We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Moonrise Hotel to your Saves list
Moonrise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
NJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here and went to a concert at the Pageant, which was right next door. The rooms were nice and the beds were very comfortable. Cute theme throughout hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, The lobby is awesome. You need hotel keycard to go up in the elevator, felt extra safe. Free parking in the back. My only complaints are that there aren't enough hooks or counter space in the bathroom for towels and bathroom products there was construction on the roof which started at 7am, which was kind of annoying. That is obviously a temporary problem. Booked the hotel months prior to trip for $150. Checked a few nights prior to leaving and it was $100 on hotels.com. I cancelled original reservation and rebooked.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It sounds like your stay went very well with us. Aside from the annoying construction that started early in the morning, of course. We do apologize for the inconvenience, and we also appreciate you being so understanding in regard to this temporary occurrence. We do hope that it didn't cause too much of a problem during your stay with us.

Hopefully if you decide to stay with us again you will not have to deal with the rooftop construction and you will be able to experience our new Moon Room, which was the reason for the noise.

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback as well as choosing to stay with us.

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    165
    39
    19
    17
See reviews for
158
356
62
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The noise levels in the hotel are simply unacceptable. Loud guests making noise until all hours of the night. In addition, there was a dog barking in room 609...day and night, and would typically START barking at 7 am on the weekend. It was impossible to get a good night of sleep here.

It's a shame really...great area of town, well-designed. Just no control by the management/staff regarding basic hotel requirements.

Room Tip: Request a room AWAY from the elevator...too much noise. ALL. NIGHT. LONG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It is unfortunate to hear that your experience with us did not go as expected. We did have a bit of a rambunctious crowd the weekend of your stay. Couple that with the consistent barking of the dog located near your room we can understand why sleeping proved to be difficult for you. Because of these issues, they ultimately led to a disappointing stay. We do apologize for these occurrences. It was definitely an unfortunate series of events that prevented you from being able to enjoy your time with us.

I do hope that if you are ever in the St. Louis area that you would consider staying with us again. If you would contact me personally, I would certainly put forth my best effort to ensure that you did not run into those same difficulties. I would also make sure that you are accommodated appropriately for the inconveniences of your previous stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback. We are gracious for your business and definitely look forward to the opportunity to make for a better experience.

Thank you
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is unique and I love all the Apollo 11 memorabilia near the hotel lobby. Beautifully decorated spa-looking hotel lobby (but, alas, no pool or spa!) with pleasantly scented candles burning at all times during the day and night. I loved the lighted stairway! Beds are very comfortable and the bathroom (while a bit small) is beautifully and tastefully decorated with a frosted glass shower door. H2O bath products were a nice luxury touch. Also, loved the closed heavy double doors that you must pass through after exiting the elevator. On them is posted a sign that reminds guests that on the other side of the double doors other people are in their rooms and sleeping. I definitely believe this gentle reminder was key to the low level of noise we experienced in our room all three nights. While this is obviously a hotel for the hip-adult crowd, I felt my 10yr and 14 yr old well behaved kids were very welcome. The workout facility was very clean and tidy. Machines were in order and they had a good assortment of weights. You can park for free in the lot behind the hotel and we did this for the 3 nights we were there. Parking in the lot can be very limited though in the evening hours, esp. if there is a concert next door. If you park your car when you check in and make sure you are back before the "nightlife" starts and walk or use public transportation and you will do well. Pi Pizzeria across the street is excellent, fabulous pizzas and delicious salads in a fun, open well lit atmosphere. The fro-yo place down the street was fun and we met some interesting people in this progressive neighborhood.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced that parking lot and was farther away from the partying crowd on the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
That was a very nice and detailed review that you gave of our hotel. and I must say that you being so positive is very much appreciated. Our lobby can be one of our main attractions and the stairwell definitely gets its fair share of attention. We are pleased to know that your children were able to feel comfortable and accepted in our hotel. We try to maintain a positive atmosphere that is pleasant for people of all ages. As far as parking is concerned, it can be a bit of a struggle during concert nights and on the weekend. I am glad to hear that you did not have too much of a problem with that. And typically speaking our Valet will always accommodate our guest that find difficulty in parking. Pi Pizza definitely garners much attention and if you happen to catch Froyo on a spring or summer night you may not even be able to get a share because of their popularity!

We appreciate you taking the time to offer valuable feedback and hopefully we see you again!

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent a week at the Moonrise and very much enjoyed it. Room was comfortable and quiet, and the outer space theme was a lot of fun. Service was very friendly and the location was great for walking to interesting restaurants and shops. I'd definitely stay there again if I went to St. Louis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Well, it sounds like everything worked out really well for you during your stay! We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback. Its awesome to know that you were able to take advantage of our location and we are pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and very accommodating! Thanks you for choosing to stay with us and hopefully we see you again in the future.

Thanks
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Went out of my $300 suite at 2am to get some ice to find 2 security guards outside my door listening into my room. I asked them why they were out there, was I too loud. They said they had not had any complaints. Then why are you standing outside my door but not knocking? Total invasion of privacy. They were listening through my door.

I had 5 friends having drinks in a 3 room suite. We could not talk above a whisper. Security followed us all night. Rude, accusatory, looking for trouble.

This place is great if you like ikea furniture and paying $300 to have your privacy invaded by a bunch of over aggressive wannabe cops. Oh, and paper thin walls apparently.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We do apologize that it may have seemed as if we were targeting you during your stay with us. We had received complaints from a room that was across the hall from you and wanted to make sure that no more disturbances would occur. Its unfortunate that one negative occurrence can effect the others nearby and cause for suspicion levels to increase. We do realize that at increased levels of volume, other parties nearby can be heard from the rooms of other guests, which is why we emphasize that people keep their volume to a minimum as much as possible. We do apologize for any discomfort or inconvenience this may have posed for you.

We do appreciate you still offering feedback and no matter good or bad it is important to us.

If you do find yourself maybe wanting to give us another chance, we would appreciate that and would hopefully be able to provide a better experience. Please contact me directly if you'd like and I will do my best to help with that.

Thank you
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We come here every year for my boyfriends birthday present. This year will be the 3rd year. Usually we book through sniqueaway.com, but this year I went ahead and book through the hotel. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is very nice, I like the sliding frosted glass doors! The rain shower head is wonderful and the shower is quite large. We enjoyed some time at the eclipse bar. The male bartender (I can't remember his name, he has tattoos, and had been there for both of our stays), was very, very friendly, and even willing to put up with my indecisiveness, suggested drinks (very good suggestions!), and they had a nice selection of beer and liquor. We have actually discussed just going to the bar and not even staying in a room. I love the smell of the hotel, this seems silly, but it is unique, and everytime I smell something similar, a smile comes to my face thinking of the Moonrise. I highly recommend it to everyone I know if they want a quick weekend getaway across the river :). That being said, I wish they had better parking, but in the city, I understand.. It would be nice if the valet didn't charge $30 a night though considering the options! I wish they provided more than 2 pods of coffee, and maybe some creamer in the rooms? Not everyone likes black coffee! The past two years, I have filled out the "my desires" information, and nothing has been done. Just the traditional $10 bucks for a candy bar (exaggeration) mini bar type stuff. So I don't really know if that is a program that they do anymore or what... I don't let it get to me too much and just go with the flow. And the heater/AC has been very loud in the rooms, but I guess that can be expected. Overall, I love this hotel, and it is in our plans for future birthdays too! Maybe next year we'll stay after his birthday to try out the rooftop bar!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
With you being such a loyal guest of ours, I am upset to know that you aren't better accommodated considering that you are a part of our Desires program. Whenever you decide to stay with us again, please ask for me personally, so that I can make sure that you are cared for properly. We do appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback, and even despite some of our shortcomings you still had positive things to say. Thank you for your kindness and we certainly look forward to you staying with us again, whether you are celebrating your boyfriends birthday or any other special occassion.

Thank you
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. We stayed here on a Saturday night. It was clean and well kept. The staff was great The location may not be the best, but it is a developing area. I would gladly stay here again. We went down the street and ate at Basso, which is also excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and providing positive feedback. There is definitely growth in our neighborhood and it will only continue to improve in time. Hopefully, you got a chance to see some of the Delmar Loop and take advantage of the restaurants and/or shops located in the area. Thanks so much for you taking the time to give us such postive regard. We hope to see you again!

Thanks
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.