We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $20 on select meals
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uneven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Nice and comfortable hotel. Windows in the lobby and restaurant/bar were weirdly decorated with stained glass depictions of medieval characters in a Tavern. It felt like a monastery.
Service was uneven throughout the hotel. Some were excellent. Some had no clue.
Food was average in the meetings and restaurant. Breakfast buffet looked like a holiday Inn express. For example, the bagels looked like the frozen lenders bagels at the grocery store.
I would wait to stay there again until they figure out what type of property they want to be.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    48
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
53
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms are large, furnishings are trendy, and the room feels like one you'd find in Vegas. Staff was very friendly and service was excellent. I would definitely stay there over anywhere else if you're looking at downtown STL.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was sooooo excited that my husband got this hotel on his business trip and I could tag along! So many perks and beautiful, classy and well-located! It's a beautiful historic hotel almost next to the convention center, I was able to explore all over downtown from here. From their Tesla house car to their free breakfast & happy hour to their evening cookies, there's not much I could've asked for. Our room ended up being huge with a separate living room, separate toilet/shower, separate bathroom and separate bedroom! I only wish we'd have had a refrigerator, that's probably my only complaint.

Room Tip: Get to the complimentary HH early as it gets busy fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

from the decor to the service, the quality of the amenities, and the size and style of the rooms, this has been the best hotel stay of my life! in addition to the general awesomeness of the decor, service and rooms, the free wi-fi, free continental breakfast, free evening happy hour, and free milk and cookies before bed all add a great deal of value to the stay. what a fun, unique, gem of a hotel in the heart of downtown St. Louis!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice change from big hotel chains, but not precious and twee like other boutique properties. Magnolia strikes a great balance between cool, classic and comfortable. The rooms/suites are generously sized. There are some excellent restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel; I found downtown St. Louis to be clean and friendly, with beautiful vintage architecture.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Toni W

Thanks, we're so glad you like the change. We try to be different, a bit cool, but mostly just friendly! Kudos to you for noticing and appreciating us. Thank you.

Travel safe.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The service was outstanding ... from the front desk staff ... to the bar staff ... to the Tesla driver. The room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. And the WiFi was excellent ... and so appreciated that it is included! We attended the complimentary cocktail hour ... and the bartenders were very professional and courteous ... and the wine was enjoyable. The stained glass windows add a charming ambience. We also were able to secure complimentary transportation via their Tesla ... what an awesome opportunity to experience this car for the first time! The complimentary continental breakfast was typical fare. And while the breakfast staff was friendly enough ... they sure could bang the dishes and silverware.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Sherry S

Yea, we love that Tesla too and now we love you too! Thanks for the kindness! We'll work on that breakfast noise too :)

Travel safe - see you next time,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

At my workplace, we recently won a software development contract to a customer that necessitates visiting their location in downtown St Louis. As a result, I have stayed at the Magnolia three times in the last month. As well, several other members of my team have made the trip to St Louis, staying at the Magnolia and other hotels nearby. By far, the Magnolia has emerged as the favorite of the team.
Unlike the Crown Plaza nearby, which those that stayed there refer to as “the dump,” the Magnolia has been refreshed and is sparkling clean. Comparing it to the Crown Plaza and nearby Omni, it also offers a much more competitive rate.

The hotel is in an old, 90 year old building, but has been renovated. It is an attractive mix of some of the old (stain glass windows on the first floor, ceilings, chandeliers, etc.) mixed with a modern and contemporary vibe. As the building is old, a few of the rooms have different layouts (one room had a sitting area and a small bathroom that was separated from the bedroom by a hallway), but most rooms were more typical (good sized bathroom, one open space with plenty of space for a seating area, desk, and bed).

The staff was very friendly each stay…didn’t encounter anyone who wasn’t friendly or said hello as you passed them.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast, which features a cornucopia of carbs (oatmeal, pastries, bread, fruit, cereal, etc.). As I am training and dieting for an upcoming competition, a lot of that has fallen off my diet, but eggs and other forms of protein could be ordered off the menu. As well, they have a nightly evening reception featuring beer and wine and a cookie bar (which I’m sure was great had I not been dieting).

The hotel offers free rides in its Tesla to downtown locations. We took it a couple of times to the office and to the Gateway Arch. As well, it has free Wi-Fi.

As we often travel back late in the afternoon, the hotel allows checking bags when checking out to pick up later, which is convenient to not have to haul luggage to the office.

They have a clean and nice fitness center on the 18th floor. They provide towels, sanitizing wipes, and ear buds if you forgot yours. It is fairly small in terms of weights and machines, but had a variety of cardio equipment and the equipment is clean and in excellent condition.

Only minor negative was, being in an old building, some nights, it took a while (3-5 minutes) to get hot water in the shower. It always came, but sometimes took a while. It never seemed to be a problem in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
ChipTX

Outstanding and thanks. Glad we're not the "dump" :) But seriously, awesome note and we can't wait to drive you around again soon!

Travel safe.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel

Address: 421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named to the National Historic Register and a 2015 AAA Four Diamond Recipient, the St. Louis Magnolia Hotel originally opened in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss. The hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. The hotel is now one of the most recognized in the area for it's historical significance and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Roberts Mayfair
The Mayfair Hotel St Louis
Wyndham Saint Louis
Saint Louis Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.