We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pre-Symphony Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain on Locust

Fountain on Locust
3037 Locust ST, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Grand Center / Midtown)
314.535.7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,539 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Dessert, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Jefferson City, Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pre-Symphony Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found this place through the St. Louis Symphony website and decided to give it a shot. SOOOO glad we did. Sorry Thai Kitchen, you just got bumped from my Favorite St. Louis area restaurant spot. The food was excellent and creative. I had the porchetta & apple chutney sandwich with a cup of sweet potato ginger bisque. Well made, flavorful, and under $10! For dessert I couldn't resist one of their ice cream sundaes and was not let down. The Nutty Irishman was very good, but my date's Almond Joy was phenomenal. Great decor, too. Service was just ok, but they were quite busy on a Saturday night. The only down side was the noise level. It was loud enough that we had to shout acros the table. Turn the music down a bit and it would be perfect. Overall, I was very impressed and will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks so much for coming in before the symphony and taking the time time to post about your visit! If it's too loud the next time you come in, be sure to mention to the staff if its too loud and we'll see what we can do :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    62
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
memphis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We would drive hours to eat at The Fountain on Locust!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We LOVE this restaurant!! We've now brought our whole family to eat here over this past year. No one has ever been disappointed in their food or drinks or especially dessert! It's hard to pick favorites because everything is SO GOOD. There is a Signature salad sandwich that is to die for, and the ice cream martini's are awesome. All the desserts are delicious. Can't say enough about the menu and the way the restaurant is run. Why can't all restaurants be run this way? The servers are friendly and very helpful. They will patiently explain any menu item for you.
This is definitely worth a visit---we went the first time because we had a groupon for it, but you won't care if you don't have one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for the glowing review and for taking the time to post about us and drive your family up from Memphis! We hope to have you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ice cream martini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ice cream martinis...delicious and unique. Lots of other non-alcoholic ice cream choices on the menu, as well as food. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for coming in to try our ice cream martinis! So glad you enjoyed them and took the time to post about your visit. Come back and see us soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn, Missouri
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“An enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Tried this local restaurant out today after a trip to the zoo. Having heard a bunch about this place I've had it on my list to try. While I'm glad we checked it out and our food was good I wouldn't make a special trip there. When we arrived there were no open tables, which was fine. However, there really was no convenient place to wait without feeling like you were staring at other diners. Kids couldn't sit at the bar (which is a city rule) which made it harder to contain them and keep them out of other diners way.
Sandwiches and soups were good. My husband was pleased with his pickle soup. The best part of the meal was the coconut almond joy sundae. Kids enjoyed their chocolate ice cream sodas.
All in all this was a fun experience and I would recommend for others to check it out.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks so much for waiting to get a table with us after your trip to the zoo and taking time to post about your visit. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like I travelled to the 20's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

So glad I found this hidden gem of a restaurant. It is located in midtown on an unassuming street just off the main streets/hwy. I was pleasantly surprised when I walked in and it was a warm friendly atmoshphere with painted ceilings and antique booths. It was like I was in the some speakeasy in the 1920s. The pulled pork and chutney was really tasty with a deep flavor, the service great and the prices affordable. What more could you want for lunch?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlastl, Guest Relations Manager at Fountain on Locust, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks so much for finding us and posting about your recent visit. We hope you come back the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain on Locust also viewed

 

Been to Fountain on Locust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain on Locust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.