We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moonrise Hotel to your Saves list
Moonrise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Very cool! Only glitch, they have a Your Desires program which is great in concept. My partner signed up for it and it was awkward because when the staff arrived with the amenities from the program, they only brought a serving for one, so it was odd to have 1 Fitz root beer and 1 glass and 1 portion of nuts. Was the other person expected to watch? I wish they would have suggested that all guests should register. I just assumed that since there were 2 of us, they would have brought a serving for 2. But no complaints really since this is just a special touch. Also it was stated that the amenities would be in our room and they were brought up about 1 hour later. Love the spa products. Loved the bed. Loved the bathroom. Loved it all really. We will definitely go back and hope to enjoy it this summer when we can walk Delmar and really see the sights. We had a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    174
    42
    19
    17
See reviews for
166
380
63
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at the Moonrise to celebrate our Anniversary. He chose the Moonrise because it looked fun and different. It was fun and different in a very good way. We loved the contemporary design (the chandlier in the lobby is amazing) and the clean, modern rooms, but mostly the exceptionally helpful staff. We had tickets to a show at the Fox, and the front desk staff was very helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions . They answered several questions for us, called places for information and made dinner our dinner reservations. All the staff we encountered were very welcoming and helpful. The second evening we enjoyed walking to a movie at the historic Tivoli as well as a Loop neighborhood restaurant. We were very happy with the Moonrise and plan to return when we visit St. Louis again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

excellent service, clean comfortable rooms...bathroom sliding door a little odd because it wasn't heavey enough to block the sounds. Close to the Pagreant where we enjoyed a concert.
the bad--- every movement in the hallway was heard, we heard all of the conversation of the people in the adjoining room... Young adults camped in the hallway obviously intoxicated and very loud and obnoxious after 30 minutes we had to call the front desk(1 am)
Lumpy pillows..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Wonderful overnight stay. Excellent hotel and staff both helpful and friendly. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer!

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I've traveled to Europe, across Canada, and throughout the Americas and I have never come across such an exceptional hotel as the Moonrise hotel in St Louis, Missouri.

It is beautifully decorated, smoothly run and in an ideal location.

The room we stayed in was well lit, clean, warm, elegantly decorated with photos of Josephine Baker and our maid would leave us little notes to ask us if there was anything else we needed and to enjoy our stay.

The staff was so helpful, so polite, I have never been asked so many times in a hotel if there was anything else that I needed. There was always someone there to assist you at the front desk and room service is quick and efficient.

The restaurant, Eclipse, is delicious! You must try the grilled endive salad, the game potage and their cookies and cakes. Their oysters are delicious as well as their specialty whiskey drinks.

The location is perfect. Down the road is the famous Blueberry Hill, where legendary Chuck Berry occasionally preforms in the Duck Room. The bowling alley, The Pin Up Bowl is right next door, Tivoli Theater is one block over and The Pageant (if you want to enjoy some live music) is right around the corner. There are no bad seats at the Pageant, every single one has a great view! Their are boutiques and cute little shops that run up and down the street where one could get lost browsing the aisles of the bookstore, or looking at funky t-shirts or novelty items.

The area, known as "The Loop" is a little treasure. The way the inside (and some outsides!) of the buildings have been decorated with such care and love that you really need more than a day to go and look at all the collectible items as well as all the photographs.

I cannot believe that I have never been there before. But I do know that I will be going back in the summer months to experience it all over again.

My thanks to everyone at the Moonrise Hotel for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Great place right in the heart of "The Loop". Conveniently located to restaurants, night life and shops. Room was comfortable and beautiful. Top notch decor and ammenities. Great restaurant on site. Staff could not be more helpful. Hope we get a chance to come back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Went on a business trip, and was very happy with the stay. It was clear that these guys were trying to replicate the vibe of the W hotels - everyone dressed in black, soft lighting, just a touch of "attitude" in the service. But, I wound up paying less than $100 per night for a two night stay, and this elevates the Moonrise into one of the top values around.

The neighborhood is fun (well, as much fun as you can have in January in St. Louis), with a few trendy as well as retro spots in the neighborhood. I got a kick out of the St. Louis walk of fame..not quite the same league as the Hollywood walk of fame, but I appeciated the effort and the attempt at civic pride.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, although I could have used a pole vault to get on the bed, since the top of the mattress was so high off the ground. Plus, the chain in my toilet was messed up, but one conversation with the desk clerk got it handled. Minor quibbles. I would certainly take this room over 90% of the rooms I've stayed in.

Pretty nice restaurant/bar attached to the lobby, also. Decent enough fitness center.

The meeting facility was fine, and the room was comfortable. We kind of maxed out capacity with around 35 people, so its really meant for smaller groups.

Not a lot of other hotels in the neighborhood, so if this location happens to work out for your travel purposes, and you can get a good deal, I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.