We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Benton Place, Saint Louis, MO 63104 (Lafayette Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Wing, Bucks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wow! A magnificent building in a quiet, old world setting. The first impression of this Victorian mansion is that it is a little faded but the tasteful and thorough renovation provides period charm and modern facilities. The renovation continues. The hostess is charming and the breakfast particularly good - home cooked and imaginative. Not to be missed. Friens in St Louis thought that the price was at the top end, but it was worth every penny. I would not hesitate book again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We chose St. Louis for a girl’s weekend, coming from within the state of Missouri and from Texas. We were not sure where to stay in St. Louis, but knew we wanted to stay in a B&B. We were pleasantly surprised at the beauty & history of the Lehmann House. We felt very secure in the home and in the surrounding historical area. We felt confident in walking to the neighboring shops; wine bar, chocolate bar & boutiques, what more could girls want for a weekend trip? Marie and her family were very kind in helping us with directions, taking pictures and feeding us very well. Ask for her wonderful Pound Cake and Scones, you will not regret it!

Read more: http://www.iloveinns.com/lehmann-house-id11234.html#tabtop#ixzz24m9bbbrP

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A visit to the 1800's in this gorgeous, quaint block and home. Ask Marie for the intriguing history of Mr. Lehmann's contribution to St Louis and the "greater good." Make sure you read the visitors notebook when you get to your room and you will have everything you need!-When you can walk one block to coffee, chocolate and a microbrewery, you may confuse this with heaven.... oh wait...& a beehive on the premises for fresh honey!!!

Room Tip: Even the third floor "Map Room" was comfy in the summer heat. GREAT extra bed for our dau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Lehmann House was selected for the meeting place for seven high school friends who had not been together in almost 25 years. It proved to be the ideal location. Each room worked well and we enjoyed learning about the history of the house. It has wonderful character. The breakfasts exceeded expectations, and catching up and reminiscing on the front porch was ideal. We also enjoyed the proximity of Lafayette Park and the charm of the neighborhood. Everyone agreed it was perfect, so it will be the location of our future reunions. Great job, Marie. Thank you for making the time with friends so special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

First, the location is fantastic. Across from Lafayette Square Park. Two blocks - easy & safe to walk - to an area with several restaurants and boutique shops. Do not miss a Dark Chocolate Martini at the Chocolate Bar - a fantastic place - we went twice - second visit included their fab gourmet grilled cheese! This was a short visit for us - just two nights - and this location was within 10 to 15 minutes of everything we did: Pulitzer Museum, The Hill (Zia's), Soulard Farmer's Market, and Delmar Loop (stop in the Moonrise Hotel for the fun decor, have a drink in the restaurant bar or rooftop bar and a fantastic steak at the restaurant).

Second, the room price was extremely reasonable. The homeowner makes it clear on her website that this is a work of love in progress. For myself, the rooms were big & comfy - I care not that they are not filled with expensive antiques or that all restorations are not complete. There is no TV - but everyone in America needs a break from TV - we did control our urge for a Big Bang Theory fix by watching YouTube bloopers on our laptop using the free WiFi!

We love St Louis! If our trip had been longer, we might have revisited South Grand (we love us a restaurant with patio seating!) and downtown. And we missed the Cards this time ...we will be back!

(Totally disregard the review that mentioned an issue with the A/C. We are hot-natured and had no issues with the A/C on a hot weekend. And the homeowner was friendly and accommodating.)

Room Tip: Rooms are of varying sizes. Some have sofa or daybed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife had a great/relaxing night at the house! Room was great, breakfast was excellent! Will def return!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Marie was a wonderful hostess....very helpful with any of our needs. The home IS still under some restoration in parts, but the "livable" parts were beautiful. Our room was spotless and charming. Plenty of towels, and all the extras including robes. We were very happy with our stay here and will definitely return on any future visits to St. Louis. The breakfasts were fresh, healthy, and delicious. How wonderful to return back to the room one evening to the smell of freshly baked bread!!! Thanks Marie for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: World's Fair room was roomy and nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Benton Place, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your stay in a Romanesque Revival 1893 mansion, in historic Lafayette Square near downtown St. Louis. Enjoy the secluded, quiet beauty and feel of a private estate, while conveniently close to Busch Stadium, the St. Louis Arch, the St. Louis Zoo, the City Museum, St. Louis Art Museum, the Riverfront, etc. We are in the center of things to do in St. Louis. Guests are treated to a full breakfast of fresh baked pastries, fresh fruit, an egg entree, breakfast meat, toast and more. Freshly brewed coffee, organic teas, juice and milk are served daily. Special diet requests can be accommodated upon request. Choose between four spacious guest rooms, each with their own special character, large private bath and special features. All rooms are furnished with antiques and comfortable beds. Each room has a desk and free WI-FI. Outdoor pool; no pets; families welcome. One night stays and last minute reservations welcome (call for current availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.