite on the eight floor. It was like an apartment with a dining area, living room and a separate bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. The view of Forest Park was beautiful and there was no noise from traffic below, other rooms or from the lobby which had an extremely loud band playing in the bar. Parking was effortless in an attached covered garage and priced reasonable for the neighborhood. This property is in the Central West End of St Louis, full of vibrant restaurants, art galleries and interesting places and people. In warmer weather, the sidewalks are full with restaurant tables. The Washington University medical school and hospital are within walking distance, as is the St Louis Cathederal (the "new" cathederal) and Forest Park. We found the staff attentive and efficient. Our room was well appointed, clean and inviting. The bed was comfortable with plenty of extra pillows and blankets in the closet. The bath assortment included a tooth brush and razor. In short, we found nothing lacking in our stay and recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the Central West End and explore on foot.

Room Tip: Recommend requesting a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
What a lovely and comprehensive review you have shared, thank you! Providing an exceptional stay is our top priority at The Chase Park Plaza. It truly pleases us to read feedback such as yours and to know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest. We are so glad you enjoyed our location and found your guest room to be comfortable and well appointed. Taking a stroll through the local area and savoring the restaurants can be such a treat. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you find your way back to us soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A great property location and interesting architecture especially the adjacent Park Plaza which has no hotel rooms. Registration was especially difficult if you have purchased through a third party consolidator. Disinterested, unaccommodating and actually rude registration staff. The room was dull, poorly maintained with inadequate basic amenities, i.e. glasses/ice bucket. On the good side, there is an in house movie theater and the location in the Central West End is ideal for dining. If location is of importance and you are satisfied with an outdated room, give it a try. I would make certain you do not pay their asking prices for rooms but seek cost comfort through a third party.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid comments. While we are glad you enjoyed our location as well as our on-site theater, we must apologize if you were disappointed with your accommodations in any way. We encourage everyone who stays with us to let us know how we can make each visit the best it possibly can be and we will be certain to share your comments with everyone here. We hope to welcome you again and provide you with the type of experience you truly deserve as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Chase Park Plaza looks great from a distance and it's in a great part of the city. The lobby is very elegant but the glamour ends there. The rooms need to be re-furbished, up-dated and are very disappointing in their present state(and we had a so-called "deluxe suite"). There was a dirty towel hanging on the back of our bathroom door when we arrived and not even a drinking glass in our "suite".The rooms look like they haven't been updated in twenty years or more.This was our first stay there (and last...especially at these prices for a tired looking room). Friends just told us they stayed there two years ago and the rooms looked bad then!
Add to that the really bad attitude of the front desk people, especially "Brian" who had no eye contact with us and always looked generally annoyed, un-friendly
and generally un-professional. My best advice would be to stay elsewhere or, if you have no other options, see the room first before you commit to a stay.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want to be assured of a nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaseParkPlazaHotel, General Manager at Chase Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Our historic hotel is truly unique and while we are glad to know that you found our public areas so remarkable, we must apologize if you were not equally impressed with your guest room. We believe in providing the very best in service to our guests. It is regrettable if you found anything different. Your comments will be shared with all of our associates to reiterate our high level of hospitality. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chase Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase Park Plaza

Address: 212 - 232 N. Kings Highway Blvd., Saint Louis, MO 63108
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chase Park Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve arrived at The Chase Park Plaza hotel, a vibrant legend accommodating guests in grand style, here in the heart of St. Louis. This stately landmark is home to a celebrated history. Through a recent renovation, that storied past has been lovingly preserved and artfully revitalized, with improvements ranging from décor updates to a five-screen cinema. More than one million square feet of luxurious accommodations await you, including:Impeccable guest suites Five fabulous restaurants Expansive event and meeting facilities Five-screen cinema Outdoor heated pool First-class spa and fitness facilities The Private Residences In addition to premier amenities, The Chase Park Plaza offers you a premier location surrounded by the very best St. Louis has to offer. On your doorstep is the Central West End, one of the city’s most popular dining and entertainment areas. Just across the street you’ll find Forest Park, home to fine museums, a world-renowned zoo and one of the country’s finest public golf courses. As our guest, you’re also just moments away from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital complex, Busch Stadium, Washington University, St. Louis University, the downtown and Clayton business districts and Lambert International Airport.At The Chase Park Plaza you’ll feel truly welcome. In so many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chase Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Park Plaza Hotel Saint Louis
Park Plaza Chase
Park Plaza Saint Louis
Saint Louis Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chase Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.