We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Moonrise Hotel to your Saves list
Moonrise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Roswell, GA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this cute, boutique property for an overnight trip to St. Louis for a friend's wedding. I am giving it 5 stars because of the attention to detail, cleanliness and friendly staff, as well as the unique styling of this (I think) one of a kind property. From the outset, even before our arrival, the service was extremely friendly and helpful! I called a couple of days in advance to request an early check-in, due to the fact that we could not arrive until the day of the wedding. I explained that we were flying in for the wedding from ATL that morning for the wedding the same afternoon and would love to be able to be in a room by noon so that we would not be forced to travel in wedding dress clothes. They were very helpful and in fact, were able to get us checked in by noon as requested! Now, I must also share that there was a block of rooms reserved for the wedding party and guests and the hotel assigned us all to the 4th floor, and, on top of that, security and privacy were assured by the fact that only those of us who were booked on the 4th floor could access the 4th floor by swiping our key card!!
On to the room....The room was very comfortable and attractively designed in a nouveau style. The bathroom was very chic with a vessel sink and glass enclosed overhead rain shower. The toiletries were luxurious Spa products, including a body butter, and Spa sea salt body wash that I decided to try out in the shower the next morning. I was so pleasantly surprised by the soothing and invigorating mint aroma! What a great way to wake up!!!! Speaking of waking up....the next morning, we were sorry to have to drag ourselves out of the comfy bed to go catch our flight home!! It was definitely the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever experienced!!! Oh!!!I almost forgot...one more tiny touch in the bathroom....I opened the shower cap to use it and found a small elastic hair scrunchie to use with the shower cap!!! One other detail I have never experienced in a hotel room before.....an umbrella for our use in the closet!!!
Other details of this property that make it a one of a kind:
The Space and Lunar themed decor are unique and really fun!!! Be sure that you wander the lobby areas and go look at the photos of the Apollo era astronauts with hotel owner, Joe Edwards that grace the walls!! There are also many art pieces that are reminiscent of great 1950's Space Art!! Be sure to look up at the Chihuly glass chandelier in the lobby and go see "Robo Dynamo" the totally cool jukebox piece in the Eclipse restaurant!!! They have a rooftop bar area, that we never had a chance to go up and see. We hear that the views of the city from up there are just terrific!! I really wish we had another day or two to enjoy the Moonrise as well as the Delmar area.
If you are planning a trip to St. Louis, you really should go stay at the Moonrise!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Not everyone pays close attention to the details of their room so some things go overlooked, and in certain cases because of people being so detailed oriented they tend to be overly critical. Nevertheless it can be minor details that make or break a person's stay. In regards to your visit with us, it seems like no matter the size of the details, we were able to exceed your expectations. Hearing that is great news and we are proud to know that we could make for you an enjoyable experience! Hopefully you were able to explore the area in which we are located and more of the city as well. Thank you so much for your kind words and we do hope to see you again.

Thanks

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    165
    39
    19
    17
See reviews for
158
356
62
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've stayed here several times when in St. Louis for business. The Moonrise is always very clean, very comfortable and very friendly. The concept is fun, but what keeps me coming back is the fact that this easily transforms as a home away from home every few months. It's one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in; I sleep well every night and enjoy the rain shower as I get ready in the mornings. This is a perfect for those on the road who don't want to settle in like they're at home, but feel a little spoiled with a courteous and attentive staff if needed. Extra bonus - they're pet friendly!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We certainly want our guests to feel comfortable upon their arrival and during their stay. Its awesome to know that we are able to generate that feeling for you every time you stay with us! When traveling on business, if done often, staying in hotels can be a bit cumbersome, but we hope to alleviate that feeling by offering a friendly staff, accommodating rooms and convenience in regards to our central location allowing for easy exploration of our city. Thanks so much for your feedback. We do hope to see you again.

Thanks
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and i love travelling. We've been all over the world, stayed in many hotels, and have fond memories of many. We also have not so fond memories of many. Although i have very strong opinions, i rarely share them. In the case of the Moonrise, i make an exception. We travel to Saint Louis regularly. We ONLY stay at The Moonrise. Every time we have, we have been treated kindly and with a smile. The rooms have always been clean, which is a relief because my wife is a clean freak. The location is ideal since forest park and its many free "to do" opportunities are just a few blocks away. It's also not far from the Galleria Mall. Aside from those key locales, it's the crown jewel of the famous Delmar Loop, with tons of dining, shopping, and entertainment options. The onsite restuarant has one of my top three burgers OF ALL TIME! The rooftop bar is a hugely popular summer hang out with a stunning view of the city. The ambiance is fun and retro-modern while delivering a surprising feeling of comfort. The comfort part, i admit, may be from our familarity with The Moonrise, as it is our Saint Louis home away from home. It may be high-ish on the price list, but consider the free parking and it's a fair deal considering the sneaky nature of other establishments in the city that charge quietly for it in a fine print manner. As i said in the heading, give it a try...IT'S MORE THAN WORTH IT!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Considering the fact that you've traveled to many different parts of the world and stayed at many other hotels, it is great to know that our establishment has been able to meet your expectations and keep you coming back. With your experience traveling, your feedback is important. And considering the positive comments you shared about us, I must say we are greatly humbled. We certainly appreciate the kind words and do hope that you continue to show us the great support that you have.

Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again!

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at the Moonrise on a Wednesday night in November before flying out from Lambert the next morning. It is located near Washington University in the Del Mar district of St Louis not far from Blueberry Hill (where Chuck Berry still performs occasionally). As other reviewers have noted, it is a concept hotel centered on space exploration, and through its use of lighting, materials, wall hangings, and a large moon rotating on the roof, it develops this theme with charming consistency. My room, on the fifth floor facing Del Mar, was quite large; the bed was comfortable; and the ambiance delightful. The Eclipse restaurant and bar at the front of the hotel has good draft beer and the menu is interesting featuring fresh ingredients, vegetarian and vegan options, and a first-rate charcuterie plate for those of us who like cheese and cured meats. If the traffic is right, it is actually not that far from Lambert if you go to 170 then north towards 70. This is also a pet friendly hotel, providing home-made dog biscuits; though I must say the 50 dollar surcharge takes a bit of edge off the friendliness part. That is more than necessarily high, and I have to wonder whether the purpose of the surcharge is actually to discourage people from bringing their dogs. For truly Fido-friendly quality hotel accommodations in St. Louis, the Westin at the ballpark is still my top choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
That was quite a review you just gave and I must say it sounded pretty awesome! We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed response in regards to your stay. We're glad to know that we were able to accommodate you in all the ways that were needed during your time with us. In regards to our 50$ charge for pets, it is a cleaning fee that we apply because of the carpet cleaning needed to be done after the stay. We want to make sure others that stay, if allergic, do not have any issues. Nevertheless, we definitely encourage people to bring their pets as most of our employees love animals and are pet owners themselves. We do hope that didn't put too much of a damper on your stay, because we would love to have you stay with us again.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I wanted a special hotel for partner's birthday weekend jaunt to St. Louis and, boy, did this fit the bill! I'm so pleased I selected this over the Ritz or something downtown. This was fun and clean and the bed was super comfortable! The location was convenient to our activities in the CWE, the Fox, Lafayette Square, Clayton and Webster Groves. Maybe the welcome 'punch' swayed me! Had a nice walk up Delmar and parking was a breeze. Luckily we weren't there on a night the Pageant had an event - parking might have been troublesome then. Great place. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We really do appreciate you staying with us and providing such kind words about our establishment. The welcome drink sometimes does have that effect to sway people towards our favor. In you case we are glad that it worked out. I do believe we are centrally located to all areas of the city; knowing that you were able to visit all places of interest during your stay is awesome because we never want our guest to feel as if they're confined to just the Delmar area. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you in the future.

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Moonrise and have many, many compliments for the facility, the staff, the amenities and the restaurant. Lovely lobby, professional and friendly attendants. And all right on the Del Mar Circle! The room was lovely - very comfy and welcoming. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Bathroom was unique and well stocked. We had a late dinner at the Eclipse restaurant on Sunday night and were pleasantly surprised to find a full menu even at 10:30 p.m. The food was very good, waiter attentive and prices . . . .well, not inexpensive. All in all, though, this is my new favorite restaurant in all of St. Louis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Its great to know that we've made such an impression. And hopefully with us being your new favorite restaurant and hotel, we most certainly look forward to seeing you again. Please note that our late night menu extends to 3am and if you are staying with us we offer 24 hour room service! So 10:30pm isn't even that late in our books! We take it as a personal matter to ensure that our guests are welcomed warmly and treated respectfully thus we are pleased to know that your experience with us was enjoyable. Thank you for your time and feedback.

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Moonrise several times over the last few years and always had enjoyable stays. The staff are extremely friendly and accomodating, the decor is "out of this world" (with its funky space-age theme), and the beds plush and comfortable. I particularly like the soundscape machines in the guest rooms and the breakfasts in the restaurant Eclipse--very reasonably priced and delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Knowing that we continuously meet your expectations, personally, makes me proud. As a member of this hotel, we practice not only providing excellent service but consistency as well. We appreciate you providing feedback as well as being a frequent guest of our establishment. We hope to make for you many more enjoyable experiences!

Thank You

Jeremy Ward
Agent of DesireS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.