We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Moonrise Hotel to your Saves list
Moonrise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and i love travelling. We've been all over the world, stayed in many hotels, and have fond memories of many. We also have not so fond memories of many. Although i have very strong opinions, i rarely share them. In the case of the Moonrise, i make an exception. We travel to Saint Louis regularly. We ONLY stay at The Moonrise. Every time we have, we have been treated kindly and with a smile. The rooms have always been clean, which is a relief because my wife is a clean freak. The location is ideal since forest park and its many free "to do" opportunities are just a few blocks away. It's also not far from the Galleria Mall. Aside from those key locales, it's the crown jewel of the famous Delmar Loop, with tons of dining, shopping, and entertainment options. The onsite restuarant has one of my top three burgers OF ALL TIME! The rooftop bar is a hugely popular summer hang out with a stunning view of the city. The ambiance is fun and retro-modern while delivering a surprising feeling of comfort. The comfort part, i admit, may be from our familarity with The Moonrise, as it is our Saint Louis home away from home. It may be high-ish on the price list, but consider the free parking and it's a fair deal considering the sneaky nature of other establishments in the city that charge quietly for it in a fine print manner. As i said in the heading, give it a try...IT'S MORE THAN WORTH IT!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Considering the fact that you've traveled to many different parts of the world and stayed at many other hotels, it is great to know that our establishment has been able to meet your expectations and keep you coming back. With your experience traveling, your feedback is important. And considering the positive comments you shared about us, I must say we are greatly humbled. We certainly appreciate the kind words and do hope that you continue to show us the great support that you have.

Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again!

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    167
    39
    19
    17
See reviews for
159
358
62
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at the Moonrise on a Wednesday night in November before flying out from Lambert the next morning. It is located near Washington University in the Del Mar district of St Louis not far from Blueberry Hill (where Chuck Berry still performs occasionally). As other reviewers have noted, it is a concept hotel centered on space exploration, and through its use of lighting, materials, wall hangings, and a large moon rotating on the roof, it develops this theme with charming consistency. My room, on the fifth floor facing Del Mar, was quite large; the bed was comfortable; and the ambiance delightful. The Eclipse restaurant and bar at the front of the hotel has good draft beer and the menu is interesting featuring fresh ingredients, vegetarian and vegan options, and a first-rate charcuterie plate for those of us who like cheese and cured meats. If the traffic is right, it is actually not that far from Lambert if you go to 170 then north towards 70. This is also a pet friendly hotel, providing home-made dog biscuits; though I must say the 50 dollar surcharge takes a bit of edge off the friendliness part. That is more than necessarily high, and I have to wonder whether the purpose of the surcharge is actually to discourage people from bringing their dogs. For truly Fido-friendly quality hotel accommodations in St. Louis, the Westin at the ballpark is still my top choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
That was quite a review you just gave and I must say it sounded pretty awesome! We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed response in regards to your stay. We're glad to know that we were able to accommodate you in all the ways that were needed during your time with us. In regards to our 50$ charge for pets, it is a cleaning fee that we apply because of the carpet cleaning needed to be done after the stay. We want to make sure others that stay, if allergic, do not have any issues. Nevertheless, we definitely encourage people to bring their pets as most of our employees love animals and are pet owners themselves. We do hope that didn't put too much of a damper on your stay, because we would love to have you stay with us again.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I wanted a special hotel for partner's birthday weekend jaunt to St. Louis and, boy, did this fit the bill! I'm so pleased I selected this over the Ritz or something downtown. This was fun and clean and the bed was super comfortable! The location was convenient to our activities in the CWE, the Fox, Lafayette Square, Clayton and Webster Groves. Maybe the welcome 'punch' swayed me! Had a nice walk up Delmar and parking was a breeze. Luckily we weren't there on a night the Pageant had an event - parking might have been troublesome then. Great place. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We really do appreciate you staying with us and providing such kind words about our establishment. The welcome drink sometimes does have that effect to sway people towards our favor. In you case we are glad that it worked out. I do believe we are centrally located to all areas of the city; knowing that you were able to visit all places of interest during your stay is awesome because we never want our guest to feel as if they're confined to just the Delmar area. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you in the future.

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Moonrise and have many, many compliments for the facility, the staff, the amenities and the restaurant. Lovely lobby, professional and friendly attendants. And all right on the Del Mar Circle! The room was lovely - very comfy and welcoming. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Bathroom was unique and well stocked. We had a late dinner at the Eclipse restaurant on Sunday night and were pleasantly surprised to find a full menu even at 10:30 p.m. The food was very good, waiter attentive and prices . . . .well, not inexpensive. All in all, though, this is my new favorite restaurant in all of St. Louis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Its great to know that we've made such an impression. And hopefully with us being your new favorite restaurant and hotel, we most certainly look forward to seeing you again. Please note that our late night menu extends to 3am and if you are staying with us we offer 24 hour room service! So 10:30pm isn't even that late in our books! We take it as a personal matter to ensure that our guests are welcomed warmly and treated respectfully thus we are pleased to know that your experience with us was enjoyable. Thank you for your time and feedback.

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Moonrise several times over the last few years and always had enjoyable stays. The staff are extremely friendly and accomodating, the decor is "out of this world" (with its funky space-age theme), and the beds plush and comfortable. I particularly like the soundscape machines in the guest rooms and the breakfasts in the restaurant Eclipse--very reasonably priced and delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Knowing that we continuously meet your expectations, personally, makes me proud. As a member of this hotel, we practice not only providing excellent service but consistency as well. We appreciate you providing feedback as well as being a frequent guest of our establishment. We hope to make for you many more enjoyable experiences!

Thank You

Jeremy Ward
Agent of DesireS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My favorite hotel in St Louis! Room was excellent (the cleanliness and the set up). The staff was very friendly & courteous. My wife and I had a delicious dinner in Eclipse Restaurant. The waiter and the manager treated us like family. The bed was very comfortable and the wi-fi access was free and reliable. Free parking. Breakfast through room service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Top knotch and we're your favorite! We are glad to know we have made such an impression! Thank you so much for your time and your feedback. We do hope to see you again in the restaurant and at the hotel so that we can match the experience you had and hopefully even find ways to improve.

Thank You

Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Complete satisfaction with our experience.
Appreciate the the beauty, the location, the bed, the sound machine and the cleanliness.
Mostly appreciate the people - the friendly, caring service.
We arrived late on a Friday night . . . after a fun walk on TheLoop,
we got some amazing room service at midnight.
Highly recommend the place for couples.
The hotel has a good feel - young, cultural, happy.

I look forward to making weekend getaways at the Moonrise Hotel a tradition!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisemanager, Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us some feedback about your stay. One of biggest features is being apart of the Delmar Loop, so knowing you got a chance to experience the culture in this area is pretty sweet. Our late night menu does have a few treats on there, and I must say that I myself have gotten to enjoy them as well on a few late occasion! It's awesome to know that you had a great time. We definitely hope to see you again.

Thanks
Jeremy Ward
Agent of Desires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.