We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 word... Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Benton Place, Saint Louis, MO 63104 (Lafayette Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1 word... Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife had a great/relaxing night at the house! Room was great, breakfast was excellent! Will def return!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Marie was a wonderful hostess....very helpful with any of our needs. The home IS still under some restoration in parts, but the "livable" parts were beautiful. Our room was spotless and charming. Plenty of towels, and all the extras including robes. We were very happy with our stay here and will definitely return on any future visits to St. Louis. The breakfasts were fresh, healthy, and delicious. How wonderful to return back to the room one evening to the smell of freshly baked bread!!! Thanks Marie for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: World's Fair room was roomy and nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The owner of this B&B was such a gracious host and provided a tasty breakfast as well as kind hospitality. This B&B was simply beautiful -- a true feast for the eyes from every vantage point.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed at this delightful B&B on an impromptu visit to St. Louis over 4th of July weekend. It is located in a charming neighborhood on a lovely quiet, tree-shaded cul-de-sac lined with historic homes. Lafayette Park is steps away at the end of the street, offering free outdoor concerts in the summer. A few blocks further (easy strolling distance) is a neighborhood shopping area with a number of food options. Downtown is a long walk or short five minute drive away, and the B&B is easy to find off I-44. Public areas downstairs (parlor, library, and dining room) are lovely; bedrooms are huge, clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed and large bathroom. Innkeeper generously provided an upgrade to a larger room (at no additional charge) when another traveler canceled their reservation. Front porch is a terrific spot to read or to catch a late-afternoon nap. To those with allergies, there is a cat on the premises (this was a plus with us, though). Parking is on-street, but felt very secure given the inn's location on a cul-de-sac with no through traffic. Wonderful breakfast. Couldn't have had a nicer stay, all in all it is a terrific bargain: for the price of a medium-end chain motel next to the interstate you get a wonderfully comfortable room in an inn loaded with charm and character in a great central location, first-rate, personalized service by a charming host and a homemade gourmet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This place was once beautiful but not for the last 50 years or so. "Restoration" is laughable and the hostess is unaware of what hospitality is. Air conditioning is virtually non-existant and I daresay that heating this place in winter would be impossible considering how the windows rattle, at least those still there. The street is beautiful, full of better-cared for homes. You can certainly find a better place for the rares.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We were so glad to have checked out Tripadvisor when coming to St Louis. A delightful walk from Union Station, Lehmann House is nestled amongst gorgeous architecture and leafy avenues in Lafayette Square. A reasonable walk will get you downtown but it was worth it for the lovely accommodation. The house is on three levels and the rooms are large, airy and filled with antique furniture and tasteful furnishings. Marie was a genuinely nice person who happily chatted whilst we enjoyed her breakfast creations - tasty food and home baking if there is room for that, served on antique crockery! The immediate area is well served with a local micro brewery (good food), several cafes, bars and elegant restaurants. Anyone looking for character and taste are encouraged to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My friend and I recently booked a trip to St.Louis, MO for a weekend get-a-way. Having never been there before, I started researching things to do, places to stay, etc... well in advance of our trip. We have travelled together in the past, and have always stayed at B&B's, because they usually offer so much more than the average hotel/motel.
When we finally arrived at the Lehmann House B&B really late..due to a delayed flight from NY, Marie was ever so nice, and didn't care about the late arrival. The area of the B&B is settled between other beautiful Mansion type Homes of long ago, with perfectly landscaped yards,trees, etc.. "WOW" was our first impression, walking up the Giantaic wrap around porch to ring the bell. It was beyond our expectations. Our room was on the second floor, called the Worlds Fair Room. It had a beautiful Giant Fireplace, and 20 feet or more ceilings, and was decorated with antiques. It has its own private, modern bathroom, which has been recently updated.
The downstairs, had a study, large living and dining room, and a giant foyer and entry way. Breakfast each morning was great. Marie prepared a great tasting full breakfast,
and sat with us, and was very knowing of the area and history. The B&B is extremely close to everything..downtown, the arch, resturants, etc...
One of our FAVORITE things we did, was visit St.Charles...about a 20 min ride from the B&B. This was a great little historic town, with cobblestone streets and quaint shops, bars and restaurants. We highly recommend this town as a day trip, as there is a lot to see. We did a 2 hour ghost tour for only $20. here with an interesting scientist/historian/ ghost seeker. Well worth it!!!!!
Lot's of St.Louis's homes and neighborhoods are run down, and boarded up. It's sad really, mostly foreclosures probably. The B&B is in a really GREAT part of the city, so don't worry.
We booked this B&B primarily because of it's reported "ghosts" that may wander its halls. As seekers of the unknown and paranormal, we were hoping to see something, or hear a noise that shouldn't be there. Unfortunately, the ghosts were really quiet this weekend, and didn't feel like making themselves known to the house guests. Marie told us that they seem to like that she is constantly trying to keep the house within the period that it was built, with modern amenities thrown in. They don't seem to bother her or her guests too often, but they are there never the less. We certainly weren't disappointed however with the lack of Ghostly activity, because we were just there to have fun and see the sights anyway. Who knows..maybe they will be there next time we go...Which we plan to do again someday!!!!
Overall, I highly recommend this place. It is located on the beautiful Benton Place, in the Historic LaFayette Square District of St.Louis. Marie is wonderful too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Benton Place, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.