We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moonrise Hotel to your Saves list
Moonrise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Really great hotel. Perfect location, clean, upscale, good service, cute decor. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks so much for posting the review and using the word "perfect." we could have recieved no better compliment! Happy Travels!
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    174
    42
    19
    17
See reviews for
166
379
63
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wonderful employees that to out of their way to please. Has free valet parking. Child and dog friendly. Has workout room and swimming pool..The bar, dining room and luncheon area were pleasant. They even had a nice sized private party going on that was closed off by glass windows. I loved all the fixtures and modern up to date rooms. We had a safe that held our laptops in the closet. Refrigerator---coffee set up. Could not have asked for more....I understand this is privately owned by a local investor. He has a bowling alley a few doors away--did not use it but the waitress said it was well used. Very convenient to Washington University. Soccer teams and parents of Univ. students were there. Neighborhood not too exciting. Lots of Thia resturants on street.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor .During the evening they closed off the floor doors to keep any elevator ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you so much for posting the review. we appreciate your kind words in regards to the team and the hotel. Happy travels!
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Someone has a skill for incredible design, an eye for comfort and overall knowledge of what the business traveler seeks. This place is true to its name -- the decor, lighting and furnishing are all out of this world... When you're used to the same business hotels, this is an oasis. The staff was courteous, the internet was free, the business center convenient and the food delicious. We have already made reservations for a return trip.

Room Tip: You have to stay here to understand the name of the place. It's all about the moon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review and the nice words about the staff & decor. Appreciate the review from a business traveler such as yourself.
all the best,
martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is a charming Euro-style hotel in a wonderful location on Delmar Loop. The food at the hotel restaurant is good and reasonably priced, and overall the property is well maintained and clean. We live in the St. Louis area, and had been planning this Labor Day Weekend getaway for quite a while. We had very high hopes for this hotel because of the reviews we read and because we know the Delmar Loop area a bit and enjoy that part of St. Louis.
However, on the day we arrived the hotel had just suffered from a sudden very localized thunderstorm that left them without power for the entire evening on our arrival date. This meant there were no lights, no air conditioning and no food service in the restaurant. Also, the rooftop terrace was closed because of the storm. Since much of the appeal of this hotel is the decor, lighting, rooftop terrace, and space travel memorabilia, and since NONE of that was available for us the first day we were there, we felt a bit "cheated" out of our experience of the hotel that first day and evening. We realize that this was out of the control of the hotel staff, but instead of offering us some sort of discounted rate for staying that night (in spite of having no lights and no air conditioning, and having our dinner reservation canceled because they couldn't open their refrigerators), they did NOTHING. They did not offer us so much as a complimentary drink from the bar while we waited for our room keys to be activated (which took quite a while due to the power outage). This was simply an issue of very poor customer service. Our experience could have been so much different if the hotel staff had handled this differently. As it was, when we mentioned how disappointed we were at the time we checked out, they handed us a card for a 10% discount on a future booking. Needless to say, we will probably not take advantage of that and they have most likely lost not only any future business from us, but also any recommendation we could have given to our friends and family. Very disappointing, and very sorry that our weekend getaway was marred by this experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

In a world of cookie-cutter chain hotels, it was refreshing to enjoy a stay at the Moonrise Hotel on the Delmar Loop. The rooms are large and beautifully designed and the bathrooms are equipped with great rainfall showers. The fitness center had state-of-the-art equipment and we enjoyed the in-house restaurant. Free coffee is served from 5am in the lobby.The hotel is close to Washington University and is the perfect choice for all visitors to Wash U. I only wish that there were other hotels like the Moonrise in other cities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

the moonrise hotel is a gem. the staff is outstanding. rooms were ultra clean and beautifully appointed. the gym is fine. the restaurant, eclipse, is terrific. the rooftop bar is really a fun place to check out. have stayed at the nearby ritz carlton for 3 years and so happy to finally try this property. we are coming back in october!

Room Tip: i checked out the rooms and they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
thanks so much for the kind review. glad that you enjoyed the time. look forward to meeting you in October.
regards,
martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

An eclectic property with excellent service from the staff and spotless rooms. The place is owned by a fellow who has (evidnetly) single-handedly decided to bring back from the dead a not-far-from downtown neighborhood. That kind of determination deserves support all around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and the positive review. The team here is certainly shares Mr. Edwards dedication to The Hotel and the entire Delmar Loop.
Regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.