We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well-appointed in downtown St. Louis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $20 on select meals
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Comfortable and well-appointed in downtown St. Louis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice change from big hotel chains, but not precious and twee like other boutique properties. Magnolia strikes a great balance between cool, classic and comfortable. The rooms/suites are generously sized. There are some excellent restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel; I found downtown St. Louis to be clean and friendly, with beautiful vintage architecture.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    48
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
52
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The service was outstanding ... from the front desk staff ... to the bar staff ... to the Tesla driver. The room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. And the WiFi was excellent ... and so appreciated that it is included! We attended the complimentary cocktail hour ... and the bartenders were very professional and courteous ... and the wine was enjoyable. The stained glass windows add a charming ambience. We also were able to secure complimentary transportation via their Tesla ... what an awesome opportunity to experience this car for the first time! The complimentary continental breakfast was typical fare. And while the breakfast staff was friendly enough ... they sure could bang the dishes and silverware.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

At my workplace, we recently won a software development contract to a customer that necessitates visiting their location in downtown St Louis. As a result, I have stayed at the Magnolia three times in the last month. As well, several other members of my team have made the trip to St Louis, staying at the Magnolia and other hotels nearby. By far, the Magnolia has emerged as the favorite of the team.
Unlike the Crown Plaza nearby, which those that stayed there refer to as “the dump,” the Magnolia has been refreshed and is sparkling clean. Comparing it to the Crown Plaza and nearby Omni, it also offers a much more competitive rate.

The hotel is in an old, 90 year old building, but has been renovated. It is an attractive mix of some of the old (stain glass windows on the first floor, ceilings, chandeliers, etc.) mixed with a modern and contemporary vibe. As the building is old, a few of the rooms have different layouts (one room had a sitting area and a small bathroom that was separated from the bedroom by a hallway), but most rooms were more typical (good sized bathroom, one open space with plenty of space for a seating area, desk, and bed).

The staff was very friendly each stay…didn’t encounter anyone who wasn’t friendly or said hello as you passed them.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast, which features a cornucopia of carbs (oatmeal, pastries, bread, fruit, cereal, etc.). As I am training and dieting for an upcoming competition, a lot of that has fallen off my diet, but eggs and other forms of protein could be ordered off the menu. As well, they have a nightly evening reception featuring beer and wine and a cookie bar (which I’m sure was great had I not been dieting).

The hotel offers free rides in its Tesla to downtown locations. We took it a couple of times to the office and to the Gateway Arch. As well, it has free Wi-Fi.

As we often travel back late in the afternoon, the hotel allows checking bags when checking out to pick up later, which is convenient to not have to haul luggage to the office.

They have a clean and nice fitness center on the 18th floor. They provide towels, sanitizing wipes, and ear buds if you forgot yours. It is fairly small in terms of weights and machines, but had a variety of cardio equipment and the equipment is clean and in excellent condition.

Only minor negative was, being in an old building, some nights, it took a while (3-5 minutes) to get hot water in the shower. It always came, but sometimes took a while. It never seemed to be a problem in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic treatment - unexpected evening treats - wine/bear at happy hour & milk & cookies before going to bed. The rides in the Tesla, even if only to/from the Arch was fun and unexpected as well. Staff friendly and made us feel very welcome. Other than not being in Hawaii - it was almost like being at the Royal Hawaiian in Honolulu!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was selected for a 3 day business meeting for a group of approximately 35-50 and it was not your typical "corporate" venue (YAY!). Our meeting "room" was on the 2nd level and comprised a large open room with window shadow blinds that enhanced our screens for video display while still giving you tantalizing glimpses of the courtyard outside. An area for food/drinks/snacks was just inside the entryway to the large room set with round tables and was easily set up without distracting us by the hotel for our various snack or meal needs and the food served was delicious. Cocktail hours with light appetizers were my favorite though - really nice wine and excellent cheeses that you'd have served in a cheese course in a fine dining establishment! They even had passed appetizers - definitely a step up. I opted for their hotel restaurant for a meal in room and one in their bar area - both were way above average - the chef had an amazing gift with sauces and soups - very deft hand at flavoring and spices to make the dishes sing. The only food item I found odd were the way they made breakfast potatoes ... it was a strange sort of deep fried potato cube ... must be a Southern thing - they were just odd to me and I skipped eating those. The room was large and comfortable - no fridge - but otherwise well appointed. Despite a recommendation to let the water run for really hot water - I had no issues getting hot water and the shower and bed were both far above average for comfort - 6 pillows on the bed was luxurious! I like a chilly room and set the temp at 65 and it was quiet and cool the entire stay. My one disappointment was that I used valet and had stupidly left 18 dollars in the car cup holder - was for toll fees - and I forgot it was there when I arrived at 1 a.m. - and 3 days later when I got my car to go out - it was no longer there. Stupid on my part I know - but disappointing none the less ... especially since I had paid 28$ per night for valet parking. Otherwise my 4 night/5 day stay at Magnolia was great! The complimentary happy hour and milk & cookies bed time turn in at the bar area were really really nice surprises and staff is very friendly. I always felt they were eager to make everything perfect.

Room Tip: not a hotel for kids - no pool - no game room - and no "kid things" to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel has so many good things, yet the stay was a real disappointment. The hotel is beautiful, and the front desk staff and valet personnel were extremely nice. The room itself was nicely appointed, and the beds were wonderful.

The bad? Breakfast was disappointing. No cereal bowls out, the oatmeal was stone cold, no tea bags available. As we were finishing breakfast, one person asked for tea, and the waitress brought out a box of tea bags from an outside room and then promptly returned them to the inaccessible room.

The UGLY? The thermostat in the room did not work. The room was cold, so we set the thermostat up......nothing but cold air. We called maintenance, and that brought a quick response. He came back later for a second visit. Still nothing but cold air when we returned to our room at the end of the night. The next day, we called again about the thermostat, and this time the head of maintenance came. He also returned later, judging by the fact that our room door was open when we return, but again, nothing but cold air from the thermostat. Management is clearly lacking a process to ensure that issues are taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Allenflusa

Thanks for reaching out. We hope you give our general manager a call to discuss in more detail and we'll make it right.

We're glad we had some good in there, but we need to fix the bad and the ugly. Rest assured, we will.

Thanks for the honesty. We apologize for not having a perfect stay arranged for you.
Travel safe.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Although it was the wrap around historic stained glass and original crystal chandeliers that first caught our eye, it was the excellent and attentive staff that won us over. We live locally and wanted an urban getaway for our 15th anniversary. This 1924 hotel, on the Registry of Historic Places, has been fully renovated to integrate the historic details with a very modern, relaxed style. Much cozier than staying in one of the bigger hotels in the immediate area. Location is walking distance from America's Center and Washington street with its popular restaurants and bars. Nestled in a downtown location, you won't get much in the way of a "view" but the rooms were very quiet (the colors quite neutral and serene) and the bed very comfortable. Amenities include a small breakfast buffet, evening happy hour with free wine and beer (house), and best of all, free transportation within 3 miles of the hotel from 3-11 in a TESLA! All together, this was a lovely, relaxing stay. They had only been open a little over a week, but everything was working smoothly and, again, the STAFF is the hotel's greatest asset. Thank you to everyone who really made our weekend special and made us feel, truly, like "guests." Last time another local overnight was mentioned, my husband asked, "You want to stay at the Magnolia again?" We will!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
elkkid

First off, KUDOS to your husband. He's a very smart man. :) Second, this review really caught our attention. You hit the nail on the head on every point, especially the one about our staff! They are AWESOME from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave. We're very proud of them and glad to hear you were as well.

Next weekend is a good time for staycation if you want to hint it to your hubby...

Thanks again for such wonderful comments.

Travel safe.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel

Address: 421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named to the National Historic Register and a 2015 AAA Four Diamond Recipient, the St. Louis Magnolia Hotel originally opened in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss. The hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. The hotel is now one of the most recognized in the area for it's historical significance and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Roberts Mayfair
The Mayfair Hotel St Louis
Wyndham Saint Louis
Saint Louis Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.