We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunt Convention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$119 (USD)
Ranked #20 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
1 review
“Haunt Convention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice and very clean, Chose another location for food service, our meals and the tables were poor. A little pricey. No pool. Service was very good, Beverage service good, food service lacking. Nice weight room, clean, but some equipment inoperable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
38
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is so convenient to the convention center and all the restaurants on Washington Street. Newly purchased and updated, we had a great stay. The mattresses were nice and firm for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
BerryGrower

The best part about your note is that you slept well. It's really why we're here. We LOVED that comment. Thanks from our staff and certainly the bed manufacturer. :) Bet they'd love to read this almost as much as we did.

See you next visit for some more outstanding sleep. Just don't sleep through breakfast....

Safe travels
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As you enter the hotel you notice the classic hotel has been exquisitely refurbished. Walking to the lobby the staff immediately greets you and makes you feel welcome as their guest. The rooms were exceptionally decorated and beds very comfortable. As one review noted they do not have refrigerators available in the rooms which may an issue for families traveling with children, but not a problem for business travelers.

Breakfast is simple; bagels, cereal, fruit, yoghurt or you can pay for additional items as you need. The evening happy hour with beer and wine is generous and cookies and milk bar later in the evening was something unique.

I highly recommend the Magnolia for the discerning business traveler who enjoys ambience, comfort and a welcoming staff. The Magnolia made my stay in St. Louis exceptional.

Room Tip: My room was on the 13th floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Ted727

This is a turn of the century review. We think you're awfully awesome to tell everyone about us. So, from all of us, a HUGE thank you!!!

See you next visit.

Safe travels
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Such a BEAUTIFUL hotel! I travel quite a bit for work and ended up getting stuck in St Louis for a night, I was able to get a room last minute and was very well taken care of. I LOVE a good turn down service, which Magnolia does well. They have a great bar/lounge area with friendly staff and really yummy food! It was a pleasant, unexpected stay in St. Louis. Also- the beds are SO SO SO comfortable! I will definitely be staying here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Alyssa R

This was SO SO SO SO SO awesome to read. It's going up on our comment board for all our staff to read. They will love it as they work so hard.

See you next time. We'll be sure the chef has some super yummy food ready too. :)

Safe travels
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The historic, boutique Magnolia Hotel (formerly the 1920's Mayfair Hotel) was our choice for a recent stay in downtown St. Louis. The reception worker immediately upgraded our room to a gorgeous suite on the 17th floor when he learned I was a Stash Rewards member. That was a plus! Sign up is free and easy.
Our suite was incredibly quiet, beautifully furnished, clean and well stocked. The king bed was comfortable. We were located one floor below the fitness area and didn't even know it!
The stain glass windows decorating the outer perimeter of the hotel lobby and bar area evoke the medieval period. A wonderful sitting area is right off the reception area on the first floor. Its gas fireplace made it cozy on this early spring morning. Complimentary continental breakfast is fresh prepared in Robie's which is located on site too.
If you are in St. Louis to sight see, a complimentary, downtown area shuttle service is offered by the Magnolia. It uses the very coo and unusual electric vehicle, the TESLA.
Valet parking is available for $28/day, however our doorman shared that self parking is offered at $16/day within an easy block walking distance between 9th & 10th streets. His transparent sharing of this information made us feel as if place and its employees truly cares about offering patrons a unique experience suited to their own personal desires.

Room Tip: Higher floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
VaporK8

Go STASH perks!!!!!!!!!!! Glad you loved the upgrade (and everything else for that matter).
Thanks for the note on the doormen. He's awesome but now even more so as he's honest. We like that approach.

Thanks a ton for the five stars!

Travel safe.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The location was perfect, and the building and its decor were lovely. This upscale hotel met or exceeded my expectations in every way.

I would be hard pressed to find any fault; if I had to nitpick, I would say 2 things: I was surprised there was no fridge in my room, and had my stay been longer that might have bothered me. Secondly, the shower curtain was an inch too short, resulting in lots of water on the bathroom floor. But honestly, overall my stay was wonderful, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Eden H

Nitpicky? Now we don't mind that at all. Not only do we think your review is AWESOME, we think you are AWESOME.

As for the shower curtain, we'll have to check that out. Seems like it should go all the way down....

Well, come on back soon. We'll keep it immaculate 'til you return.

Thanks for being you.

Safe travels.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here to attend a sports event at Scott Trade Center. The hotel is just a few blocks from the St Louis arch. Walked two blocks from Metrolink to get to hotel from airport. Cost from airport $4 per person.
Check in efficient and quick. Our room on 9 th floor included entry sitting room with sofa and second TV. Very nice since my husband sleeps early and sleeping area separated by wall. Bath small but adequate tub & shower. Pot for tea or coffee in the sitting room room. Quiet corner room. View from window of parking lot.
18 th floor gym with weights and cycles was adequate with some musty smell probably related to the carpet.
Service was excellent. Staff extremely positive and help with places to see and scheduling car ride in Tesla to Convention Center.
Restaurant & bar staff very cheerful and helpful . Dinner of salmon & beef for my husband excellent. Bar was very busy .

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
sunshinevalues

Wow, your comments are awesome and now I'm hungry hearing about your hubby's dinner. Sounds yummy.

Glad you liked the new place. We love it too.

Come back soon and often! We'll fire up the grill for you.

Safe travels

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel

Address: 421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named to the National Historic Register, the new St. Louis Magnolia Hotel will reopen in early summer, 2014. Originally built in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss, the hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Roberts Mayfair
The Mayfair Hotel St Louis
Wyndham Saint Louis
Saint Louis Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.