We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in St. Louis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$119 (USD)
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay in St. Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean, modern, and they have free cookies and milk from 8:30 - 10:30 every night. What more can you ask for? The staff was friendly, the room was very spacious and clean, the lobby was very chic and the free breakfast was a great added bonus.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    27
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
27
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here December 2014 and was so impressed with the location and amenities for the price. I booked directly through the hotel for 89/night. The staff was great and I would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Jennifer J

Thanks for the high five. We now think you are INCREDIBLE too. And by the way, thanks for mentioning that you booked through our web site. While we love all sites that send people our way, we're very fond of our own, so thanks. Sounds like you got a screaming deal and now you have to promise us to come back. We think you just might.

Thanks again!!!!! Happy January.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful hotel. Great rooms and staff, would definitely stay there again! However, the lounge and restaurant service was quite disappointing. Expensive for very bad service! Would plan on eating elsewhere if I stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Marilyn B

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear reviewer, happy birthday to you...and we hope you come back for MANY MORE!!! (good thing you can't actually hear me singing that)

But, sorry to hear about the dining experience - not up to par for our standards. We'll dive into that right now and figure out what happened. We have an amazing chef, so lets give that a try again on your next b-day, if not sooner!

Thanks for the heads up on the dining and for the awesome review nonetheless.

See you soon,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great staff, beautiful location. Complimentary happy hour, cookies (night), and breakfast until 11AM. Would stay with friends, sig. other, or family. Also centrally located downtown. The hotel just has a great ambiance from the moment you enter!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Annie M

Well, let's see if we can summarize. Great staff + great location + happy hour + cookies + breakfast = MAGNOLIA! We never could have summed it up that well.

Thanks so much. Coming from a Senior Reviewer, that means the world to us...

Come on back soon! We'll see if we can repeat that again.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very good location and nice rooms.We didn't use the valet service, but there is an overnight garage less then a half block from the hotel.Helpful staff with good knowledge of the area.Recent renovation to the hotel look very clean and modernized while still having a classical hotel feel.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Josh C

Thanks, we think your review is classic as well. Can't thank you enough and we'll toss around your generous note about our staff to them.

Thanks again, travel safe.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived at hotel there system was down so had to wait awhile to even check in. Parking was crazy 28 bucks a night. When the cleaned my room they moved everything i had laying around where I had trouble finding. Staff was not super friendly. Room keys didnt work after 1 night of 2 night stay. Beware of thermostat. U can turn it down but somehow it gets changed to heat being on and our room was a sauna in the middle of the night. Overall nice place but probably wouldve rather stayed somewhere else.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Andrew M

Well, we're super sorry it wasn't up to par and be assured the general manager of the hotel is looking into all of your concerns. Come on back though, we'll make it right and you'll be glad you did. Our apologies again.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very nice, without being too snooty. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful at check-in and with any questions that came up during our stay. The morning breakfast was limited to pastries and fruit but it was very nice and the staff was also very pleasant. The room was nice, roomy and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows very luxurious. The hotel offers a courtesy car for getting around downtown, but without prior booking it was not readily available. So if you plan to use that service call ahead and make a appointment. Nice romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at The Magnolia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
MrCharlie447

Snooty? Us? Never!!!! (And thank you for noticing). We're just fun people who really enjoy our hotel and our jobs. We sure hope to see you again very soon. Let us know when you make the reservation and we'll have the Tesla charged up and ready to roll.
Thanks again for the super review.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel

Address: 421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly The Roberts Mayfair )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named to the National Historic Register, the new St. Louis Magnolia Hotel will reopen in early summer, 2014. Originally built in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss, the hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Roberts Mayfair
The Mayfair Hotel St Louis
Wyndham Saint Louis
Saint Louis Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.